We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a family vacation in La Barra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Olas Resort Hotel Punta Del Este
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in La Barra
Reviewed 28 December 2015

We really love La Barra and we loved this hotel. We stayed here for a week in December 2015 with our two young boys (4 and 8) and had a great time. The hotel and grounds were very well maintained and the staff were super friendly. There's two big swimming pools (one for kids) and a couple of jacuzzis. The location is great if you prefer chilled out La Barra to busy busy Punta del Este. You've got a number of beautiful beaches (Montoya, Jose Ignacio etc.) nearby and great food in La Barra.
Loved it and will be returning again next year!

Room Tip: Even the rooms on the ground floor have great sea views since they have raised decks. Sea facing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2014 via mobile

This quaint hotel distinguishes itself by great service delivered by warm employees, very comfortable rooms with great view of the sea and a good location.

Breakfast is great on a price/quality ranking, fresh ingredients, well baked croissants, good coffee and a selection of pastries and juices.

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Family owned hotel (very nice people, really) friendly, clean.
Just 2 blocks to the beach.
Rooms (actually suites) are ok, essential furniture, small tv's that you can only donate (don't even try to sell them) Horrible towels.
They have two outside pools, beautiful playgrounds, a pool bar.
Nice location, but you ll need a car.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mauro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We decided to head out to Uruguay for the long weekend a few weeks ago, but had problems finding a room available in Punta del Este. So, we tried La Barra, an artsy area about a 15-20 minute drive outside of town. We had been here before, and had tried other locations, but they weren't availalbe. So, we tried Las Olas Resort, which is at stop 50 or 51. You have to slow down as you're nearing the 50s or you'll miss the left turn, if you're coming over the wavy bridge.

Very clean and simply furnished rooms. The place is not on the beach, which is about 150 meters away, across the street. No big deal. We had a suite overlooking the pool which was big enough for about 4 people (2 twins in the living, and a queen in the master), a kitchen, and bathroom. Nothing fancy, just comfortable. Best sleep ever. We crashed for the two nights we were there.

The breakfast was average. Some fruit and the usual carbs. I have a wheat intolerance, so I had to bring my own food. In South America, you're best bet if you're celiac or have a wheat intolerance is to bring your own goodies. There are 2 computers available with internet access, but only one was working at the time. If you want to go to the beach, I believe the hotel offers umbrellas, etc for you.

Service was good, and the place was clean. Overall, nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doctorevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

It's just that a clean hotel, in a very quite area... la barra, i went during march so everywhere was quite, but i enjoyed that part, and the staff were fantastic. Breakfast was ordinary... but most of south america for me has been.
But if you have a scootre its great, the beach area its at is rough and the shore lined with shells... but the hotel is fine... i payed 13&USD a night, and had a mssive two room accommodation with 2 tvs (small) and a hige bathroom, as wall as a proper fridge and tea coffee facilities.
Gym is ordinary, 2 outdoor pools are nice and quite, and not far from mantra casino.
Free Wi-fi in rooms....

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VagabondAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Barra
0.9 km away
Kala Hotel Boutique
Kala Hotel Boutique
#2 of 11 in La Barra
110 reviews
0.0 km away
Posada de los Pajaros
Posada de los Pajaros
#6 of 11 in La Barra
38 reviews
8.3 km away
Hotel Fasano Punta del Este
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 km away
Solanas Punta del Este
Solanas Punta del Este
#3 of 9 in Punta Ballena
649 reviews
19.5 km away
Hotel Puesta del Sol
Hotel Puesta del Sol
#9 of 9 in Punta Ballena
20 reviews
22.8 km away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Olas Resort Hotel Punta Del Este? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Olas Resort Hotel Punta Del Este

Address: Ruta 10 Parada 50 La Barra, La Barra, Maldonado 20000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > La Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Barra
Price Range: ₹ 6,999 - ₹ 24,333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Olas Resort Hotel Punta Del Este 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Las Olas Resort Hotel Punta Del Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Olas Punta Del Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing