We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
25
32
13
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
32
13
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2014 via mobile

This quaint hotel distinguishes itself by great service delivered by warm employees, very comfortable rooms with great view of the sea and a good location.

Breakfast is great on a price/quality ranking, fresh ingredients, well baked croissants, good coffee and a selection of pastries and juices.

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Family owned hotel (very nice people, really) friendly, clean.
Just 2 blocks to the beach.
Rooms (actually suites) are ok, essential furniture, small tv's that you can only donate (don't even try to sell them) Horrible towels.
They have two outside pools, beautiful playgrounds, a pool bar.
Nice location, but you ll need a car.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mauro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We decided to head out to Uruguay for the long weekend a few weeks ago, but had problems finding a room available in Punta del Este. So, we tried La Barra, an artsy area about a 15-20 minute drive outside of town. We had been here before, and had tried other locations, but they weren't availalbe. So, we tried Las Olas Resort, which is at stop 50 or 51. You have to slow down as you're nearing the 50s or you'll miss the left turn, if you're coming over the wavy bridge.

Very clean and simply furnished rooms. The place is not on the beach, which is about 150 meters away, across the street. No big deal. We had a suite overlooking the pool which was big enough for about 4 people (2 twins in the living, and a queen in the master), a kitchen, and bathroom. Nothing fancy, just comfortable. Best sleep ever. We crashed for the two nights we were there.

The breakfast was average. Some fruit and the usual carbs. I have a wheat intolerance, so I had to bring my own food. In South America, you're best bet if you're celiac or have a wheat intolerance is to bring your own goodies. There are 2 computers available with internet access, but only one was working at the time. If you want to go to the beach, I believe the hotel offers umbrellas, etc for you.

Service was good, and the place was clean. Overall, nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doctorevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

It's just that a clean hotel, in a very quite area... la barra, i went during march so everywhere was quite, but i enjoyed that part, and the staff were fantastic. Breakfast was ordinary... but most of south america for me has been.
But if you have a scootre its great, the beach area its at is rough and the shore lined with shells... but the hotel is fine... i payed 13&USD a night, and had a mssive two room accommodation with 2 tvs (small) and a hige bathroom, as wall as a proper fridge and tea coffee facilities.
Gym is ordinary, 2 outdoor pools are nice and quite, and not far from mantra casino.
Free Wi-fi in rooms....

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VagabondAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2007

Punta Del Este is a coastal resort lined with beautiful rental homes and condos along the coast. However, the number of halfway decent hotels is minimal. Las Olas is one of them. Las Olas is clean, almost in a sterile sort of way. The walls, exterior and interior are painted white. The floors and doors are all white. At times, you feel as if you could be in a hospital. However, it is located a mere 100 meters from the ocean, and has balconies where you can watch the ocean and hear the waves crashing. That is why I selected this hotel. I initially reserved one suite which accomodated 4 to 5 persons. However, the living area with the two convertible couches is rather small and was much too crowded for my husband, and two daughters, 10 and 14. So after one uncomfortable night, we decided to splurge and get a second room for the girls. We were much more comfortable. Unfortunately, we had lousy weather the 5 days we spent here, so our visit here was not very memorable. The included breakfast is very minimal. However, the restaurant's snack menu was adequate. We did not get to experience the snack bar at the beach or the transport and set up because no one was going to the beach because of the weather. They did have two nice pools and a jacuzzi. The other problem with the hotel is that it is not that close to the town of La Barra and it is a $20 taxi ride one way to the center of Puntal Del Este.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank miatennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews