We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
13
19
1
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
19
1
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed at Le Club from January 1st to 5th 2014, probably the busiest week of the year. Even though we knew prices for hotels in Punta del Este during this week are high, we didn’t have flexibility to move our dates. We ended up at Le Club as all the boutique hotels or B&B that we liked were already fully booked. We had some good expectation on Le Club as the it has the perfect location and its website looked ok. Unfortunately, besides the location (the hotel is located on the Posta del Cangrejo beach at La Barra), all the rest is a complete disaster.
We were checked-in by “the Manager” who never smiles and just walked us to the room without explaining absolutely anything. The size of the room was good and had a stunning view from the terrace (it was a suite), but the conditions of the room and bathroom is from the 80’s, with a very poor shower. We couldn’t believe when we realized that towels were full of holes. Every day we received new towels (even though we chose to keep them, following their environmental recommendation) and every new towel that we received had holes.
The breakfast was at the level of a 1 star hotel, not for a hotel where you pay more than USD 500 for room/night. Breakfast consist on bread & croissants with butter and jam, a glass of orange juice and a cup of coffee. If you want fruits, yogurt or cheese/ham (normal things for a hotel with that rate) you need to pay extra… unbelievable!
During the first day, we wanted watch and enjoy the amazing sunset that Punta del Este offers from the terrace of the bar/restaurant of Le Club. Unfortunately, and for our surprise, the bar/restaurant is not open during the evening/night and we had to go somewhere else (even the beach bar is closed).
The owner, who is always around, never talked or greeted us. Not even once! We could see him talking to the same three Brazilian girls every single day, but didn’t care how the rest of his guest were doing. Something common for a 13 room hotel.
As a summary, this hotel is a rip-off and not worth to try.

Room Tip: nothing can be done.... no good rooms at this hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicolas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We were recommended the Posada by a friend who lives in La Barra........ A family run establishment, providing clean and comfortable accommodation, a great restaurant and our own private spot on the bustling beach. True to her word, it was exactly that! On arrival we were greeted by 3 very charming ladies who greeted us as if we were returning guests and friends! Given it was the height of the season over New Year, I was grateful for any room, and allocated a smaller of the standard rooms, spotlessly clean, a terrace, air con and a practical bathroom. The restaurant which overlooks the ocean, had a small menu but everything we tried was excellent, especially the Fillet Steak and the Prawn and avocado salad. The Clerico is a must have at sundowner!! We were recommended restaurants and reservations were made on our behalf in the area, and although we dined at the 'in' hotspots, La Posada was our favourite!!! The private beach has a cabana style bar with the option to eat at tables on the beach, has a limited number of sunbeds, but the staff will go out of their way to set you up on the main beach with a couple of deck chairs and a parasol, taking in all the action La Barra has to offer.

Room Tip: Definitely try and get a top floor room with a balcony overlooking the ocean.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichButt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

You have to change your mindset when traveling to Punta del Este. You will not find elegant resorts or large established brand hotels. There are many small hotels of various quality and location and though Jose Ignacio is the hot place with a fine hotel, Playa Vik, we like La Barra better. Choices however, are meager in La Barra but we found Le Club Posada perfect for our needs. First this is a very basic hotel with basic offerings but the difference in making the top grade are the people who treated us all like family. Kindness was prevalent in all our dealings and though the hotel had many failings in fit and finish it was more than made up for by the service and people. Again you cannot expect an Aman resort here but you can expect a decent place to stay, excellent service, great location and beautiful setting. Enjoy the sunset and forget the rest. I already want to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VoxVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Do not expect anything fancy! This is a small and simple hotel, meant for those who want to stay away from Punta del Este chaos and enjoy sun raise and sun dawn and the beach.
The restaurant is lovely and food is good. Personnel is nice and helpful.
If you are on a romantic vacation, ask for room no.5 or similar, facing the ocean with a large window all along the front wall, and a king size bed.
Only issue, the internet connection which is quite unstable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ric64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

No english spoken,but found staff delightful and helpful.Best location by far in la barra.room was simple but clean and comfortable.Easy walking distance to restaurants and footpath along the coast.Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheriki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews