We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional property in Punta del Este, Recently Renovated”

Esturion de Montoya
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Barra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Esturion de Montoya
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in La Barra
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is a very traditional spot in Punta del Este, located in the neighborhood of La Barra. It was somewhat worn out but before this last summer (2013) it underwent a renovation process which upgraded it. A surrounding fence was added for additional security, the pool was totally renovated and also common areas such as halls and stairs. Appartments have three bedrooms with three bathrooms and fully equipped kitchens . Maid and beach service. Very conveniently located steps from the Montoya beach with no need to cross the highway.

Room Tip: appartments on the south side have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkfloyd412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2011

I've stayed there last Easter with my wife and other couple. It's a simple, but very charming hotel. It's run by a very nice family, so the staff was always kind and very helpful, they helped us finding good and cheap restaurants in the fancy and expensive Punta del Este.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos_Mauricio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This is a great hotel for the price, the staff (Family owned) and you cant get a better location. The rooms aren't 5 star but they're clean and compared to the surrounding rooms, very well priced. You simply can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike123dean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2008

It is difficult to believe that such a run down property who could claim 5 star status. A 3 would be too generous. It needs painting, and a complete (I mean complete) refurbishment. The furniture is so old which hurts the eye. The deco is incredibly tacky. The bathroom so run down you think that you are renting an old flat in a poor area of Montevideo or Buenos Aires. It is really a disaster. Management should close it down and redo it.

Because they won't do that, you should not even consider staying in this property. Pay no attention to the 'glamorous' location on the beach. There is nothing glamorous about Esturion de Montoya once you get there. Breakfast in a very poorly decorated restaurant is modest. The pool is nothing to write home about. The indoor pool is a lap pool more suitable to a rotary club than a 5 star so called property.

Location is terrible. You are at La Barra. I had a car and I was still far away from Punta de Este. Barra is fashionable but not very nice and the beach is very windy most of the time. Climate conditions are one factor but Esturion de Montoya would be bad even if the location was good.

Give this run down property a miss. If management reads this, they should know that you can fool some people for some time but not all people all the time.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

As part of a month-long stay in Argentina, we opted to spend a week at this property located in a seaside village called La Barra, 15 minutes from Punta del Este. We booked it as part of a timeshare exchange through RCI.

The Esturion bills itself as 'a deluxe resort' and is in fact in a wonderful location on a very beautiful beach. However the resort is anything but deluxe and bears no resemblance to the standards described on its website. Our initial impression was of a neglected run down property: one that might hold some appeal for young families on a budget, who aren't too worried about comfort and plan to spend very little time in the room. After checking in, the first room they gave us was totally unacceptable. Drapes were filthy, flooring cracked, furniture badly stained and it overlooked the main coastal highway. After requesting a change we found the replacement room was only marginally better than the first: that is not quite so dirty and run down, however the TV and air conditioning were not working and incredibly we were located below ground, with a view of some sort of embankment. Returning to the front desk, we reminded the clerk that we were staying for a week and that he had told us on check-in that the property was only 50 percent full as this was the end of the season. Surely they had something a little better? This time they placed us in a larger, newer suite in the building housing the front desk. While still a much lower standard than we had expected, we thought this was probably all we could expect so we should just try to make the best of it. In spite of pretty basic twin beds and a few lurking cockroaches, we managed to hold out for four nights before cutting our losses and heading back to Buenos Aires.

Just a word of warning to those thinking about visiting Punta Del Este in March. The season is almost over and boy do the clouds come in. It rained every day, offering us only brief opportunities to sprint to the pool and relax before having to rush back to the room. Restaurants outside Punta simply shut down. In La Barra, nothing was open except the little supermarket which meant we we had to drive into Punta to eat. This was very hard on people stuck at the resort with small children. After the incredible food and accommodation in Argentina, all at almost embarassingly cheap prices, the food in Punta del Este, a reported 'playground' for wealthy South Americans, is ridiculously expensive and terrible quality. When we asked why, locals said the prices were high because the season is short. Even factoring that in, the food was universally horrible and overpriced. ($20 for 6 nasty pieces of California roll.) We both got sick after an indifferent, extremely expensive seafood lunch in downtown Punta.

If you are planning to visit Uruguay as part of a trip to Argentina I heartily recommend that you skip pretentious Punta del Este in favour of a day trip by Buquebus to Colonia, where you can get a real flavour for the country.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Barra
12.0 km away
Las Olas Resort Hotel Punta Del Este
11.7 km away
Hotel La Bluette
Hotel La Bluette
#4 of 11 in La Barra
149 reviews
11.2 km away
Kala Hotel Boutique
Kala Hotel Boutique
#2 of 11 in La Barra
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Posada de los Pajaros
Posada de los Pajaros
#6 of 11 in La Barra
38 reviews
8.0 km away
Il Belvedere
Il Belvedere
#1 of 65 in Punta del Este
385 reviews
10.3 km away
La Posta Del Cangrejo
La Posta Del Cangrejo
#9 of 11 in La Barra
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esturion de Montoya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esturion de Montoya

Address: Ruta 10 - Playa Montoya | Km 6165, La Barra, Maldonado 20100, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > La Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in La Barra
Number of rooms: 113
Also Known As:
Esturion De Montoya Hotel Punta Del Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing