We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not great value”
Review of Villa de Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa de Mar Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in La Barra
Reviewed 14 February 2012

First the positives - perfect location, helpful staff, clean hotel. The location was by far the biggest strength of Villa de Mar. It's a one minute walk to a small-ish but nice public beach and a one minute walk to the main street in La Barra, where there are numerous restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. The owner was very kind, spoke English well, and did his best to help with any questions. The staff-member working at night was also very nice but didn't speak English.

The negative for me was the price. You are definitely paying for the location because you get a small, no frills room, with no furniture and an uncomfortable bed (and very erratic wifi). To be fair, everything in La Barra and Punta del Este was pricey, but I still couldn't shake the feeling that I wasn't getting quite what I paid for. But overall, it was still a decent place to stay, especially if you don't plan to spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

A very cosy family-run hotel, with a fantastic location one minute walk from a beautiful beach.
From our hotel room we could see the ocean, and had a nice view of the sunset colours - even without a sea view room.

The staff was extremely nice and helpful, and were patient with all our requests - they even loan out sunscreen 70 to sunburnt guests (note: the sun is REALLY strong in the Punta del Este area, as we found out firsthand...). They also lend out beach chairs/lounges and beach towels (free of charge) to hotel guests.

Before deciding on where to stay we were not so sure where "La Barra" was, but it turned to be a very good choice - much better than Punta del Este when not a teenager.. Nice restaurants and a few bars, and very classy beaches and people. And also it´s a relatively short distance to visit the famous Bikini Beach (not so sure why it´s famous, the La Barra beach was much better) and also to José Ignacio where the rich & beautiful hang out and where there are several excellent restaurants.

If we go back, we would definitely choose this hotel again! We have been staying at a lot of the big chain hotels in Argentina (i.e. Sheraton) and it was really nice for a change to have the cosy and familiar atmosphere that this hotel provided - it felt like staying at somebody´s home.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This small, quiet hotel is located in the heart of bustling La Barra. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Rooms are very basic but you're paying for your proximity to the beach and nightlife which are all steps away.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perrotta10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Location is great for La Barra as it is very central. It is a one-minute-walk to the bars, restaurants and even to the beach. It is also very quiet. But we did not sleep well as the beds were terrible. They had plastic under the sheets which made sleeping noisy and uncomfortable. The hotel was also not very clean. Breakfast was ok. And staff was more or less friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailor20a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed here for two nights between Christmas and New Year, and would overall say that the location is great (just two minutes walk from the beach) and the staff friendly and helpful.

However, the rooms are basic for the price they charged. Yes, yes it was peak season in Punta del Este but one would expect the room to at least have air conditioning and more than two small sleeping pillows. The bed is not the most comfortable either.

They provided a tasty breakfast in our room rate but there's no restaurant on the premises. Not an issue though given the hotel's convenient location just next to the main street in La Barra.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mantelstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Barra
8.9 km away
Las Olas Resort Hotel Punta Del Este
0 km away
Posada de los Pajaros
Posada de los Pajaros
#6 of 11 in La Barra
38 reviews
1 km away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 67 in Punta del Este
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Hotel La Bluette
Hotel La Bluette
#4 of 11 in La Barra
152 reviews
8 km away
Kala Hotel Boutique
Kala Hotel Boutique
#3 of 11 in La Barra
112 reviews
10.5 km away
Hotel Fasano Punta del Este
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa de Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa de Mar Hotel

Address: Las estrellas y el Mar, La Barra, Maldonado 20000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > La Barra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in La Barra
Price Range: ₹ 10,090 - ₹ 20,630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa de Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa de Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing