We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
13
8
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
8
2
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2012

A very cosy family-run hotel, with a fantastic location one minute walk from a beautiful beach.
From our hotel room we could see the ocean, and had a nice view of the sunset colours - even without a sea view room.

The staff was extremely nice and helpful, and were patient with all our requests - they even loan out sunscreen 70 to sunburnt guests (note: the sun is REALLY strong in the Punta del Este area, as we found out firsthand...). They also lend out beach chairs/lounges and beach towels (free of charge) to hotel guests.

Before deciding on where to stay we were not so sure where "La Barra" was, but it turned to be a very good choice - much better than Punta del Este when not a teenager.. Nice restaurants and a few bars, and very classy beaches and people. And also it´s a relatively short distance to visit the famous Bikini Beach (not so sure why it´s famous, the La Barra beach was much better) and also to José Ignacio where the rich & beautiful hang out and where there are several excellent restaurants.

If we go back, we would definitely choose this hotel again! We have been staying at a lot of the big chain hotels in Argentina (i.e. Sheraton) and it was really nice for a change to have the cosy and familiar atmosphere that this hotel provided - it felt like staying at somebody´s home.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This small, quiet hotel is located in the heart of bustling La Barra. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Rooms are very basic but you're paying for your proximity to the beach and nightlife which are all steps away.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perrotta10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Location is great for La Barra as it is very central. It is a one-minute-walk to the bars, restaurants and even to the beach. It is also very quiet. But we did not sleep well as the beds were terrible. They had plastic under the sheets which made sleeping noisy and uncomfortable. The hotel was also not very clean. Breakfast was ok. And staff was more or less friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailor20a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed here for two nights between Christmas and New Year, and would overall say that the location is great (just two minutes walk from the beach) and the staff friendly and helpful.

However, the rooms are basic for the price they charged. Yes, yes it was peak season in Punta del Este but one would expect the room to at least have air conditioning and more than two small sleeping pillows. The bed is not the most comfortable either.

They provided a tasty breakfast in our room rate but there's no restaurant on the premises. Not an issue though given the hotel's convenient location just next to the main street in La Barra.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mantelstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

The location of this hotel is outstanding--right on beach and in the middle of la barra. Other than that, everything went downhill. The room was outdated and not too clean. The owners, Daniel and Alicia are much too young to be managing a hotel and do not know the first thing about service. They charged us $75 for checking out a couple hours after check out WHEN WE WERE THE ONLY PEOPLE STAYING IN THE HOTEL! Even worse, they did not accept credit cards and made us walk a half mile to the nearest ATM! Absolutely unheard of and would never go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iscorehoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews