We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely country pub, great food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carpenters Arms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Carpenters Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanton Wick
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub, great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We ate here while staying in the bath area, having been recommended to do so by our hotel. The ambiance as you enter is warm and welcoming, the staff very pleasant. The menu is imaginative, a little bit different from the usual pub grub and everything we ate was delicious. My husband says he would prefer chunky chips to the skinny ones on offer but highly recommends a pint of Doonbar!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happydays29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    67
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
59
101
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed here for work several times and I have no complaints at all. Its a lovely country pub but only 10 mins south of Bristol too. Really nice, cozy, comfy, clean and quiet rooms. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was lovely. Good value all round. Winner!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlimeySlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Took my elderly mother there for a birthday surprise weekend. She absolutely loved it. Spent the Saturday in Bath and then booked into the hotel for the night and enjoyed dinner there. Rooms as spotless as ever, very comfy beds and great bathroom faciltiies. Meal choices are superb - every time we go we are spoilt for choice - always a main menu with different specials each day.
Have recommended this to friends and they have all loved it and vowed to return.
Cannot praise this establishment enough - try it for yourself! Wonderful accommodation, food and of course not forgetting the staff.
Be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmileyDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condom, France
Level Contributor
203 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We visited this pub where you also can stay the night a short while ago, at the advice of a friend and what a pleasant surprise it was..... We stayed for four nights and ate there everyday because we loved the food (there is a list with specials everyday)! The people are so very nice, warm, welcoming and always trying to help wherever they can. We did have a problem in our room because the towel rail was very hot and we couldn't turn it off. The problem was solved eventually!

The bedrooms are not big but they are plesantly decorated, as is the whole pub! You do hear all the noises from the adjacent rooms and that can sometimes make you blush (not sure how you would explain it to a child...) but then this is a very old building so it is understandable that it is not well insulated! We had a very quiet bedroom and there is secure parking for your car. Really worth trying out whether you want a nice meal, a place to stay or both!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as the pub is right on a small road, no idea whether there is traffic during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranciscaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed on a Saturday night after visiting Bath with our two teenage daughters. Great welcome, friendly and smiley staff. Lovely old building surrounded by rolling hills and countryside. Rooms were comfortable and clean, simple modern styling. The food in the restaurant was excellent, good choice of dishes, simple good value wine list. A perfect place for a nice quiet night away, we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bizzigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanton Wick
8.0 km away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
8.7 km away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
10.1 km away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 33 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel
19.4 km away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
4.0 km away
The Bear & Swan Inn
The Bear & Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Chew Magna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carpenters Arms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carpenters Arms

Property: The Carpenters Arms
Address: Stanton Wick BS39 4BX , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Stanton Wick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanton Wick
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,540 - ₹ 8,481
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Carpenters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carpenters Arms Hotel Stanton Wick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing