We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Carpenters Arms
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Leigh Farm(Pensford)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Valley Farm(Stanton Drew)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Winford Manor(Winford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
198
84
14
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
198
84
14
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubtreacle tartchew valleysunday lunchsecure car parkfresh milkroast beefnext morninglog firestayed here for one nightgood sizecomfortable roomsa great place to stayexcellent staybed and breakfastb and bfull english breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed on a Saturday night after visiting Bath with our two teenage daughters. Great welcome, friendly and smiley staff. Lovely old building surrounded by rolling hills and countryside. Rooms were comfortable and clean, simple modern styling. The food in the restaurant was excellent, good choice of dishes, simple good value wine list. A perfect place for a nice quiet night away, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bizzigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The most wonderful country pub with a great mix of locals and guests. Good traditional ales well kept and charming attentive bar maids and staff.
The room was pleasant and a cafetière with real coffee and quality biscuits was a bonus but the absence of a shower screen made the hand held bath shower awkward. Aparently some rooms have a proper, stand up, shower but it is expected in all bathrooms today.
Staff and ambience could not be faulted but, as it is definitely a pub with rooms not a hotel we were rather disappointed at the cost. The evening meal was not exceptional for the price and the drinks expensive for a pub.

Room Tip: Nasty hum from machinery made it impossible to leave the window open and get to sleep. Ask for a room facing the road or beer garden side
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meggadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed in Room 3 which was lovely. The decor is modern and the facilities fairly new. The welcome on arrival was warm and courteous and the service that we experienced was the same until we checked out, when we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay or invited to come back, which seemed rather odd.

The only niggles were:

1. Very strange unexplained smell in the landing that permeated through to the bedroom
2. The hardness of the bed. One night was OK, but the second night was hell, a third would have been impossible as we barely slept the second night (unless of course you like very, very firm mattresses).
3. The point above about the leaving experience.

Would we return - only if they have much softer mattresses.
Eating - we only had ice cream and sorbet in the evening which were delicious.

Room Tip: If you like your window open the rooms that face the road are over the front garden where people sit and chat and therefore not totally tranquil. If you want quiet and a view ask for a room that faces away from the road and car parks.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SipandSample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

We ate here - so could only assume that the rooms are good.

Sunday Roast is easy to get right but this one dissapointed. Gristly lamb and yucky 'chemical' gravy. Yorkshire pud soggy. Vegetables well cooked though. Rather a grim experience for the price charged.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Divouneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights recently as a random last minute mini break on my own...what a lovely old English pub! The pub itself has such character, and is actually quite big once you get inside; with a great mix of locals and people visiting from further afield.

I only tried the bar snacks which were all really generous portions, and a pretty wide choice; but the main menu sounded good too!

The room I stayed in (room 6) was lovely, decorated to a really high standard with a lovely big comfy bed and a spacious, quality bathroom. The refreshment tray in the room was just right – proper coffee to go into a proper cafetiere, plus a wide selection of teas and a little pack of biscuits which always goes down well!

All the bar staff were really helpful and friendly, there's plenty of parking, and the location is great for exploring the nearby area.

All in all a great example of a real country pub. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 6, which is opposite the door down to the reception...so if you get bothered byt people walking past on the way to their rooms, maybe ask for one further down the hall!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews