We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a nice place.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Carpenters Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanton Wick
Certificate of Excellence
Condom, France
Level Contributor
203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Such a nice place.....”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We visited this pub where you also can stay the night a short while ago, at the advice of a friend and what a pleasant surprise it was..... We stayed for four nights and ate there everyday because we loved the food (there is a list with specials everyday)! The people are so very nice, warm, welcoming and always trying to help wherever they can. We did have a problem in our room because the towel rail was very hot and we couldn't turn it off. The problem was solved eventually!

The bedrooms are not big but they are plesantly decorated, as is the whole pub! You do hear all the noises from the adjacent rooms and that can sometimes make you blush (not sure how you would explain it to a child...) but then this is a very old building so it is understandable that it is not well insulated! We had a very quiet bedroom and there is secure parking for your car. Really worth trying out whether you want a nice meal, a place to stay or both!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as the pub is right on a small road, no idea whether there is traffic during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranciscaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    72
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
66
112
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed on a Saturday night after visiting Bath with our two teenage daughters. Great welcome, friendly and smiley staff. Lovely old building surrounded by rolling hills and countryside. Rooms were comfortable and clean, simple modern styling. The food in the restaurant was excellent, good choice of dishes, simple good value wine list. A perfect place for a nice quiet night away, we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizzigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The most wonderful country pub with a great mix of locals and guests. Good traditional ales well kept and charming attentive bar maids and staff.
The room was pleasant and a cafetière with real coffee and quality biscuits was a bonus but the absence of a shower screen made the hand held bath shower awkward. Aparently some rooms have a proper, stand up, shower but it is expected in all bathrooms today.
Staff and ambience could not be faulted but, as it is definitely a pub with rooms not a hotel we were rather disappointed at the cost. The evening meal was not exceptional for the price and the drinks expensive for a pub.

Room Tip: Nasty hum from machinery made it impossible to leave the window open and get to sleep. Ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meggadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed in Room 3 which was lovely. The decor is modern and the facilities fairly new. The welcome on arrival was warm and courteous and the service that we experienced was the same until we checked out, when we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay or invited to come back, which seemed rather odd.

The only niggles were:

1. Very strange unexplained smell in the landing that permeated through to the bedroom
2. The hardness of the bed. One night was OK, but the second night was hell, a third would have been impossible as we barely slept the second night (unless of course you like very, very firm mattresses).
3. The point above about the leaving experience.

Would we return - only if they have much softer mattresses.
Eating - we only had ice cream and sorbet in the evening which were delicious.

Room Tip: If you like your window open the rooms that face the road are over the front garden where people sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SipandSample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

We ate here - so could only assume that the rooms are good.

Sunday Roast is easy to get right but this one dissapointed. Gristly lamb and yucky 'chemical' gravy. Yorkshire pud soggy. Vegetables well cooked though. Rather a grim experience for the price charged.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divouneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanton Wick
8.8 km away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
11.6 km away
Apsley House Hotel
10.6 km away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
8.0 km away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
4.1 km away
The Bear & Swan Inn
The Bear & Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Chew Magna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carpenters Arms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carpenters Arms

Property: The Carpenters Arms
Address: Stanton Wick BS39 4BX , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Stanton Wick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanton Wick
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,904 - ₹ 9,212
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Carpenters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carpenters Arms Hotel Stanton Wick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing