We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Panaramic beauty”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bank Top Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Very comfortable King bed with lots of storage.
The sea view balcony from the open plan lounge & kitchen area.
Enjoy the sea view from morning to night.
The snowy balcony in January.
You can open the bi-folding doors to welcome the outside in.
Even grey days look brilliant from Bank Top Cottage's balcony.
The cottage is perfect for relaxing and enjoying the sea view.
The Aurora Borealis viewed from the balcony!
Rainbow over Bank Top Cottage's balcony.
Bank Top Cottages balcony from the outside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cresswell, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CrazyCatL...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Panaramic beauty”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our 2nd visit to Bank Top and it is still s beautiful as we remembered from our first stay. Having had a difficult year, our four day stay was much needed, and allowed us to chill out. The cottage is delightful, everything provided for your comfort and the location is peaceful and gives you the chance to chill. The ever changing views from the window/balcony are amazing - we even saw a heron catching it's breakfast on our last day.! The whole booking process from start to finish was effortless,nothing is too much trouble for Ewa, and for that we send our heartfelt thanks. We will definately return and will recommend to our friends. Thank you Ewa for a fantastic break from the hustle and bustle of our normal working days, we had a fab time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed and the shower!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We really do appreciate it and are so happy you enjoyed your second stay as much as your first.

Take care,
Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Our batteries are flat!!”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow, what a holiday home this is, absolutely fantastic from the decor to the finishing touches, really high standard throughout. The views speak for themselves, the walks along the beach were you don't meet a soul, the relaxing sunrise and sunset, the milky way on a cloudless night, I could go on but its been said before.
My wife and I have just returned after a week's stay and our batteries are drained and flat, remember when you used to go on holiday to recharge the batteries?? Not anymore, I challenge you to sit on the balcony or the sofa and not fall asleep....some task!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Hi there, thank you so very much, what a lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Bank Top Cottage and enjoyed the beach. I hope you will consider us again in the future when your batteries need charging! (:
Kind regards,
Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilihu12
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place to unwind.”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Beautiful restored house. Everything compact and on one level with all space wonderfully utilised. There is everything you could need for a short break and the house is full of thoughtful touches, lovely design features and attractive decor. As for the living room view and the balcony!!!! Words can't really describe how lovely this is and how utterly compelling "watching the tides and birds" becomes. We visited in July and had the doors fully opened to enjoy the amazing views. We were still bird watching at 9pm!! Very close to beautiful sandy beach , offering great walks at low tide. If you need to de-stress, unwind or chill out, this is the place for you.
PS. Spotlessly clean everywhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Thank you very much, this is a great review that really covers all points about Bank Top cottage. You've really made our day! We hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBritsH...
Hull - UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

These reviews are all wonderful but still don't do this place justice. Its clean, modern, comfortable and well equipped and a decent size for 2 people.

But its all about the bi-folding doors, the deck and the views. The cottage looks out just before the miles of sandy beach starts and the tides constantly change the outlook over the rocks.

It is quite isolated but there is a really nice café nearby and a small convenience store and Pub in nearby Ellington.

Every entry in the visitors back seems to say 'We'll be back' and I bet most of them have done just that !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Aww, thank you so very much for this review!

Each detail is so appreciated. I'm so happy you had a lovely weekend & I also hope it was a great surprise for your other half!

Best wishes,
Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin T
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top quality Top views”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely position so close to the sea. We ended up eating in most evenings as why try and find a pub with a nice view when you already one . Everything in the cottage is top quality the sheets the towels etc etc

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No wifi but BT want a fortune to put it on
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review.
We buy new towels and bedding on a regular basis to make sure they always feel great for guests. We never stop loving people gush about the view: it is one of a kind!

Thanks again, Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing