We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch!”

The Fox at Farthinghoe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

Nice lunch with a very nice atmosphere with huge portions which I almost couldn’t finish. Will go again!

Thank rww1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Service was good, but for a pub the prices were to high. Food was ok, but should have been better to warant the cost.

Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

A country pub set in a idilic location that could have been great. Just take the White Horse in nearby Kings Sutton. However this restaurant is truly awful. Saturday night and little more than a handful of locals should have been queue to leave however we pressed on. The fish and chips were overcooked to the point of cremation and left a burnt taste in the mouth that remains. The caesar salad came with a sauce that reminded me of the glue you used at school.
"I can only apologise" was the response given when the host was taken aback that we hadn't found such fare delicious. Well no, what you actually could have done was offer a gesture by way of apology. However instead of one all we received was a mouthful (even nastier than the one we'd just had) from who I assume was the manager. "I can't believe that you didn't enjoy the food" was the sum of her feedback prior to walking off in a strop whilst pulling faces to her dwindling handful of regulars who presumably have no home to go to.
My understanding of the first two rules of customers service were that 1) the customer is always right and 2) when not re-read rule 1. Not in this place. Terrible food and even worse back chat from the staff. Save your money and eat at home. Expect biting feedback here if the first experience is anything to go by.

1  Thank thischarmingman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil B, Owner at The Fox at Farthinghoe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Unfortunately customers that clear their plates and ask for refunds are rarely successful, Matt P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Living only 5 miles away we had never visited the Fox so did not know what to expect, although we had heard good reports from friends. We were greeted warmly and after a drink from the bar ordered our food. The fish and Chips and Ham and Eggs were very well cooked and presented and for once I was defeated by the amount of chips on my plate. Please note that the portions are fairly large. We will definitely be back and hope to organise a post Christmas Dinner here for our local Handbell group.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Googled somewhere to have lunch whilst in Brackley and picked The Fox as it was on our way back home. Greeted as we walked in by very friendly staff and found a table immediately. Pleasant cosy area with plenty of room between tables. We all had the chicken roast meal which tasted proper home cooked. The owner found time to chat to diners including my grandson (about football). Would gladly recommend and use again if in the area.

Thank Roy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox at Farthinghoe also viewed

Brackley, Northamptonshire
 
Brackley, Northamptonshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Farthinghoe, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Fox at Farthinghoe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing