We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for what it is”
Review of Bundaleer Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bundaleer Retreat
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value for what it is”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

If you've got a car handy and don't mind a 20 minute trip to Ballina or Byron this place is worth looking at. For the price we paid we had a good stay but there are a few things to consider before making a booking.

There didn't seem to be more than a couple of other people staying there in the three days we were so that was good, and there was definitely no noise issues. The complimentary hamper was much appreciated, as was the owners leaving us to do our own thing once we got there.

The pool was good and the lack of other people around meant that we had to ourselves every day.

As stated in another review there are no cooking facilities other than a microwave and a hot plate, but the hot plate did the trick for us.

If you're interested in hanging out and watching TV beware because there is only the analogue free-to-air channels available and if you're used to Foxtel or simply having the digital channels available then you'll get very sick of what's on offer. There is a DVD player supplied so if travelling with kids definitely BYO movies.

Somewhat frustratingly the room we stayed in didn't have any curtains on the windows near the ceiling, meaning that the sun streamed in from very early in the morning and stopped any chance of a sleep in.

It's not Bundaleer's issue, but just as a note to travellers I had no coverage on my Vodafone mobile while staying there and my partner couldn't get 3G on a Telstra. If you're needing to stay in contact then you'll have to be closer to Byron or Ballina.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NSW Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We have stayed at Bundaleer twice and on both occasions have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hospitality is genuine, the cabins spacious and well appointed and the welcome gift basket a treasure trove of goodies. Milk, local coffee, cereal etc, all very much appreciated after a nine hour drive. It is 10 mins from Byron, but if you value peace and quiet, a great nights sleep and a warm welcome at a reasonable rate, this may be the place to stay. We plan on returning this Christmas and will be happy to once again stay at Bundaleer.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubboNSWAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2010

A warm welcome awaits visitors to this idyllic setting.Handy for Byron Bay with it's many bars and restaurants and close to several beaches.
The breakfast hamper is a nice touch. Sat on the deck with a glass of cold wine with birds in full song it's the closest we've found to paradise.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

We gor ripped off here from the first day we got there. I booked this place for my parents who were visiting us in Australia. Exedentely I booked one day too much, so I called them imediately and told them my mistake. They sayed it was no problem and they'd give us the money back...we never saw the money again. The son of the properties owner is a very smart broker, so he simply said there is no refund. He also made us pay 40 $ a day just for visiting my parents and parking at their property. We had a motorhome that time. There is also no internet as is mentioned on the homepage. There is lots of mossies as well...and there is NO cooking facilities...just a microwave, but no stove. It's also a 15 minute drive to Byron Bay and pretty remote. The place is ok, but far too expensive for what they offer...plus you might end up and pay extra if you get to meet the son. There is far better options in Byron area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bundaleer Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bundaleer Retreat

Property: Bundaleer Retreat
Address: Cnr Broken Head Road & Bundaleer Road, Broken Head, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Broken Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Broken Head
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,026 - ₹ 13,343
Hotel Class:4 star — Bundaleer Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and EaseMyTrip so you can book your Bundaleer Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing