We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“spacious and pretty cottage which is well equiped...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of BANKWELL COTTAGE

LOUNGE DINER
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LOUNGE DINER
SPACIOUS MODERN KITCHEN
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
LOUNGE DINER
SPACIOUS MODERN KITCHEN
TEA FOR 6
MODERN KITCHEN
DINING FOR 6
MODERN COMFORTABLE LOUNGE
SPACIOUS DOUBLE BEDROOM
LARGE DOUBLE
TWIN ROOM
TWIN ROOM
2ND SPACIOUS DOUBLE
MAIN DOUBLE
DOWNSTAIRS SHOWER ROOM AND WC
NEWLY RENOVATED BATHROOM
NEWLY RENOVATED BATHROOM
PRIVATE REAR GARDEN
PRIVATE REAR GARDEN
PRIVATE COURTYARD GARDEN
FRENCH DOORS TO GARDEN
SETTLE GOLF COURSE CLOSE BY
FAMOUS RAILWAY
LOCAL SCENERY
THE LOCAL TUCK SHOP
SPRING LAMBS
DOGS WELCOME
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Giggleswick, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amifoz
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“spacious and pretty cottage which is well equiped and thought out”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Five of us stayed at Bankwell cottage this weekend for a friends wedding nearby in Taitlands, the cottage was in excellent condition, clean and well presented. We were so happy to have found somewhere so nice for our trip. The house was more spacious than we realised it was going to be and having 2 bathrooms helped with our early start. Carol was was lovely and very helpful and overall we had a great time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely review and I'm so pleased you all had a great weekend and most of all a FAB wedding!
I hope we see you again?

Carol
The owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Spacious, well provided, clean cottage, ideal for our family holiday”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The cottage was a great haven for our family holiday - the family spanning three generations - plus our small Westie. It is ideally located for pubs and shops, including a Booths in Settle, and especially good for accessing the three peaks of Ingleborough, Pen Y Ghent and Whernside. The owners were friendly, helpful and informative - the week away ranks as one of our best ever UK holidays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Many things, esp the spacious living area
Liked least: No oven gloves!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
Ahh thank you for you great review and your "best UK holiday" is high praise indeed.
I am delighted the cottage was comfortable for 3 generations and I hope to see you all again one day?

Kind regards

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolV58
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place for a girls weekend”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Three of us rented this property for our annual get together. The cottage is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and well equipped. There are some lovely walks around the village of Giggleswick and the nearby town of Settle, and some great eating places. We also took the Settle Railway Line to Leeds and had a great day shopping. This cottage offers the best of both worlds - Yorkshire countryside and city centre shopping. Big thanks to Carol for the warm welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bankwell and I am pleased you had a great girlie weekend.

Regards,

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo S
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A WONDERFUL HOLIDAY COTTAGE”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed with our dog for a week at Bankwell Cottage and invited parents to come along for a weekend and had the best time. The cottage is lovely, a real home from home and definitely spacious enough for 6 people. It is a very well equipped cottage. Carol the owner provided a welcome pack as well as towels and treats for the dog!
The village of Giggleswick has some good pubs serving excellent food and Settle is just a 15 minute stroll away providing a good range of shops and other places to eat and drink.
Thanks very much Carol.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was just as good as the pictures and as described.
Liked least: Cannot find fault with the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your review and I am delighted you all had a great time!
I really hope we see you again?

Take care,

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding!”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Bankwell Cottage is well located as a base for exploring the Yorkshire Dales and also centrally located to allow either a short walk or drive to the village of Giggleswick or the larger Settle.

From the outside it looks like an old traditional Yorkshire cottage of 100+ years with loads of character. Amazingly it is only about 16 years old - a credit to the builder and owner. Inside it is superbly decorated and fitted out to a high standard making it very comfortable.

The owner Carol met us on arrival and was able to advise us on local facilities and made sure that all was well and that we were comfortable and enjoying our stay a day or so later.

Bankwell is well located and ideal for couples, families or a small group that wants somewhere central to either walk, cycle or drive out from. It certainly provided us with an excellent base and very comfortable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and its high standard of decor/facilities.
Liked least: Nothing it was faultless
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bankwell cottage and I really hope we see you all again and your goegeous doggies!

Regards

Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 175
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing