We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for short stay”
Review of Chequers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chequers Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Had to cut short visit due to family illness at home but stayed two nights. Carvery food very good either mini or maxi portions. Friday night big on fish and chips in bar probably need to book.There were minor glitches such as water heating, kettle and toilet mechanism but to be fair these were promptly attended to and didn't cause major problems. No internet or mobile signal(O2) but was given to understand it was a short term BT issue.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank aromancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017

Stayed here for one night and found the location was ideal for all local attractions. The room was ideal for what we needed and was the cheapest in the area - comfortable and clean. Had the Carvery in the pub and have to say was the best carvery I have had in any pub - ever. The home made puddings were delicious too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank justin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We had an horrendous journey from Cornwall arriving at 11pm. We had phoned ahead to let the hotel know we would be late.
The hotel couldn't have been more helpful, explaining that the dining room closed at 9pm they asked if we wanted anything put by.
We were met and shown to our rooms, clean, comfortable and welcoming.
A great nights sleep before a buffet style full English breakfast.

The only 'quirky' bits, in our room the bed had both head and foot boards which made for a more 'closer' night with my six foot plus wife and in our en suite the towel rail made positioning yourself on the toilet 'interesting'.

Overall a great hotel, cheerful, helpful staff, good food and all at a great price.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Falmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We chose this hotel as an ideal stopover between London and Edinburgh and for its proximity to Fountains Abbey. It has a motel feel and is next to a caravan site but has clean rooms ( at a very modest price), good beer and wine and a terrific kitchen. The food is excellent and would happily grace a much grander venue. It is family run and exudes Yorkshire hospitality.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bannatynescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Stayed for one night, beautiful setting, slap bang in the middle of the countryside, room adequate for our needs but the icing on the cake (literally!) was the restaurant! Great service and the carvery was fantastic! Definitely stay there again should we happen to be in that part of the country. The barman was also very friendly and served us beer on the lawn despite the bar not being open in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigredTyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishop Thornton
8.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
352 reviews
8.7 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
8.8 km away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,395 reviews
9.8 km away
Cedar Court Hotel
Cedar Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Harrogate
2,386 reviews
8.5 km away
The Wellington Inn
The Wellington Inn
#25 of 83 in Harrogate
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Inn

Address: Fountains Abbey Rd., Bishop Thornton, Harrogate HG3 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Bishop Thornton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bishop Thornton
Price Range: ₹ 4,404 - ₹ 6,218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chequers Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Chequers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing