We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic - Will be back”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Balcony View
Fishing from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Horning, Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kebab3112
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Will be back”
Reviewed 6 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

A fantastic property had everything we could have needed. We travelled with our 10 week old baby. The ower was lovely and the property exceeded our expectations. We have not been fishing since we were children but fished every single day off of the properties garden (and always caught something.) because you can fish off of the garden no need to pack everything up every night just leave your gear on the decking. Kitchen had everything that we needed. Bedrooms both had en-suite bathrooms which was great as granparents can to stay for a couple of nights. great views over the river to watch the boats go by from the decking / balcony. Can't wait to return. If you can stay here do. :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Double bed - not the most comfortable.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern, comfortable property in a lovely quiet village with easy access to the broads
Liked least: The internet access and mobile phone signal was poor in this area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
natmatthe...
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Lovely relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed 16 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

I travelled with my husband and two children aged 5 and 2 on 20th August 2012.
We had a lovely week at Mallard view, the cottage was excellent and had everything we needed and very clean. The Location on the river was tranquil and relaxing, great for fishing with the children. Carol was very helpful organising life jackets for my Children whilst they were in the garden and was on hand if we needed anything.
A lovely location we will defiantly return thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location on the river
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fretty-ba...
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“newly built little gem”
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first visit to Horning and finding Mallard View to stay in was a great find. Carol the owner is lovely and very friendly. The property feels bigger than it first appears and has everything you would need to self cater. It sits on Grebe Island and has great views of the riverside and all the boats passing by. Having breakfast on the balcony in the sun was a delight. We will arrange to hire a boat next time we visit and use the mooring available. Our only observations were that the mattress on the double bed is very soft, and the furniture a little unmatched. We will certainly be back to Mallard View in the future and have already recommended it to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location is perfect
Liked least: the bed was too soft
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing