We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“In character and clean and comfortable”

Review of Cresta Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining Bright sunny lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Dining
Bright sunny lounge
Kitchen
Bathroom
Side dyke
Double bedroom
Twin Room
Single Room
Double Bedroom 2
Decking & river side garden
Cresta
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Horning, Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AHMills
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In character and clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just arrived. Had been worried by previous comment! Yes a little dated but in keeping with its age and character. A charming cottage. Very clean. Very comfortable. Kitchen is better equipped than most holiday lets. Heavy duty pots and pans. Plenty of crockery etc. lovely outlook. Will write again at the end of the week if anything changes but at the moment we love it. Thank you to the owner and thank you to Riverside Rentals

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan b
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location - poor facility.”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
5
people found this review helpful

The setting and garden are superb and although the Ferry Inn is within sight there is no noise disturbance. The property itself is very dated and shows signs of extensive wear. Specific issues:
1. the lounge windows looking onto the garden and the river were very dirty and detracted from the view from the lounge area. These had not been cleaned before our arrival.
2. the bathroom window was broken and was wired and taped shut - no ventilation possible.
3. the bathroom curtain was heavily stained (due to poor ventilation?). We temporarily removed this during our stay.
4. we felt it necessary to wash all of the kitchen cutlery and crockery that we needed before we could use it. The kitchen worktops were dirty when we arrived.
5. the lounge is cluttered with dated photographs, plastic flowers and ornaments.
6. the door from the lounge to the patio area is difficult to close and lock properly.
7. the stairs to the first floor are very steep, very narrow and twisty. Anyone with any mobility issues will have difficulty negotiating theses stairs.
8. the first floor toilet/shower room is very small and having no external window or extraction system suffers from condensation issues.
9. a large notice is attached to the first floor toilet stating the a macerator has been fitted and not to use it to dispose of condoms etc. My niece had an interesting time trying to explain this notice to her six and seven year old daughters. Be warned!
10. none of the beds were comfortable. The two double beds were very soft and we suspect that the divan springs were past their best.
11. none of the first floor curtains would close properly because of broken tracks or missing hooks.
12. There is what looks like a fairly new TV in the first floor double bedroom. The controller is there as is the instruction booklet. We tried to use it but could not get a signal - since there is no aerial connection!
13. the room to the side of the lounge is full of junk and broken bits and pieces.

This cottage needs a through clear-out, numerous repairs and then a deep cleaning.
We have stayed in various cottages in Horning twice a year for the last 30 years and believe that this is by far the worst we have had the misfortune to rent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The cottage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raypcox
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Super Riverside Location”
Reviewed 6 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Absolutely fabulous location on the edge of the river. We could return "home " each day and find the sun pouring through the big riverside windows, making it pleasantly warm on a cool April week. We had boats drifting past just a few yards from our window. The cottage is very cosy, the living area is a good size, but the bedrooms are a little on the small side, but with adequate storage, and well furnished. We ate out 3 times in the week, at pubs in the village, and at an excellent fish restaurant about 20 minutes walk away. Everywhere we went was a pleasant experience, the staff we met were all very helpful and friendly. But were there in April, outside the school holiday period. Judging from the large numbers of boats moored in the Marinas, the peak season would be a very different experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Riverside location
Liked least: On the edge of the village, which means a 20 minute walk to the centre.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2013
Many thanks for you review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again very soon.
Thanks.
Riverside Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: What's not to like?
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Nov 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Ill see what I can do about the weather.

Regards

The Team at Riverside Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing