We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little piece of heaven”

Review of The Windmill

Horning Windmill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Horning Windmill
Your first view of the Windmill View from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Horning Windmill
Your first view of the Windmill
View from the garden
Dining area
We've made some changes since the 1930's!
Now we're in the 1950's
Horning village green
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Windmill -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Horning, Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jazzjinx
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This place is idylic, so relaxing, and everything you could want for a lovely chilled holiday.. perfect..would love to return again..:)

Rooms Location
Cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenys P
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation. Shame about wheelchair access”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Comfortable,lots of wildlife but long gravel path and steps make it unsuitable for anyone in a wheelchair or with walking difficulties. Only things missing were a hair dryer and Internet . No reception on our phones. Very helpful people around, good food in the Ferry Inn, the New Inn and the fish and chip shop.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
june w
Ham, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

our stay at this wonderful windmill offered us everything we required it was very clean,tidy and well presented.the location was superb and all the village shops were close,the two local pubs offered great food and were most welcoming.the thing i liked the least was we couldnt stay longer ,and i enjoyed the wildlife we will be booking another stay at this idilyc,charming windmill

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Belive the discription-quiet, peaceful, relaxing, compact and quaint.”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this small and compact accommodation and we were delighted with it. The view of the river and of the different types of boats that transversed it were facinating.
Nature was right at the back and front door. The silence and relaxing were just what we wanted. There is a resteraunt and also a boat yard within walking distance. If you hire a boat, the Windmill has moorings right at the bottom of the garden.
We are going for another two weeks next year. DV.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique property with an amazing view!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I, our son and daughter (both teenagers) plus our dog, had a wonderful stay at The Windmill. The location is superb and we spent many hours sitting in the garden enjoying the scenery, boating activities and the wildlife. My son enjoyed fishing and having the shed to store the fishing gear was a bonus. The Windmill conversion is very clever - everything we needed and the property was clean and tidy. Anne ensured everything was in order for our stay – and went the extra mile to help return some items we accidentally left at The Windmill. The location is excellent and also convenient – Horning is a lovely village, with a deli, restaurants, pubs, post office/convenience store, etc., all within a short walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and staying in such a unique property.
Liked least: No wifi - was more of a test for the teenagers, rather than the parents :)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 596
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing