We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, well equipped cottage in a lovely...”
other travellers have booked this property
The cottage viewed from the forest opposite.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage viewed from the forest opposite.
Triple aspect sitting room with wood burner, TV, stereo and piano.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
The cottage viewed from the forest opposite.
Triple aspect sitting room with wood burner, TV, stereo and piano.
Bedroom 2 with views of the forest and super king bed.
Top floor bedroom with ensuite bathroom.
Immediately opposite the cottage.
View of paddocks at rear of cottage from bedroom 1.
A nearby enclosure.
Neighbours!
Panage season in the autumn brings pigs to our road.
View from the garden.
From the guest book, February 2018.
From the guest book, February 2018.
Nearby fishing lake ( day ticket £15)
A regular visitor to Rose Cottage garden, outside the kitchen window.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Burley, Ringwood, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda O
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, well equipped cottage in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 5 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

My family and I spent a lovely weekend at Rose Cottage. Please ignore any other negative comments - admittedly the stairs to the top bedroom were steep and the ceiling up there low but this is a cottage after all! As for the entrance being on a sharp bend well yes, it is, but Forest Road is a quiet lane, not a highway! Clean and well equipped, comfy beds, good facilities and a great location, what's not to like? Hope to visit again next time we are down that way visiting relatives.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2018
Thanks for the lovely review, hope to see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela M
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay in Rose Cottage”
Reviewed 1 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Rose cottage is well positioned as it is in the heart of the New Forest. When we stayed the weather was exceptional, so we spent most of our time at the coast which was only 20 mins drive away. The cottage itself was of a high standard and two of the beds we super king size, with lovely duvets and pillows. Both towels for use in the house and beach towels were provided and were of hotel quality. There was plenty of room for 6 of us. We spent most of our time outdoors, and breakfast in the gardent was lovely. In the evenings we took advantage of the garden and it's bbq. The village is only 5 mins away and the local butcher/corner shop/ post office, sold everything we needed with great meat for our bbqs. There is a lovely wooden floor downstairs so we didn't have to worry about our dogs, who also had a brilliant time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2018
Thanks Pam, so glad you all had a great time. Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LightPack...
1 review
“Delightful cottage”
Reviewed 14 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We had a family reunion at Rose Cottage and had a delightful stay in this charming cottage in the beautiful New Forest. The property is postcard pretty and has a very well appointed interior. We had our 7 month old granddaughter with us and there were lovely toys and books provided. All mod cons and super comfy beds. The top floor is not for the faint hearted but fine for the able bodied. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rose Cottage and Sheena and Steve were discreetly friendly and helpful.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meander77...
1 review
“not worth the money”
Reviewed 9 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The cottage is on a blind bend which makes exiting dangerous. The access to the bedroom in the loft contravenes building regulations. The stairs are too narrow, too steep and at the top you have to crawl into the centre of the room before you can stand. Noticeable that the Velux windows are on the 'blind side' of the house, away from prying eyes!! Have no doubt the local council are unaware of this construction and the fire and safety issues that have resulted. Should not be renting this room to the general public.
The cottage itself was well-equipped and the New Forest is so beautiful. Just a pity about the above.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2018
We're really sorry you felt this way. The top bedroom was built in earlier times by one of our predecessors and does have building regulation consent. Some see it as quirky and romantic but we do make people aware prior to booking that the staircase is steep, there is restricted head height and it's not suitable for small children.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11Boudica
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Cottage and visit will be back”
Reviewed 20 May 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Great location in the New Forest. Immediate access to New Forest and walks. Within walking distane of the town and pubs in Burley. Owners live on the property in a separate building.
Owners are friendly and helpful and even supplied wellies and an umbrella. Thanks so much for the kind thought. Cottage is lovely and bedding very comfortable. The top bedroom suite is an attic bedroom and as is typical for a period cottage the ceiling is slanted so please be careful when you walk up the stairs as you will hit your head on the low ceiling but once you know its there you learn to duck.
There is WiFI in the cottage and kitchen well stocked.
It did get a bit cold when we stayed and we were not sure about using the heating and so did feel bit chilly. There is a fire place and there are logs on site which is nice although you do have to pay for them which is extra (five pounds a bag)and there is a parking pass for shopping in the area which is extra as wel (deposit twenty five pounds which is returned when you return the pass).
Parking is in their drive way and as we had visitors parking was a bit tight but workable. The owners were helpful with this. Thank you again.
Will be returning when able to get all my friends together again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing