We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous Sunday lunch”
Review of The Coy Carp

The Coy Carp
Ranked #117 of 158 Restaurants in Uxbridge
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Coy Carp offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We visited on Easter Sunday, with special requirements as a member of our party has an artificial heart. Staff were wonderful, found us a table to suit our needs and the service was great. Food was really nice, good size portions and the cleared plates a sign of how much we had enjoyed it. The pub/restaurant has a really nice atmosphere and we will definitely be going back. Prices weren't over the top either

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 150LindaH150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Coy Carp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

150lindah150, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Coy Carp! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Hi, had Doom Bar and Fritto Misto. Fish was great and the pub was good too but the chips were unexpectedly cold. Asked for hot ones, but the order took ages and needed me following up. A shame as they were really good chips when they came out. Not worth £15 with the service I had.

1  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Coy Carp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Ian J, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide.

We are currently recruiting for the summer and have a new Head Chef and Assistant Managers starting this month so I hope you give us another try in the future to see that we can make the Coy Carp great again

Kind Regards
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

If you can’t get the staff on a Bank Holiday then don’t open the restaurant. 6 of us went on Bank Holiday Monday at 1pm and the restaurant was a third full. Our waitress Jessica was very pleasant and keen to help but was obviously overstretched serving too many tables. Our drinks came promptly but even though the restaurant was empty, we waited for 50 minutes for our food. Really annoyingly 4 received their meals and by the time the last 2 received theirs the others had nearly finished so the had to eat alone. The meals were tasty and hot. Desert was ordered and we had the mini deserts with coffee. The coffee came very quickly but we had to wait 20 minutes for the deserts by which time the coffee was cold. The hot deserts were not hot and only lukewarm. They did offer to replace the coffees with hot ones. We were advised that there was no manager on site and the person (a tattooed man with a bad attitude and obviously no training in management, seemed to be in charge. It was obvious that he was not ensuring food was being collected from the kitchen, served either hot or served timely. This experience was a disgrace.

1  Thank Travelguidebarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Coy Carp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Hi Travelguidebarbie, we can assure you that we do not find this type of behavior acceptable, and we would like to address the situation you have described.

We are currently recruiting for the summer and have a new Head Chef and Assistant Managers starting this month so I hope you give us another try in the future to see that we can make the Coy Carp great again

Kind Regards
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful pub and restaurant. We visited Easter for a roast dinner. The location of the venue is lovely on the canal and I look forward to returning in the summer. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The food came out quite quickly and was very nice. We enjoyed 2 courses and drinks for 5 for just over £100. I love the spacious feel of the restaurant area.

Thank LadyDogChampion85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Coy Carp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Hi Lorraine D, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

This is the 3rd time we have visited for lunch. Lovely setting looking forward to sitting outside in the summer.
Good quality higher end pub food.
Starters very good
Roast beef tasty
Desert excellent

Thank achamb8279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Coy Carp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Hi Achamb8279, We hope to see you soon! we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coy Carp also viewed

Uxbridge, Greater London
Uxbridge, Greater London
 
Uxbridge, Greater London
Uxbridge, Greater London
 
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
Uxbridge, Greater London
 

Been to The Coy Carp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing