We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Slade Barn Gower

Front parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front parking
Front lawn and decked area Level lawn and decking enclosed by stock proof fencing.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Front parking
Front lawn and decked area
Level lawn and decking enclosed by stock proof fencing.
Master bedroom
Master bedroom showing en suite
Seating area viewed from kitchen
Seating area towards kitchen
Three cliffs bay 10 minutes drive from cottage
Slade sands 5 minutes walk from cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Oxwich, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lukeadvis...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage!”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

A fantastic place to stay!
The cottage has been renovated to a very high standard and is situated in a great location. Everything you need is at the cottage.
Martin (the owner) is a very nice guy and made me feel very welcome.
I understand the cottage recently won an award which is of no surprise.
A friend of mine held his wedding at the Oxwich Bay Hotel during our stay. The Oxwich Bay Hotel is a short walk from the cottage.
I would 100% recommend this property as a place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannarob...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay - will be back!”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This converted barn is just beautiful and made for a lovely break away. Martin was really welcoming and friendly when we arrived and it was very clean and first impressions were great! Little touches such as a chilled bottle of prosecco in the fridge, a pack of welsh cakes, home made chutney and fresh flowers on arrival were very well received! The barn is so well thought out and all bedrooms are nice and private - all bedrooms have a large en suite to themselves which is a real treat! It's a very cosy place and we enjoyed spending our evenings in. The kitchen is so well equipped to cook any meal you like. An awful lot of thought, love and care has clearly been put into this place for us all to enjoy. The location is great and we had a lovely Sunday lunch at the Oxwich Bay Hotel which is a short walk away. We will definitely be back as there is so much to still see and it was such a good value for a long weekend. Can't recommend it highly enough. Thank you Martin for a lovely stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair D
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We visited for short break and had read some of the reviews before we came to get an idea as to what to expect and it certainly did not dissapoint. The barn is a wonderful conversion with everything you could think of. The underfloor heating was a real treat and the finish in the barn has been done to a high spec. I loved the electric blinds in the rooms and the bathroom in the main room was something special indeed. You could fit a family in that room. All rooms were spacious and even the wardrobes had proper coat hangers in (not plastic or the ones you get in the hotels). It has a real personal feel to it that makes you feel at home immediately. We went for Sunday lunch at the Oxwich Bay Hotel which was scrummy and would highly recommend. Unfortunately we could not fit all the sights in on this occasion however out trip to the Mumbles and the local was all we needed. There are books, games, dvd player (we took some films to watch just in case we got rained in) and the wifi is very good if you need internet connection. Overall a fab weekend and we will be returning at some point. Thanks Martin for a lovely stay and making us feel so welcome. We really did appreciate the treats as well.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfection in a barn”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have stayed here a few times now. It's in a perfect spot to explore the Gower but really you don't need to venture far from slade and oxwich to have a fabulous time. The barn itself is a home from home, great standards, everything you need and the welcome from Martin is always a treat. We'll be staying here for years to come hopefully

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire...
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
526 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Booked this place for a weeks stay a year ago as coming down for a family wedding in Swansea and needed two rooms all week with a further one for the weekend.

Greeted by own Martin and shown around the place & facilities. He had provided some provisions free of charge including a cold bottle of Proscecco, Welsh cakes, milk, bread and homemade jam.

The weather was superb and we had every meal outside on the decking in the sun. The barn is 10 minutes from nearest beach and a nice half hour stroll into Port Eynon.

Our week at Slade Barn was wonderful and the property exceeded our expectations especially as new wifi worked well even in the garden.

Well stocked with books, maps and local information. No real problems with flies even though very hot all week. Great place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2014
Really glad you enjoyed your stay , since your visit we have up graded the Wi-Fi to a un limited BT independent home hub .there is also a hairdryer in the king sized bedroom . Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing