We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ardtara Country House
Nearby Hotels
Apparo(Draperstown)
US$ 109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn(Aghadowey)(Great Value!)
US$ 159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 132
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Bushtown Hotel(Coleraine)(Great Value!)
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Cookstown)
US$ 146
US$ 106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Coleraine Hotel(Coleraine)(Great Value!)
US$ 119
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge Hotel(Coleraine)
US$ 119
US$ 96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roe Park Resort(Limavady)
US$ 151
US$ 147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
246
44
23
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
246
44
23
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas firetasting menuroll top bathoutstanding foodgenuine hospitalitydrawing roomducksunday lunchfamily get togetherfrom start to finishbirthday treatoriginal featuresan overnight staywithout being intrusivelarge bathroomcourse dinnerboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We had our wedding here last year, the whole house was taken over for the day.

Brilliant staff
High end food
Great atmosphere

Restaurant is awesome. The menu may be new to you but give it all a try.

Accomodation is great, rooms all 1900's decor.

Highly recommened

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew-Man-Chew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We arrived at least an hour earlier than expected and yet Valerie was there to meet us. We liked the fact that the door was closed and we had to ring the bell. This is a house after all. Our room was ready, with our specific requests already in place, when Valerie brought us up. This was either telepathy or quick work behind the scenes once we appeared.

Dinner was fabulous and the staff was alert to any possible need - on learning that one couple was from Germany their waitress offered to bring their coffees up to their room so they could watch the soccer match in comfort.

The next morning there was no sense of any hurry to vacate the room and leave the house. Everyone was happy to chat and make suggestions about where we might like to visit, as far away from the chain hotel approach as one could hope for.

If you enjoy staying in country houses, you will certainly enjoy Ardtara.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clontarf6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

A wonderful old estate home with excellent Service and Accommodations. The staff is so welcoming and the quality of the meals was unexpected. Would make a special trip to Ireland just to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgiadawg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Recently stayed here for a wedding.
Valerie & all the rest of the staff couldn't have been anymore helpful. Valerie made a point of wanting to know our names & we were only wedding guests!!!
Everything ran so smoothly.
Food was excellent, with a fantastic big ulster breakfast in the morning with as much or as little as you wanted, don't like what's on the menu not a problem they will do something for you.
The room was fantastic with a lovely big bed, fab pillows &very homely. Bathroom was enormous with a proper freestanding victorian bath I loved it.
The whole hotel was well kept & the staff were all so very helpful, One of the nicest touches was Valerie waving us all off despite keeping here up until 3am - she still brought us tea, &cake woithout us even asking.
The nicest thing was that there were only the wedding guests there -this truely made it feel as if it was all just for us.
I'd throughly reccommend it for a simple getaway from the madding crowd & would most def reccommend it for a wedding or other special occassion.
We were all made to feel so special. Valerie is a true hostess.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqabov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My wife and I stayed in Ardtara last night for the first time. The title should say it all.
Upon arrival we were met by Valerie who showed us into the hotel. The building is beautiful in lovely grounds. Inside the interior is traditional and lovely.

We were then showed to our room, big, clean and beautiful. The fire was lit and we had a bottle of bubbly before dinner. We went to the lounge for pre dinner drinks, the staff were friendly and unobtrusive. Dinner was amazing; one of the best meals I've had. The wine list is extensive and well priced.

After dinner we again retired too the lounge for a nightcap. Everything was great.

The bed was comfy.

Overall, this is a fantastic couples retreat. This place is really Nothern Ireland at it's best.

Room Tip: If you book online give Valerie a call. Let her know what your looking for. She's really helpful.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews