We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
364
17
5
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
17
5
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdolphin bayother guestsbocas del torocacao farmbreakfast and dinnerday tripget awaysunrise roompaddle boardssecret spotboat ridezapatilla islandbocas areafishgranolaour honeymoonsnorkeling spots
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend this resort. We stayed in several great places in Panama but this was our favorite. Brian and Amy are so accommodating. This resort is private and off the beaten path. It is away from the noise and party scene of Bocas Town. The resort itself is relaxing with hammocks, a small soaking pool, kayaks, stand up paddle boards and a canoe. If you are interested in other excursions, many are available at a reasonable price. We went to Zapatilla beach and went snorkeling on the way there. We also kayaked over to a small restaurant for lunch 1 day. Another day we went on a short kayak tour through the mangroves to see a sloth. The food was cooked on sight by Amy and her kitchen staff. The food was amazing! Some of our meals included jack fish ( a local fish), red snapper, grilled chicken, mashed potatoes, salad and sometimes a taste of some traditional Panamanian food. We all enjoyed the meals. It's a great values since breakfast and supper is included. When we went snorkeling, they packed a light lunch for a small cost. Also sent a cooler of beverages. Beer, wine and drinks were reasonably priced. The service was fantastic. Who doesn't like to be served a sangria while lounging in the hammock. All the rooms are nice. There are only 5 rooms ( I think), so there are only a small number of guests at any time. I think the rooms away from the main dining room are a little nicer but I would be happy in any of them. Thanks Brian and Amy for your hospitality!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you very much for your recommendation and we are so glad to hear we were your favorite place in all of Panama! For guests like you both, searching for tranquility in a natural environment off the beaten path, we are pleased to deliver on your expectations. The kitchen team especially enjoys your feedback on their efforts - amazing and a great value. It is not easy away from Bocas to run a fantastic kitchen, but the team works at it every day. It was fun to host you both from the awesome State of Iowa and we do hope you will consider another visit to the Hideaway. It was very rewarding to meet you both and thanks for coming. Many safe and happy travels - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We had an amazing stay at Dolphin Bay Hideaway! The food was delicious and they were very flexible with our preferences and our picky kids. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean and beautiful. There is no air conditioning but plenty of fans are provided and they kept it comfortable enough to get a good nights sleep.
The owners ands staff are wonderful! They were so attentive to anything we needed, and helped find our 3 boys poison dart frogs, jesus lizards, and tons of other critters.
You can chose to go on excursions that cost extra. We went to Zapatilla Island and the Cacao farm and I would highly recommend both. Perhaps my very favorite part was spending each evening at the dock watching, swimming with, and paddle boarding through the bioluminescent plankton. It was like magic!
I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for a relaxing place to stay in the Books Del Toro area! Thank you for making it the perfect end to our trip around the world!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

The story of your incredible journey begs repeating. You, your wife and 3 boys had spent an entire year traveling around the globe. We were, I believe, your 94th different hotel/lodge on your journey across 6 continents. To be your last stop and have this type of review from your family is an honor to our entire team. We are privileged to have met you all and heard so many awesome stories and received so many valuable global travel tips (especially on Galapagos -thanks). Now, back to new and exciting challenges and adventures in the US and maybe one day you'll return to this corner of paradise. We hope you do. Many safe and happy travels - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Our trip to Panama was truly spectacular. It seemed effortless the way Brian and Amy and the staff at Dolphin Bay Hideaway took care of us. The food was excellent, the rooms were charming and every time we wanted an adventure everything was taken care of. That was the best family vacation ever!
Thank you Brian and Amy!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Honey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Your title is so rewarding to us all - thanks for the tremendous feedback! It was our pleasure to host your family and we had a lot of fun as well. The DBH team strives to ensure guests have memorable vacations, so to be your best family vacation ever, AWESOME!! We hope to host you all again someday and try out some new recipes and local adventures. Many safe and happy travels to each of you - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

We stayed with Amy and Brian for 3 nights to celebrate our engagement, and we had an absolutely amazing time here! We stayed in the sunrise room, which is a beautiful secluded place to stay as a couple, and we could see dolphins passing by from our deck every day! The food was truly great, which was wonderful after 4 weeks of rice and beans in Costa Rica - try the home made hot sauce!. We also arranged a few tours from the property, we went to Zapatilla islands and snorkeled on several different locations. The beauty of the reef and mangroves really surprised us - we didn't expect to find top-notch snorkeling here! But the best thing about this place is the hospitality of Amy and Brian. They made us feel really at home, we had some really interesting conversations with them, and when they heard about our recent engagement they were generous enough to pack a bottle of champagne for us on our day-trip to Zapatilla to celebrate. So we had champagne together on the most beautiful beach ever! We would strongly recommend this romantic place, it would make a great honeymoon destination as well.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Renee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Engagements are among the most special moments in life, so you both choosing Dolphin Bay Hideaway for this celebration is an incredible testament to the mission here. We could not be happier for you both and we know you will have tremendously happy years and travels together. Many thanks for your compliments on the food, activities and hospitality. It takes a lot of effort from the DBH team to put these experiences together so it is very meaningful to receive your feedback. The secret snorkel spots are slowly being discovered, but for now they continue to be the best in all of the archipelago, and the Dolphin action never gets old. We do expect that future celebrations will bring you back to this part of the world and we would be honored to have you for another visit. Many safe and happy travels - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Everything you read from the others is true: the beautiful surroundings, the calm and warm waters, the accommodating staff, and the locals who welcomed us with open arms. Oh, and the world's best passion fruit daiquiri and homemade cocoa ice cream is not to be missed! DBH and the remote side of Panama will forever be on our hearts.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank IsaacsMum09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for these kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your hard earned vacation and it was a real pleasure for us to meet you both and get to know you over your stay here. You are both so generous and interesting and we enjoyed your perspectives on Chile, the U.K. and your current lives in SLC. The children at the local school still talk about your visit - you made quite the impression! Best wishes to you both on your work and personal endeavors and we'll drink a passion fruit daiquiri in your honor and wait for your return one day. Many safe and happy travels - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews