We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
364
17
5
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
17
5
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdolphin bayother guestsbocas del torocacao farmbreakfast and dinnerday tripget awaysunrise roompaddle boardssecret spotboat ridezapatilla islandbocas areafishgranolaour honeymoonsnorkeling spots
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2017

We stayed with Amy and Brian for 3 nights to celebrate our engagement, and we had an absolutely amazing time here! We stayed in the sunrise room, which is a beautiful secluded place to stay as a couple, and we could see dolphins passing by from our deck every day! The food was truly great, which was wonderful after 4 weeks of rice and beans in Costa Rica - try the home made hot sauce!. We also arranged a few tours from the property, we went to Zapatilla islands and snorkeled on several different locations. The beauty of the reef and mangroves really surprised us - we didn't expect to find top-notch snorkeling here! But the best thing about this place is the hospitality of Amy and Brian. They made us feel really at home, we had some really interesting conversations with them, and when they heard about our recent engagement they were generous enough to pack a bottle of champagne for us on our day-trip to Zapatilla to celebrate. So we had champagne together on the most beautiful beach ever! We would strongly recommend this romantic place, it would make a great honeymoon destination as well.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Renee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Engagements are among the most special moments in life, so you both choosing Dolphin Bay Hideaway for this celebration is an incredible testament to the mission here. We could not be happier for you both and we know you will have tremendously happy years and travels together. Many thanks for your compliments on the food, activities and hospitality. It takes a lot of effort from the DBH team to put these experiences together so it is very meaningful to receive your feedback. The secret snorkel spots are slowly being discovered, but for now they continue to be the best in all of the archipelago, and the Dolphin action never gets old. We do expect that future celebrations will bring you back to this part of the world and we would be honored to have you for another visit. Many safe and happy travels - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Everything you read from the others is true: the beautiful surroundings, the calm and warm waters, the accommodating staff, and the locals who welcomed us with open arms. Oh, and the world's best passion fruit daiquiri and homemade cocoa ice cream is not to be missed! DBH and the remote side of Panama will forever be on our hearts.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank IsaacsMum09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for these kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your hard earned vacation and it was a real pleasure for us to meet you both and get to know you over your stay here. You are both so generous and interesting and we enjoyed your perspectives on Chile, the U.K. and your current lives in SLC. The children at the local school still talk about your visit - you made quite the impression! Best wishes to you both on your work and personal endeavors and we'll drink a passion fruit daiquiri in your honor and wait for your return one day. Many safe and happy travels - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Beautiful rooms and garden and a nice deck to relax, watch dolphins or hammingbirds. Very good food, the best cocktails, personalized tours, great personal advice from the enthusiastic owners Brian and Amy. We did not get one "no" during our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marloes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Stop searching - stay here!! Yes, thanks for the highest recommendation! DBH is extremely beautiful and the complete team endeavors to ensure a terrifically unique experience. It is not so hard to be enthusiastic when surrounded by all of the abundant grandeur here and having wonderfully fun guests like you all stay here. You were tremendously gracious guests and we never came close to having a reason to say "no" during your stay. You have incredible stories and life experiences and we hope that your journeys bring you back to Dolphin Bay down the road. Many safe and happy travels - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We stayed for three nights at the Dolphin Bay hideaway with our son (5) and enjoyed it very much! Brian and Amy are wonderful hosts, and manage to make you feel as a part of the family. In the evenings, all guests enjoy dinner together at the beautiful porch and have time to chat, relax, and get to know each other, which is a great concept for a lodge this size. The food is tasty, rich in variety, and made of fresh ingredients with herbs and fruits from the garden. Food preferences are considered, which makes it easy to find great options for the kids as well.
Brian is very considerable in suggesting activities for us, and there are many activities available at the place or in the vicinity: watching the dolphins in the morning, exploring the nearer surroundings on foot or by kayak, but you can also take worthwhile tours to the cacao - farm or visit great beaches like frog beach. A small pool is nice for younger kids or a lazy afternoon dip.
An overall great experience and we really recommend this place!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank frieda_green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

It was a pleasure hosting your family here at the Hideaway and thanks for this superb review which should be very helpful to future individuals searching for their ideal vacation spot. Meeting and interacting with others from around the world is such a fantastic experience and our dinner table has had so many remarkable conversations. That all happens over great food, which you kindly point out. You are a considerate, interesting and fun family and we so appreciate you coming to spend time with us. We hope you have many more reasons to return to Central America and those trips lead you back to Dolphin Bay. Many safe and happy travels - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We had the possibility to stay a fiew nights in the beautiful resort. Amy, Brian and the hideaway team did every day an absolute fantastic job. Beside the delicious food and the very nice an clean resort we got an awesome gardentour where we saw amazing floran and fauna.

Room Tip: The bay room is large and has an excellent view
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobiasluetolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Many thanks Tobias for posting this review - we all appreciate it and are so happy you both found your perfect place. As far as we remember, we've never had a professional florist so appreciate all of the flowers and plants that show up in bouquets back home. You both are great people and it was fun hosting you and learning so much about your jobs and lives back in Switzerland. Good luck with all you do back home and maybe you can come back again and teach us more about the garden here! Many safe and happy travels - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews