We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family vacation ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolphin Bay Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Our trip to Panama was truly spectacular. It seemed effortless the way Brian and Amy and the staff at Dolphin Bay Hideaway took care of us. The food was excellent, the rooms were charming and every time we wanted an adventure everything was taken care of. That was the best family vacation ever!
Thank you Brian and Amy!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Honey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Your title is so rewarding to us all - thanks for the tremendous feedback! It was our pleasure to host your family and we had a lot of fun as well. The DBH team strives to ensure guests have memorable vacations, so to be your best family vacation ever, AWESOME!! We hope to host you all again someday and try out some new recipes and local adventures. Many safe and happy travels to each of you - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2017

We stayed with Amy and Brian for 3 nights to celebrate our engagement, and we had an absolutely amazing time here! We stayed in the sunrise room, which is a beautiful secluded place to stay as a couple, and we could see dolphins passing by from our deck every day! The food was truly great, which was wonderful after 4 weeks of rice and beans in Costa Rica - try the home made hot sauce!. We also arranged a few tours from the property, we went to Zapatilla islands and snorkeled on several different locations. The beauty of the reef and mangroves really surprised us - we didn't expect to find top-notch snorkeling here! But the best thing about this place is the hospitality of Amy and Brian. They made us feel really at home, we had some really interesting conversations with them, and when they heard about our recent engagement they were generous enough to pack a bottle of champagne for us on our day-trip to Zapatilla to celebrate. So we had champagne together on the most beautiful beach ever! We would strongly recommend this romantic place, it would make a great honeymoon destination as well.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Renee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Engagements are among the most special moments in life, so you both choosing Dolphin Bay Hideaway for this celebration is an incredible testament to the mission here. We could not be happier for you both and we know you will have tremendously happy years and travels together. Many thanks for your compliments on the food, activities and hospitality. It takes a lot of effort from the DBH team to put these experiences together so it is very meaningful to receive your feedback. The secret snorkel spots are slowly being discovered, but for now they continue to be the best in all of the archipelago, and the Dolphin action never gets old. We do expect that future celebrations will bring you back to this part of the world and we would be honored to have you for another visit. Many safe and happy travels - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Everything you read from the others is true: the beautiful surroundings, the calm and warm waters, the accommodating staff, and the locals who welcomed us with open arms. Oh, and the world's best passion fruit daiquiri and homemade cocoa ice cream is not to be missed! DBH and the remote side of Panama will forever be on our hearts.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank IsaacsMum09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for these kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your hard earned vacation and it was a real pleasure for us to meet you both and get to know you over your stay here. You are both so generous and interesting and we enjoyed your perspectives on Chile, the U.K. and your current lives in SLC. The children at the local school still talk about your visit - you made quite the impression! Best wishes to you both on your work and personal endeavors and we'll drink a passion fruit daiquiri in your honor and wait for your return one day. Many safe and happy travels - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Beautiful rooms and garden and a nice deck to relax, watch dolphins or hammingbirds. Very good food, the best cocktails, personalized tours, great personal advice from the enthusiastic owners Brian and Amy. We did not get one "no" during our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marloes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Stop searching - stay here!! Yes, thanks for the highest recommendation! DBH is extremely beautiful and the complete team endeavors to ensure a terrifically unique experience. It is not so hard to be enthusiastic when surrounded by all of the abundant grandeur here and having wonderfully fun guests like you all stay here. You were tremendously gracious guests and we never came close to having a reason to say "no" during your stay. You have incredible stories and life experiences and we hope that your journeys bring you back to Dolphin Bay down the road. Many safe and happy travels - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We stayed for three nights at the Dolphin Bay hideaway with our son (5) and enjoyed it very much! Brian and Amy are wonderful hosts, and manage to make you feel as a part of the family. In the evenings, all guests enjoy dinner together at the beautiful porch and have time to chat, relax, and get to know each other, which is a great concept for a lodge this size. The food is tasty, rich in variety, and made of fresh ingredients with herbs and fruits from the garden. Food preferences are considered, which makes it easy to find great options for the kids as well.
Brian is very considerable in suggesting activities for us, and there are many activities available at the place or in the vicinity: watching the dolphins in the morning, exploring the nearer surroundings on foot or by kayak, but you can also take worthwhile tours to the cacao - farm or visit great beaches like frog beach. A small pool is nice for younger kids or a lazy afternoon dip.
An overall great experience and we really recommend this place!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank frieda_green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayHideaway, Owner at Dolphin Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

It was a pleasure hosting your family here at the Hideaway and thanks for this superb review which should be very helpful to future individuals searching for their ideal vacation spot. Meeting and interacting with others from around the world is such a fantastic experience and our dinner table has had so many remarkable conversations. That all happens over great food, which you kindly point out. You are a considerate, interesting and fun family and we so appreciate you coming to spend time with us. We hope you have many more reasons to return to Central America and those trips lead you back to Dolphin Bay. Many safe and happy travels - Amy and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla San Cristobal
10.7 km away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
423 reviews
11.0 km away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
551 reviews
14.2 km away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
380 reviews
16.6 km away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
15.4 km away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#5 of 20 in Isla Colon
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Hideaway

Address: Avenida Sur | Dolphin Bay, Isla San Cristobal 888 888, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla San Cristobal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Isla San Cristobal
Price Range: ₹ 9,951 - ₹ 15,350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Bay Hideaway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here on the calmest Caribbean water, at our off-Grid Eco-lodge, our team strives to provide the absolute best travel experience. We know you work hard to earn your vacation and we want you to relax so your focus can be on all Bocas has to offer. We do our best to combine environmental sustainability and the highest levels of guest comfort. BREAKFAST and DINNER included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Dolphin Bay Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hideaway Hotel Isla San Cristobal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing