We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
20
11
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
20
11
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2016

The overall experience of staying in victory homestay was amazing starting from the roads filled with nature towards the house, beautifully constructed house with huge garden around, all different kinds of flowers and interiors is amazing.
On top of it the best part of the stay is Mrs Kaveri. She is an amazing lady. You can't stop yourself from getting inspired from her the way she manages everything and she is an amazing host, you will feel like you are staying at away from home.
Will go there again and will stay there for more days.

Room tip: Only family members are allowed currently to stay. No bachelors are allowed.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank puneetbaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

The first view of the House is stunning. Surrounded by thousands of flowers –types and colours, exquisitely maintained in flower beds on all sides !!
After a refreshing shower, we traipsed around The House to admire the construction and layout. Apart from the wooden floor, panelling and carved sections on the side walls of the living and dining room, there is a lovely collection of photo frames of Joe and Kavery’s lineage, from Rai Bahadur to the present generation in a wooden ‘mandap’ on the left side of the Living room- dining room passage. On the right is a similar ‘mandap’ with brass images of the pantheon of Hindu deities, so beautifully lit up !!
Kavery has a lovely collection of brass idols of Hindu Gods & Godesses of all sizes, a Buddha, a fabulous looking Ganesha, a lovely setting of gleaming –polished brass.
There is a quaint little wooden staircase upto the 2 bedrooms on the first floor. On the landing on the way to the upper floor, Kavery has a beautiful collection of gleaming brass & bronze vessels of all shapes and sizes.
Awesome artistic collection of brass, bronze, carved wood and depiction of Family History and the Deities.
The guest rooms on the first floor are the ultimate in comfort, tastefully done up with quality drapes, richly adorned bed covers, pillows and , yes, carved furniture chest, even a carved wastepaper bin. Of course each bedroom overlooks a separate view of the garden , the flower beds et al.
The House has a plethora of carefully spaced skylights which warmly light up the room during day and give a glimpse of the galaxy of stars in the sky, by night !!
At dusk we got to see another side of Kavery. She did up the flower arrangement in the ancestral and deity mandaps, and in front of images of Lord Ganesha and the Buddha. Even the dining table had a floral arrangement. Then she chanted shlokas while doing aarti of the Deities, lit up diyas . A solemn and totally enchanting welcome to the dusk and night.
We then settled down in the living room and recounted our experience at Nisargadhama and Little Tibet, Golden Temple & Monastery !! Both Joe and Kavery vividly recounted their respective lineage and the influence of their respective parents on their own lives , which had inspired them to build, equip and adorn the rich exteriors of the garden and the house inside !!
Dinner was a multi course meal, with all the spices of Coorg and the tummy tickling fragrance of delicious food on the dinner table. There was evidence of the pride in quality and detail in the culinary spread, as to why Kavery would cook over a charcoal fire in the outhouse and cart the steaming hot dishes to the table, while there was a designer kitchen right next to the dining room !!
After a sumptuous dinner, we settled down to a sound sleep in the comfort of the bedroom, that follows a wonderfully cooked, served and hospitality drenched dinner !!
Over breakfast, we actually saw the vapours wafting from the lovely breakfast !! Joe also called his neighbour about the bulky guest (elephant) who had,in the wee hours, strode across the exterior of The House, visit was to bless their lives . Goes without saying that we had missed the 4 legged guest, but the house help had not; but had discreetly kept out of the elephant’s way !!
We then strode out in the taxi for our tour of Madikeri, Dubare, Tala Cauvery and other spots, but only after Kavery ensured that our driver had a warm meal too!!
We returned in the late afternoon to a lovely cup of tea on the porch and another session of feasting our eyes on the beautiful flower gardens all around the house.
Kavery’s bustling routine, to and fro inside and outside the house, reflected the pride, care and effort that was put in to keep up the magnificient setting of the House, cleanliness and warmth of The House inside - as also the careful tending of the riot of flower beds inside !! She would chide the house help to give it their best and yet enquire caringly about the health of their family etc.
Next morning we were allowed to leave only after a tour of the plantation and a quick brief on the Coffee crop etc. The fragrance of the white coffee flowers in full bloom, the serenity and greenery of the plantation, the pepper vine led up to grow on the betel nut trees and the plantain trees on the boundary of the plantation, and the layout and rhythm of the plantation was a revelation of God’s gift to Joe-Kavery and fleetingly to guests like us !!
Joe was to host the ‘Coffee Cup’ Golf tournament and had left before we even woke up.
The 2 days at Brig Joe and Mrs Kavery Ponappa’s ‘The House’ home stay at Goni Koppal made us feel that we ought to have had at least a 3-4 day extended stay with them !! The richness of the hospitality, the ‘being with nature’ , House décor, the care and concern for every detail in comfort, cuisine, the class of the experience and the fragrance and warmth of the genuine ‘feel good’ ambience, was
overwhelming.The ambience of nature in Goni Koppal and the sheer hospitality of our hosts, made us feel they were easily head and shoulders above any hospitality that we had experienced elsewhere in India or even our 3 year stay in SE Asia or the US !!
.So what are you waiting for ? Do really experience the memorable best of Coorg !

Room tip: The East Room has a magnificient view.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

This is the second time we visited this property in under 3 months and we couldn't have been pleased anymore. This time, we took our friends visiting India from United States. They loved the place and especially the hospitality provided by Mrs. Kaveri Ponnappa. She is most generous, most attentive host you will probably ever meet. Coffee is offered all around the day. She personally cooks lovely, healthy meals. She puts in a lot of effort and time for those meals and every ingredient is fresh from either her own garden or the market.

The property is beautiful and huge! You can take a walk in the coffee estate and you really dont need to step out of the property. You will see coffee, pepper, banana, coconut, etc within the estate itself. What is the need to go out for? :)

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SushantC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Go to this place if you want to:
1. Get a local experience and learn about Kodava culture.
2. Eat delicious food that will make you want to keep eating for hours!
3. Learn a lot about gardening.
4. Stay in a huge property! (100 acres of coffee estate)
5. Stay in a very nice room that is clean, perfectly color matched, has beautiful roof windows for early morning light :)
6. Get to know and soon get very attached to aunty :)

In all seriousness, homestays are supposed to be places where the owner also stays with the guests. Most of the homestays unfortunately are just hotels where you don't really get to stay in the home of the owner. But Victory Home is a homestay where you get to live in the same home where the owners of the estate live. You get to learn and absorb the culture and eat the same food that they eat. I would advice anyone going for a relaxing time to go here and enjoy the beautiful home, gardens and the coffee estate. There is no need to see anything outside because the Coorg nature is right there around you!

We look forward to visiting aunty again and enjoy the awesome food she makes with a wide spread of variety dishes :)

Room tip: We loved the red room!
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SushantC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015

We recently stayed here at Victory homestay in Coorg. The rooms along with the entire house are wonderfully decorated and cosy and comfy. The hosts are very charming, especially Aunty who is ever so cheerful and always eager to give you a cup of coffee anytime. The coffee is from their own coffee plantation. The garden surrounding the house is so beautiful with variety of flowers in bloom, including orchids. The homemade food is also delicious. Ideal for a family with kids.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ketakikarandikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews