We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cottabetta Bungalow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plantation Trails by Tata Coffee, Coorg
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cottabetta Bungalow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

The place is well maintained and clean but over-priced, with no recreational amenities. We were there in April 2012 and there were large flies and bugs which was very uncomfortable for me. The food is decent and the staff courteous. The access to the property is very poor and there are no travel amenities offered to guests should they wish to go into town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    102
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
143
60
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

When we were planning a trip to coorg, we came across this name, As it was from Tata Coffee, we dived right-in and our first trip at Thaneerhulla Bugalow happened, It was wonderful experience, the staff there were very courteous and they delivered more than what they promiosed. We wanted this experience to be different from our regular life in metro. It was a short stay of 4D 5N. News papers don't come there, they have a satellite TV service from tata sky which is the main living room , you do not have tv on your bedroom!. Huge places around the property to walk and listen to nature's stillness. Room comes equipped with AC and round the clock Hot and Cold water. Cook and the attendant is too good, you can customise your food order as you please. Sheets and rest rooms are clean. Extra beds for kids are provided at nominal cost. Huge open spaces for you to un-wind . Our experience was good so we visited them every 6 months each time to one property. Our favorite in Coorg is Glenorna Tea Estate, incidentally it is the only tea estate in coorg.
After coorg we hopped to their other property at Chikmangalur, our experience was equally good. These places are very far from the town, hence do not plan for any late night arrivals, signage's are poor and you could easily lose your way. Mobile phones of certain network can go blank, for me airtel, bsnl and reliance worked.

Room Tip: Heritage rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArulMurugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

The Thaneerhulla Bungalow, Coorg property owned by TATA Plantation Trails in amidst the various coffee plantations owned and operated by Tata Coffee and a cold water pond (meaning Taneerhulla) at a walking distance.

It was my wedding anniversary and we moved from Bangalore to Mysore and then to Coorg and finally settled in this 200 yr old Heritage bungalow with rooms so large that you could play cricket in their bathrooms.
;-)

We stayed there for 3 nights and had company of other guests for only 2 nights. Most of the time during the day we would be the only occupants in this massive bungalow. Thaneerhulla Bungalow also has a team of 1 car driver, 2-3 cooks, 1-2 housekeeping ladies and a sleeping area for drivers.

Upon request by the 3 families present (2 indian couples and 1 spanish couple, all with kids), the team organized an open-air barbecue in the garden using dry wood to light the fire and cook the food. The food served otherwise during the day (is chargeable extra) is simple home-cooked food with a pretty much fixed menu. They don't have an in-house bar, but you can bring your own from stores outside and they will help you with serving and storing in the refrigerators.

We were also given a tour of the plantation and the process of making coffee, but it wasn't of a guide quality but a more adhoc, makeshift way of touring.

The best part of staying in Thaneerhulla are the large heritage rooms with wood floors, king sized beds, fireplace and a terrific view. The royalty driven concept of having breakfast in bed was also interesting but we we shy-ed away.

At night the beauty of walks around the bungalow is superb.

Room Tip: Take the rooms on the first floor, The stairs to climb up are wooden and a bit squeaky cause they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kapil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at Thaneerhulla bungalow and it was overall good experience. The setting is unique for the bungalow and the rooms are specious and gives the old world feeling. One can take leisurely strolls for long around the trails, which was different from other coorg home stays we stayed before.

We liked the food mix and the overall service.

One still has to share the common bungalow space with other families which can turn out either bad and good!

Room Tip: Stayed in Thaneerhulla bungalow will explore different one next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lalit_pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I visited this Tata Coffee estate at Coorg in Jan 2012. Was expected a beautiful and cold place with the luxury of a Tata Grp hotel. The place was for sure beautiful and the service offered made the fill in for luxury but the weather was not cold at all. Secondly the place is very remote and expensive. So, if money is less of a constraint and you want to cut yourself from the rest of the world and go to a place with Bangalore like weather, but have butler at your service then then this the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler_Sundeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pollibetta
0.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 21 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.0 km away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
0.0 km away
Orange County, Coorg
Orange County, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ambatty Greens Resort - An Amritara Private Hideaway
0.0 km away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 21 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.0 km away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Trails by Tata Coffee, Coorg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Trails by Tata Coffee, Coorg

Property: Plantation Trails by Tata Coffee, Coorg
Address: Pollibetta Main Road | Coorg, Kodagu District, Pollibetta 571215, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Coorg > Pollibetta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Pollibetta
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,268 - ₹ 16,511
Hotel Class:4 star — Plantation Trails by Tata Coffee, Coorg 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Plantation Trails' is Tata Coffee's Hospitality Brand, offering unique Heritage and Luxury Bungalows in the Coorg and Chikmagalur areas. Situated in the middle of the picturesque tea and coffee plantations, these bungalows offer a true "Plantation Experience" for guests. Owned and managed by Tata Coffee which has a history of over 85 years in the region, one is assured of the best travel hosts and guides when on a vacation. These spacious but cozy bungalows, offer personalized cook and butler service and are truly a right blend of an heritage building and comforts to make your stay enjoyable, thereby making them a perfect getaway from the harsh city life. As part of the experience guests enjoy guided bird watching tours, nature walks, a guided jeep drive through plantations and receive firsthand information on how coffee is processed from bean to cup. Other activities include a 9-hole golf course, badminton, table-tennis, trekking, boating, and white water rafting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Plantation Trails by Tata Coffee, Coorg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Trails By Tata Coffee, Coorg Pollibetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing