We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort in Coorg”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ponnampet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The SilverOaks Resort, Coorg
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Resort in Coorg”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I was here for 2 days with my family & I recommend this place if you are coming in group & with friends.

Place is filled with activities & you will be short of time. Food isn't that great since we all were veg.

Only one advice, if you are going with infant please avoid this place. Also, they should work on rooms & make it look little more furnished.

Overall recommended stay in Coorg

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onlyvimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silveroakscoorg, Manager at The SilverOaks Resort, Coorg, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for the kind feedback, while we are continuously improving our services, your feedback gives the entire team moral strength. We are taken your suggestion and implemented new wardrobes for all the cottages. Please visit next time to explore more about ThesilverOaks. Thanks again – Team SilverOaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    57
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
74
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

On Dec 7th 2010, I chose Silver Oaks from a list of 9 places to stay in Coorg including the 5-star deluxe resorts like Orange County, Mahindra, Amanvana etc.. Ourchoice was based on the testimonials on your website written by the various lucky persons who had stayed in your property and the photographs of the peace and tranquility surrounding Silveroaks. The moment I received an SMS from you on 21st Nov 2010 regarding our taxi requirement from Gonikoppal to Silver Oaks, we had an intution that our choice was the best, simply because we were really surprised that you remembered. As we had made reservations in the Volvo bus service, we had completely forgotten about this taxi requirement. Needless to say our stay at Silver Oaks has been the hallmark of our wedding and the perfect setting for our honeymoon. It was so nice of you to have taken some time off on the evening of our arrival, even though your entire family was waiting for the Puttari celebrations, and welcome us to your homestay. The celebration of Puttari with your family was enjoyed by us as much as the time spent in understanding your culture, values and traditions

Each and every staff at Silver Oaks were courteous and polite with an ever smiling demeanour. These traits that are sometimes found lacking even in the best of super-deluxe resorts clearly outlined love, affection and warmth that we experienced during our stay.The simple home-cooked food brought back fond memories of our own homes to both of us. Our driver Manju (M.N.Nehru) is an exceptionally talented person and we both are sure that given an opportunity he can win the Raid De Himalaya car rally.Sheer perfectionin driving and absolute control on the vehicle added with the ability to keep a track of time and ensure that we experience the best of all sights at our own pace and timing, was really amazing. In fact the interesting pieces of information shared by him as well as his knowledge of the countryside and market places was deeply appreciated by us. We never felt hard-pressed for time, which is a common experience with many a grumbling driver that I have come across in my years of experience across India. Manju clearly comes across as the best.

I have stayed at many hotels & resorts and one of the common but bitter experiences is not being served proper breakfast on the day of check-out particularly for early morning departures. However at Silver Oaks it was an altogether delightful experience. On 24th evening we had enquired with the staff about the possibility of getting some breakfast the next day at 5 am (our scheduled departure time) and we were told that some bread/butter/jam with tea/coffee would be made available. On 25th morning, as we were getting ready, I thought of checking out about the breakfast with the staff at 4:45 am, all the while thinking that they would be asleep and we would have to manage some quick bite at the bus-stand.We were utterly amazed when there was a knock on our door at 4:50 am and the smiling watchman was standing there carrying a tray with our breakfast and piping hot coffee. Wow! Five minutes later there is another knock and we are informed about our waiting taxi. Wow!


I spent the first four years of my career with SITA World Travel handling Inbound Tourists from all parts of the world, and have seen the length and breadth of our country and have experienced a stay at almost all categories of hotels. Believe me, our experience at Silver Oaks has been the most wonderous till date and the cherished memories shall remin embedded in our hearts for the remainder of our lives. You are an exceptional person having an exceptional team of happy people whose sole motto is to make everyone happy. You epitomise the very meaning of "HOMESTAY" .

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank licashok68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silveroakscoorg, Manager at The SilverOaks Resort, Coorg, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for the wonderful comment. We are overwhelmed by your feedback. We are committed to take care of our guests and provide best in class and homely service. Thanks for the support and welcome back to TheSilverOaks- Team TheSilverOaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I travelled to Silveroaks with my wife in February 2011, I understand it is a bit late to write this review, still wanted to share my experience...

The first thing that stood out was the friendliness, very effective and courteous team. I wouldn't call them staff, they are more of a friendly set of people who seem to enjoy what they do here.

We stayed at the 'Drongo Nest'. Room was adequately spacious and neat. The only little issue was the dim light, however it was not a problem. Bathroom was neat and balcony was a good place to relax. There are vast expanses of land surrounding this property and also has it's own coffee plantation in the backyard. There is a little pond within the resort with a couple of ducks in it..! :)

There are only a few cottages in here, so, we need not worry about a 'crowd' during breakfast or lunch etc. Nor do we have to wait in a queue to hit a few balls at the TT table or carrom or badminton. There is no formal check in or check out procedure, there is no fixed timing for the buffet. Everything is so slow and laid back. Food tastes homely but limited in choice. The pool is large, but needs to be maintained a little better.

The entire team here was at their courteous best, couldn't expect anything more at all.. :-) Was able to catch with Mr. Bob (Sudesh) for a while and he was a really nice person. The best of the lot was Bob delivering a cake ordered to us by of my cousin (from Noida!!). It was a real surprise.

Don't miss the collection of DVDs they have, very good ones available... Had a good time watching quite a few movies. Don't be surprised, the rooms have blu-ray players... There is quite a collection of books too, including one on 'Snakes of Coorg'...! Brrrr....

We visited a few places around Coorg, including, Iruppu falls, Namdroling monastery, Nisargadhama, Dubare Elephant Camp and rafting on the Kaveri... However, these places are a bit far from Silveroaks and might need a couple of days. If you are looking to just relax and not to travel, this IS the place though...

Time and wallet permitting, check out the para gliding, it would be good, we were unable to do it as my wife was down with fever for a couple of days. Mr. Bob was very grateful here again, and offered to take us to a doctor friend of his and also let us stay longer than the check out time of 11:00 AM, we checked out only around 5:30 PM (after watching Sachin score a century against Eng in the World Cup match at Bangalore).

4 out of 5 for the room and ambience

10 out of 5 for the service

4 out of 5 for the food

4 out of 5 for recreation facilities

5 out of 5 for the collection of movies (entertainment)

3 out of 5 for general upkeep and maintenance of the facility

One of the very few places for improvement would be a cleaner pool, there were a few little frogs swimming around. Weeds surrounding the pond can be cleared and the place made more approachable... Even the cottages look like a mud house with thatched roof, but they are good on the inside (probably that is the idea)

We do not drink, so I am not quite sure about availability of beer/wine etc., but there sure was a nice collection of bottles and glasses in one of the displays... :-)

Thanks to Bob and his team for the wonderful memories, I sure will go there again...!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Easwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silveroakscoorg, Manager at The SilverOaks Resort, Coorg, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for the kind gesture and wonderful comment. Our team is overwhelmed by your feedback. We are committed to improve our service all the time and your feedback will only help us do better. Thanks again. We have recently upgraded our facilities and welcome you once again. Team ThesilverOaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We were a large family group and took cottages for more than 4 nights. It was decent, but don't expect more than a 3 star experience. The food options were good and we could tell the cook the various options and generally, it was quite tasty.
Rooms and facilities were okay given the price, however, bathrooms can be improved as they are quite basic, although hot/cold water options were available. Service overall was decent and stay was pleasant. The resort is a little far from sightseeing locales and travelling on the roads is not easy. There is an outdoor swimming pool which we did not use obviously due to the cold weather in December.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rohit_ralhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silveroakscoorg, Manager at The SilverOaks Resort, Coorg, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for the kind gesture and feedback. Our team is committed to improve our services and your feedback will only help us do better. We have recently upgraded our facilities and welcome you once again - Team ThesilverOaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

coorg is the best hill station in southindia, best hotel in coorg is the silveroaks resort. naturaly blessed place in karnataka. staking with family in this hotel is awesome. children can enjoy the holly day in this hotel is grate.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hideme_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponnampet
35.6 km away
Hotel Mayura Valley View Madikeri
27.8 km away
Parampara Resort & Spa, Coorg
Parampara Resort & Spa, Coorg
#4 of 10 in Kushalnagar
246 reviews
16.0 km away
Evolve Back, Coorg
Evolve Back, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 km away
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
#2 of 2 in Suntikoppa
245 reviews
22.3 km away
Purple Palms Resort & Spa,Coorg
21.9 km away
Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg
Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg
#2 of 10 in Kushalnagar
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The SilverOaks Resort, Coorg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SilverOaks Resort, Coorg

Property: The SilverOaks Resort, Coorg
Address: Kunda | Ponnampet, Via Madikeri, Ponnampet 571216, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Coorg > Ponnampet
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Ponnampet
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,209 - ₹ 3,465
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Oaks Home Stay is located at Kunda (near Ponnampet - 30 minutes drive from Nagarahole) in South Coorg or Kodagu as the local people call it, perched 2500 meters above sea level 250 kms from Bangalore, 100 kms from Mysore and about 170 kms from Mangalore. Silver Oak Stay homes is a unique place surrounded by about 10 hectares of Silver oak trees, coffee and spice plantation and overlooked by a large place of "sacred jungle"(devara kaadu) and famous "Kunda hill" at the height of 4500 ft above sea level for the people who love trekking. Silver Oak is for people who love nature and want to explore nature by being part of it. The Sunnuvanda family, which owns Silver Oak Home Stay, and Mr. Bob (Sudesh), who after completing his MBA in marketing headed back to Coorg to take care of his first love, nature. He is part of few NGOs who are mainly devoted to nature preservation and rainwater harvesting besides developing of tribals. The care is taken to build Silver Oak without cutting a single natural tree from the site. The family is known for the warm hospitality and social work in the local community and you will have a true experience of being with nature to unwind from your daily busy life. Facilities include swimming pool, 24 hours hot water, Nature Gym, TT and badminton court, Open party hall, barbeque and fire place ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Silveroaks Resort, Coorg Hotel Ponnampet
The SilverOaks Resort, Coorg Ponnampet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing