We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$198
View deal
Priceline
Booking.com
$198
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com$198
eDreams$198
FindHotel$198
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
247
74
15
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
247
74
15
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee estate the cottages private garden british era the main lodge huge bathroom estate manager perch special mention guided walk fixed menu filter coffee south indian board games sight seeing mini theatre hustle bustle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2021

Really comfortable cottages. Awesome plantation trail with Mr. Sampath( very cordial person) on day 1. Reason for our so remarkable stay is Mr. Binu Rajendra who is the Estate Manager but he is based in Chennai. He ensured our stay is so comfortable and co ordinated all the aspects of our stay. A big thanks to him to make our stay unforgettable. Customer service at its best is Binu. Property is situated in an awesome location and the morning sun rise is not to be missed as recommended by Mr. Binu. We all thoroughly enjoyed the stay and we will come back again!!!

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mikebosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2021

The property seems to be frozen in time, just takes you back to the British era..dont expect this as a five star property like taj tamara orange county, but you can expect it as a five star family run home stay .. the rooms are very spacious with just everything you need, i didn’t expect a tv in such an amazing property amidst coffee plantation, but trust me we didn’t watch there was soo much more to experience here, everyroom comes with a small garden you could sit in your room and watch the birds butterfly outside its like having a bedroom and a drawing room in one place . Westayed for 3 days and still we fell short on time ..
we loved the food, usually the menus are set but sometimes you can order ala cart too..
the staff is always there to help you ,special mention to mubarak at front desk very helpful and always ready with a solution..
the bathrooms are soo big with bath tub ,jacuzzi ( in only two rooms you can ask for one such room) and foot bath tub .. the whole experience is just amazing..
Remember you are in to the wild amongst the plantation which just looks like tropical rainforest , there could be insects or lizards in your room ( though the housekeeping always checks and keeps it clean) u might spot reptiles aswell but thats how it is suppose to be ..
the evening guided walk in the coffee plantation was an experience to experience,you can see how coffee cardamom black pepper grows .. its highly recommended..
The food is very delicious dont spend your time and money to eat outside , you will love it here ..
It was my birthday and it was really made special by the whole family at kent estate .. honestly you will never feel like leaving .. so dont give it a second thought just go with this place ..

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank shivangi_sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2021

We stayed in Old Kent estates for 2 nights, we were upgraded to a Jacuzzi cottage.The reception is located in an old British bungalow, the welcome at the reception by Mr.Mubarak , who explained about the estate and activities & sight seeing in Coorg.

Early morning don't miss to wake up early and hear the sound of local birds (simply amazing) a vast variety of birds and preserved by the estate management.
Rooms were very spacious and eco friendly. Beds were comfortable with clean sheets.Dont miss their yummy coffee dip which is unique , and sourced from their own estate.
Food had a fixed menu card, and was tasty with friendly services.Breakfast and diner was included in the tariff.They surprised us with a small cake for our anniversary.

My special thanks to the owner of the estate Mr.Sadat Sathak who took us around the estate and explained about the history of the estate.This estate has a very good history , and is run by the family for the 4th generation.Dont miss taking a walk to their coffee pulping / drying area, and the walk to the small lake and "BEAR TREE"(a 500 yr old huge tree ).

Overall an amazing stay and a definitely worth the visit.

Room tip: jacuzzi room
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JAZZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2021

The access roads to the property are very bad, actually roads do not exist. There are huge stones which can damage the car chassis. The property owners do not mention about the bad road and the risk involved to the guests. The roads are also very narrow with no room for another tiny vehicle to pass through. So please think before booking a room at Old Kent. The food is also bad and abnormally over priced. There is no justification for the pricing of the rooms. They do have a home theatre, but not in working conditions. The WC is not fixed/cemented to either the floor or wall and on flushing the water leaks out of the WC.

Room tip: Access roads are very bad and property overpriced.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mshankars2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2021

Old Kent is one of those resorts which makes us feel at home. We visited there last week with my friends. We really had a good time there.
Firstly I would like to mention the service was really good Mr. Mubarak, Mr. Sampath Mr. Akhil and Mr. Mohan were helpful and patient with us. The food there was amazing, we had english breakfast everyday and south indian for lunch and we asked for chinese/italian for dinner. Everything was nice. The chef made everything exactly as we expected. My only suggestion would be to add another chef for continental and other cuisines. Also they helped us arrange a birthday surprise without any hassle.
Mr. Sampath took us for a plantation walk on our last day. It was an awesome experience. We went through the woods and explored many things there.
The rooms were classy and comfortable. And the bathroom space was big. After a long walk, the foot spa was a great relief. The ambience was lovely.
Loved everything there and had a great time with my friends. Thankyou for making our stay a memorable one.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank MariyamS1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews