We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
eDreams
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 6 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
247
74
15
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
247
74
15
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee estate the cottages private garden british era the main lodge huge bathroom estate manager perch special mention guided walk fixed menu filter coffee south indian board games sight seeing mini theatre hustle bustle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2020

Oh my gosh, where do I start? Let’s just start at the advertising that’s listed here on trip advisor...allergen free room....LOL so full of mildew and black mold. Air conditioning..... that didn’t work. Wifi.... haha if you wanted to use a lil flip phones hot spot in lobby. Food was mediocre at best. What a waste of money. Coorg is SO BEAUTIFUL... there are so many other better places to stay than this place.

Room tip: Choose a different hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tabhutch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asim Azeez, General Manager at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and to devote your valuable time reviewing us.

Although we appreciate constructive criticism and welcome suggestions for improvement, we do not like facts to be twisted and exaggerated to the extent of falsification.

Allow me to refresh the turn of events that transpired. You had booked two cottages for three nights, the first night was all cozy and comfortable but wanted to cancel the second and third night. Since you had booked through a travel portal, last minute refund and cancellation was not possible which was communicated to you.

After this you started having service issues with everything, I personally spoke to you on the phone, we offered to change your room after you complained of alleged mold in the room which was refused. We offered to send food to your room from our round the clock menu which was again refused even though we offered it on the house.

I came across you at least thrice after this and each time I wished you and you acknowledged, neither me nor any of my colleagues avoided you,

We tried our utmost to make your stay an enjoyable experience, but you refused to be accommodated in any way for reasons best known to you.

At least we agree on one thing, Leave honest reviews, like mentioned earlier we appreciate honest reviews. We refuse to be cowed down by people who misuse a honest platform to discredit us because they didn't have their way.


Regards,

Asim Azeez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2020 via mobile

Hate leaving a negative review.

Pros:
Beautiful scenery
Nice people/staff
Nature

Cons:
Where do I begin? I’m honestly baffled by the positive reviews. I can see how this place would have been amazing years ago? But it isn’t anymore. The family that runs it are sweet, is that why it has positive reviews?? I can’t understand it.

1. Mild and mildew throughout the guest areas, lodge, and cottages. We stayed in tow cottages. Couldn’t stop having allergic reactions to it. Unbearable. We asked to leave a day early and to get refund but they wouldn’t budge.

2. Food was mediocre. It wasn’t bad. But it certainly wasn’t good. There are no options for any other food nearby. Room service items were never available. Every single time we called. Food was disappointing and at times we just skipped. Dinner was served at 8, a bit too late for most of us. We tried to order (and pay extra) from room service so we could eat at 6. However nothing we ordered was available. Nothing. Four different items.

3. Movie room had comfortable seats. No Ac so hot and sticky and the mold level was the worst I’ve ever experienced. Plus— they had a selection of over 200 dvds. But — none of them worked. Signs up that said the integrity of the DVD was compromised. . So there were about 8-10 dvds that kids could watch. In the “good shelf”. However— none of those worked. Pool table, cue sticks, and pool green were also torn and falling apart.

4. Manager, Mr Aziz did nothing to help or even speak to us when we reported the issues. Avoided us afterwards.

5. Water pressure in showers, tubs, and sinks felt like a backwoods experience. Certainly not worth the money we paid.

6. Felt cheated by Old Kent Estates. Beautiful location. Staff and family sweet but it takes more than that to get repeat customers and good reviews.

7. People — leave honest reviews. The rest of us are counting on you.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Kirutam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asim Azeez, General Manager at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and to devote your valuable time reviewing us.


Although we appreciate constructive criticism and welcome suggestions for improvement, we do not like facts to be twisted and exaggerated to the extent of falsification.

Allow me to refresh the turn of events that transpired. You had booked two cottages for three nights, the first night was all cozy and comfortable but wanted to cancel the second and third night. Since you had booked through a travel portal, last minute refund and cancellation was not possible which was communicated to you.

After this you started having service issues with everything, I personally spoke to you on the phone, we offered to change your room after you complained of alleged mold in the room which was refused. We offered to send food to your room from our round the clock menu which was again refused even though we offered it on the house.

I came across you at least thrice after this and each time I wished you and you acknowledged, neither me nor any of my colleagues avoided you,

We tried our utmost to make your stay an enjoyable experience, but you refused to be accommodated in any way for reasons best known to you.

At least we agree on one thing, Leave honest reviews, like mentioned earlier we appreciate honest reviews. We refuse to be cowed down by people who misuse a honest platform to discredit us because they didn't have their way.


Regards,


Asim Azeez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2020

We stayed for 2 nights. THe best part is its located in a 200 acre estate and one of the staff takes you for a 1.5 hour walk in the evenings through the estate. The estate is beautiful. This is ideal if you are looking to get away from the city and chill, take walks and do nothing else.
The food is awesome.
It s a very quiet place. With inidvidual separate cottage time rooms. we did not have mobile or data connectivity in the rooms, only in hte reception.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Sangeetathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asim Azeez, General Manager at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and to devote your valuable time reviewing us. We are humbled by your appreciation of our services. Your feedback plays an essential part in evaluating our standards and a great moral booster to our team.

We eagerly await to welcome you on your next visit.

Regards,

Asim Azeez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2019

The estate is magnificent. We actually cancelled one day's sight-seeing plans in favour of just exploring the trails, listening to birds sing, and trying to identify the local flora. There's so much to explore and discover! It was great fun and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The Spa experience was great, and the coffee was brilliant.

It felt like we'd tripped into the Colonial Era, with beautiful landscapes, an enthralling view, and cosy cottages clutched in nature's embrace. Our cottage was spacious, the aperfect blend of antiquated charm and modern luxury.

The air was fresh and crisp, far removed from the dust and pollution of the city that we were accustomed to.

It was an amazing experience. We would love to stay at Old Kent again!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ramyakpshenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asim Azeez, General Manager at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and to devote your valuable time reviewing us. We are humbled by your appreciation of our services. Your feedback plays an essential part in evaluating our standards and a great moral booster to our team.

We eagerly await to welcome you on your next visit.

Regards,

Asim Azeez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2019 via mobile

Went there with my wife for a mini get away for 3 days. It was a truly an electronic free zone. The poor mobile network made it even better. They would even lock up your gadgets if you asked. The views and the walks were excellent. Their home brew coffee is a must along with their cozy ambiance. We had taken the Jacuzzi room. It was extremely relaxing, though it took a while to fill up. Their staffs was always available to help us.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank muwajjidht
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asim Azeez, General Manager at Old Kent Estates, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and to devote your valuable time reviewing us. We are humbled by your appreciation of our services. Your feedback plays an essential part in evaluating our standards and a great moral booster to our team.

We eagerly await to welcome you on your next visit.

Regards,

Asim Azeez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews