We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
71
23
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
23
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee plantation beautiful pool yummy food lazy weekend perfect weekend blissful stay breakfast and dinner antique furniture chicken lollipops pool side serene atmosphere comfortable rooms personal touch local sightseeing the cottages estate hosts
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We had been planning to visit Coorg for a long time and we finally implemented it in June 2016. We drove down from Bangalore and it was a pleasant drive, beautiful road, lush green vegetation as we were nearing Coorg. The location of the estate is right in the midst of thick coffee plantations. The drive into the estate area from the main highway was thrilling as we drove through the thick plantations on both sides. The homestay has been so thoughtfully designed with so much attention to detail, every item handpicked as per the owners (an elderly uncle and aunt) who stay in their own cottage a few yards away. The cottage has 4 very spacious bedrooms with comfortable beds and spacious bathrooms, a big living room with comfortable couches, and a fire place. Each bedroom has an upper deck connected by a wooden stairway from inside, with a mattress to accommodate additional people. A nice open sit-out just to sit and enjoy the greenery all around, while enjoying a nice hot beverage. We had an attendant provided who was so helpful, serving us tea and snacks and delicious breakfast prepared by the owner. The kitchen is an open kitchen with all facilities from microwave oven, dishwasher, fridge, electric kettle and a hob. A dining table to easily accommodate 6 people is in the kitchen area. There are books stacked for the avid readers. There is a well maintained swimming pool in the estate. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and look forward to visiting again the next summer.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VijayD486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

The Kedakal Estate is the ideal place to go if you want to get away from the noise and bustle of city life. And if you want to cut off from the world and just 'chill'.

Three school friends and I had a wonderful 15-year mini-reunion and wanted a place in which to unwind and catch up. Kedakal was perfect for this.

Here's what I loved:

LOCATION
*Isolated, in the middle of a lush coffee estate. So, there's a stillness that lets your soul unwind
*Lots of trails to walk and immerse yourself in nature.
*There's a resort nearby which serves great coffee!

THE VILLA
*Spacious and well planned. There were 4 of us, and not once did we feel cramped. There's place to sit together when you're in the mood, and many nooks to retreat to when you want to be by yourself.
*Very clean. The caretaker does a great job keeping things in order.
*Luxurious. The bathrooms especially are a work of art.
*Great interior design. A tasteful selection of furniture and decor.

FACILITIES
*Clean, private swimming pool. Walking distance from the villa.
*Caretaker who cleans the villa and will pick up food/drinks from town (if you decide to order in).
*Homemade YUMMY dinner if you inform the proprietors in advance.

THE PROPRIETORS
*Very friendly but will give you all the privacy you need.
*They stay in a small cottage nearby, so it's easy to contact them if you need to (although we didn't need to).

Definitely somewhere I'll visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tubbei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

so why does a guy with a bad case of wanderlust go back to a homestay he ahs visited before?
is the search for a memory of a wonderful previous stay so fulfilling?
does the memory of aunty's food bring one back again and again for an encore?
did the serene atmosphere and gracious hospitality beckon the city weary soul like the sirens from the classics?
does the verdant forest and the long winding drive invite three friends facing their mid life crises to shed their baggage?
does the solitude entice three childhood friends to connect with each others thought processes?
why does one go back again to the same place...?

you decide

on my part , i was only too happy to partake a few meals at the homestay where they treated me and two friends from my childhood with utmost love and affection, leaving us alone when we wanted so and joining in the conversation when our debates grew louder...
it has been a perfect weekend with friends.
i urge the weary and urbane to seek their inner peace.. it is bound in abandon at kedakkal

Room Tip: all rooms are great
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustNagpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Every part o f this stay is splendid!
The room is cozy, well decorated, with high quality upholstery, antique furniture, greenery and calm all around, marvelous crockery, good amenities, excellent ambience.
The hosts are so sweet, courteous, accommodating and loved their hospitality. Aunty's yummy food is better than any restaurant in coorg or rather the whole of Karnataka!!
This is not just a stay but an experience in itself. Where one wants to return home as fast as possible so one can enjoy the coffee in the sit out balcony to the sound of nature.
Pool side breakfast and dinner and lots of fresh air greenery and beauty all around.
Swing in the balcony with pink flowers all around you~! Just awesome!I
Definately a must to experience.
10 km away from main city but worth the extra money or time for a real relaxing and wonderful holiday experience!

Room Tip: Every corner of this estate stay is beautiful!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ankitamalhotra22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Kedakal Estate is a beautiful, authentic homestay situated in the midst of a coffee plantation. A kilometer off the main highway, this homestay is serene, peaceful, and the perfect place to relax and unwind. The traditional Coorgi and Keralan food, the comfortable rooms, the secluded location, and the pool all contribute to making this a very enjoyable place to stay.

The booking process was very smooth, and we appreciated the prompt and informative responses. Upon arrival we were greeted by the family who have lived on the estate for generations, and settled into our room above the garage. Our room (called the "Private Villa") was a stand-alone building, with a balcony, sitting area, and attached bathroom. It was sunlit, bright, and very comfortable.

The highlight of the stay was the food cooked by Auntie. We had delicious non-veg curries, and by the third day were making sure to eat a light lunch to leave more room for this delectable food.

We also thoroughly enjoyed walking around the estate, most specifically the walk to the waterfalls. Highly recommend to anyone who stays at Kedakal.

This homestay serves outstanding breakfast and dinner, and for lunch they are able to arrange delivery from a restaurant. The first day, we walked to a nearby resort for lunch, however that was quite far. In retrospect, we wish we had ordered food in on both days so we could enjoy staying at Kedakal itself as opposed to wandering outside.

We would avidly recommend Kedakal to anyone who wants to go to Coorg. For those looking for a quiet, peaceful stay with a personal touch, this is the place to stay.

Thank you again for such a beautiful stay, and thank you for sharing your beautiful home and estate with us!

Room Tip: The "private villa" is above the garage, and is a standalone building. It is quite near the estate owner's home.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews