We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
71
23
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
23
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee plantation beautiful pool yummy food lazy weekend perfect weekend blissful stay breakfast and dinner antique furniture chicken lollipops pool side serene atmosphere comfortable rooms personal touch local sightseeing the cottages estate hosts
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Kedakal Estate is a beautiful, authentic homestay situated in the midst of a coffee plantation. A kilometer off the main highway, this homestay is serene, peaceful, and the perfect place to relax and unwind. The traditional Coorgi and Keralan food, the comfortable rooms, the secluded location, and the pool all contribute to making this a very enjoyable place to stay.

The booking process was very smooth, and we appreciated the prompt and informative responses. Upon arrival we were greeted by the family who have lived on the estate for generations, and settled into our room above the garage. Our room (called the "Private Villa") was a stand-alone building, with a balcony, sitting area, and attached bathroom. It was sunlit, bright, and very comfortable.

The highlight of the stay was the food cooked by Auntie. We had delicious non-veg curries, and by the third day were making sure to eat a light lunch to leave more room for this delectable food.

We also thoroughly enjoyed walking around the estate, most specifically the walk to the waterfalls. Highly recommend to anyone who stays at Kedakal.

This homestay serves outstanding breakfast and dinner, and for lunch they are able to arrange delivery from a restaurant. The first day, we walked to a nearby resort for lunch, however that was quite far. In retrospect, we wish we had ordered food in on both days so we could enjoy staying at Kedakal itself as opposed to wandering outside.

We would avidly recommend Kedakal to anyone who wants to go to Coorg. For those looking for a quiet, peaceful stay with a personal touch, this is the place to stay.

Thank you again for such a beautiful stay, and thank you for sharing your beautiful home and estate with us!

Room Tip: The "private villa" is above the garage, and is a standalone building. It is quite near the estate owner's home.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

The estate is a awesome homestay with cozy rooms. The yummy lip smacking food, the best one we have ever had and the warm hospitality are the best part of the stay. The estate has lot of beautiful collectibles on display and many sit outs around the room to sit, unplug oneself and relax. In all, one of the most best homestay experience we have ever had.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shalini N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Have been meaning to write the review from the time we left the place.
The cottage or bungalow that we were put up in was done up amazingly well, comparable to any of the 5 star hotels. Superbly clean rooms and toilets. Thought has gone into each item placed there... still remember the sign in the kitchen saying something like 'Husbands/Men are allowed to cook and clean' :)
Away from the maddening crowd perfect place to just get away from it all and do nothing, had gone in the monsoons and it was so pretty. Was recommended by a friend, went with expectations but was blown away by the place and most of all the food prepared by aunty ... totally lip smacking. Food seems a bit expensive @500 per head but worth it ... the quantity & the quality ..Thank you so much to everyone there specially big shout out to Sandeep & Aunty.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jestinmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Kedakal Estate is a gorgeous home stay amidst the coffee estate in an excellent location. We were a bunch of friends with toddlers and kids who had an amazing stay. The warm welcome and delicious food by the hosts,the Divakars makes us feel at home. The mangalorean style cottage takes us to a different era altogether and the handpicked artifacts adds to the charm of a boutique home stay. The courtyard which opens up to a beautiful estate view is the best place for kids to play and elders to sit, chat, and enjoy a perfect drink. Best part of our stay was that men enjoyed cooking in the beautiful kitchen, while the women sat around the fire place sipping some wine while letting the kids free. We were in complete awe with the overall experience which included the beautiful plantation view, the dip in the pool, a walk inside the estate, the perfectly clean and cozy rooms, and last but not the least the yummiest food makes you wanting to stay more. One day was just not enough!!!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DivyaVin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We visited Kedakal Estate in January and occupied the entire cottage as we were 7 of us with kids . The cottage is lovely, comfortable and beautifully done up, with spacious rooms and gorgeous bathrooms (the rooms on the upper level are larger with lofts perfect for kids to sack in) and full of many little touches that we loved. It is close enough to the main house (which is also a beauty) yet completely private with a self sufficient kitchen (overlooks the coffee plantation) , an entertainment room (without the telly - which was great for us) and a courtyard that overlooks the estate.

Dinners (on order) and breakfast are provided by the family and I would highly recommend getting dinners from aunty ! The food was a delight !. Homey and fantastic and a great hit with the entire family - from the oldest to the youngest ! Needless to say we ate more than we should've . The hosts - Sandip and aunty, were warm, friendly, v.hospitable and we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable . The caretaker was very helpful too and available whenever we needed him.

This is just the kind of holiday that the doctor recommends every once-in-a-while. It was the perfect place for all of us to unplug, relax and have a totally chilled out time. Thank you Kedakal for a very special holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WanderersInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews