We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place wasted by bad maintenance and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coorg County Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Suntikoppa B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good place wasted by bad maintenance and food”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I came across this place while looking for a resort to stay at for an overnight team outing. Zeroed on the place for the prices they offered were around our budget allocation.

The "in-charge" manager was quite helpful through the booking process, allowing us for an early check-in, it is after the check-in that the horrors started, the rooms were unkempt, they offer different types of cottages and rooms, but the story was the same everywhere.

The curtains and bedsheets were dirty with several spots, the rooms had spiders and webs almost in every corner you could find, under the bed-side lamps, in the bathroom near the flush or the hand-wash. The bathroom fittings were shabby too, with leaking pipes and non functional geyser in at least one room.

Coming to the food offered on the resort, their one and only saving grace is the tea and coffee, apart from that the food was worthy of trash can, every item on the menu was as bad as it could get, paneer and chicken specially were non edible. The staff they have is untrained for the catering part for sure.

Some thing as minor as a Table Tennis bat was not good. they have all of 2-3 items for a Gym and again not in proper working condition.

To Summarize:
Things that I liked about this place:
1. Location, very near to Nisarga Dham
2. The landscaping, though a couple of water bodies are non functional but overall they have done a good job of keeping the place green and beautiful. the pool was good too.
3. The "in-charge" manager Sanju, he is new but puts in an effort, him not being aware of a few things did cause a big confusion and almost spoiled my trip, but there is not much he could have done anyway.

Things that I disliked about the place:
1. Maintenance of the rooms: All rooms need proper regular cleaning, being placed in a lot of greenery may mean that things like spiders creep in, but cleaning will certainly keep a check.
2. Food: They need an overhaul on this one, food is below average and totally spoils the experience.

Would I go there again, maybe, but if they are willing to take care of maintenance and food.

Room Tip: Go for palace villa only, standard rooms are just not worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anord1naryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    23
    14
    7
    21
See reviews for
41
22
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Stayed for 3 nights... the resort had good cottages, spacious, clean rooms and bathrooms..

the beds were very big and comfortable.. dont remember about the internet facility..parking for cars available though the approach road is a bit narrow

the manager was very good and helpful in arranging stuff/guides..

Had a play area with darts, pool, tt chess etc for kids as well as adults and there is very little you can do in coorg after sunset..

swimming pool was great as well though on one day when swimming in evening the staff started cleaning around it when we were in.. We asked them not to as dirty water was splashed into the pool and they stopped..such small things need to be taken care off.. also the breakfast was great though dont expect much from dinner buffet's

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Atulwalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

As i enter in hotel the view and the atmospier of nature is osame unfargetable picture , room where i stay is excellant and the view from there full day spend in room and watch the clouds going and coming from top view
Excellant and superbe,
as i am not writer so may i can not write that much what i see and feel the real nature.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbmspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visakhapatnam (Vizag), India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

The place is located slightly away from the main city of Madikere which made it essential to have some kind of personal transport available. Since we were travelling by own car, it didnt make much of a difference. Locating it was quite simple with adequate boards along the road.

The room provided was comfortable and even though, initially the absence of air conditioning appeared strange, later on, we realised that the weather was such that none was required. The nights were really cool and the blankets provided were eagerly utilised. The hotel itself has a wonderful lawn which helped in allowing my children to play around. It also had a small lake within the location which appeared nice and romantic.

Service was quiet and comfortable and the hotel staff were very helpful in all aspects. Connectivity is an issue with major mobile networks simply not having coverage but then considering it was a getaway break, I think it was more than welcome.

The location and facilities were good. The restaurant however did not cater much except for a standard thali which had to be pre-ordered. Else no food was available which is quite a problem considering that the main city is quite a distance. Food quality too is just about average and nothing much to boast about.

Overall, the stay is like a welcome break from the hustle bustle of city life and indeed worth the stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rahul74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

our experience at coorg county was excellent...geoffrey the manager and his team made our stay very comfortable...food was good though coorgi food was diffiicult to find....!indoor games ware well maintained....it was a perfect location to relax in.......although the rooms did not satisfy the price we paid.....overall thumbsup

.....................Dr. Nayak and family

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank varungg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suntikoppa
4.3 km away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
6.1 km away
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
#2 of 2 in Suntikoppa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.5 km away
Paddington Resort & Spa
Paddington Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Somvarpet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Orange County, Coorg
Orange County, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
11.5 km away
Parampara Resort & Spa, Coorg
19.9 km away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 22 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coorg County Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coorg County Resort

Property: Coorg County Resort
Address: 7th Hoskote ,Suntikoppa , Coorg, Suntikoppa 571237, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Coorg > Suntikoppa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Suntikoppa
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,844 - ₹ 6,787
Hotel Class:3 star — Coorg County Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Yatra and Agoda so you can book your Coorg County Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coorg County Hotel Suntikoppa
Coorg County Resort Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing