We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$ 97
Agoda.comUS$ 97
TripadvisorUS$ 97
FindHotel
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
44
41
13
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
44
41
13
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee plantation the cottages wilderness lodge friendly dogs staff makes true nature lovers wild dogs amazing experience visit this place excellent food icing on the cake peaceful stay bird watching experience nature stay away safari elephants
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2020

Very calm and nice place. In the middle of coffee estate. Fantastic location for bird watching with excellent support from in-house Naturalist. Enjoyed our stay listening to bird sounds and greenery around.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank HandeAjith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2020 via mobile

A short distance from Nagarahole's Kutta gate is Machaan Wilderness Lodge. It is nested within a 20 acre coffee plantation with a lot of pristine tree cover. There are only a few log cabins and cottages with a separate dining facility. This will set the tone for a secluded lodge with very few people around. This allows for a fantastic nature setting with over a hundred species of birds, reptiles and other wildlife all around you. Avid birders and nature lovers can call this their haven. With a very efficient service and some excellent food, this can be a getaway that you so longed.

Note...do not expect TV, recreation, family parks, children areas or wi-fi. This facility is designed for true nature lovers!

I am happy to have had the opportunity to visit this place, thanks to the Baanaadi birding workshop organized by Pikalara.

This is a 10/10 experience!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank HrishiRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2020

Food, accommodation and staff courtesy was very nice, but accessibility was very poor, especially when coming down the stair case and going to the rooms. Should definitely take more precautions against rains. Was stuck in my room for 2 days as there was no proper way for me to get out of the resort and my car was also stuck in the slush. The staircase has huge gaps in the middle with all grass and stuff growing out of it and there is no proper way to get down and to come up. It won't cost much to make the stairs proper. We weren't even able to sit outside as there was no proper covering and protection from the rain and when we would walk from the reception to the rooms, we had to walk through all that slush in the rain. Please make the pathways proper. My grandmother missed slipping twice.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank iamhsk08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team Machaan, Guest Services / Front Office at Machaan Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2020

Dear Guest,

At the outset would like to thank you for taking time to write your feedback in TripAdvisor about your visit to Machaan Wilderness Lodge in Nagarahole

Thank you for your feedback on staff hospitality and food we are glad to note you enjoyed the same.

We understand that due to the rains you may not have been able to enjoy your stay.
Monsoon Season is usually like this.

We also have an indoor space at the main bungalow it has a fire place where families can sit and enjoy an evening together.
On rainy days a lot of families have enjoyed time in front of the fireplace playing some board games, chatting, gosspiing and just catching up. We regret you were not able to enjoy this space.

Our Dining area is a nice top covered space viz open on 3 sides. Here one can enjoy a 360 degree view of the coffee estate and the abundance of nature. We encourage all our guests to come and hang out there.

We regret we do not offer room service as disposal of waste becomes an issue and since we are in such close proximity to the forest F&B is only allowed at the main lounge or the restaurant.

We have noted your feedback regarding the pathway and are working on getting it in place.

Thank you once again for your time and we regret you were not able to enjoy the experience of living on a coffee estate adjacent to Nagarhole National Park. But we do hope to have you back once the Monsoons are over to truly enjoy this experience.

Regards
Team Machaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Machaan Resort. The safaris were wonderful, the location beautiful, the cottages delightful and the staff were attentive and pleasant. But the food, oh the food was superb, some of the best we have enjoyed in India. A special delight was the lack of Wi-fi. Yes we really did enjoy having a few days free of the Internet; it left us free to enjoy the birds, the wonderful scent of the coffee flowers,the special meals and the Kingfisher beer. Seeing a tiger, a leopard, a sloth bear and wild dogs on our safaris was the icing on the cake!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank EllieThorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniqueStays_Getaways, Owner at Machaan Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Trip Advisor, regarding your stay at the Machaan Wilderness Lodge, Nagarhole, which is an ideal base for nature lovers who want to go on a Jungle safari into Nagarhole National Park and Tiger Reserve.

WiFi connectivity is limited at our Lodge, and we are glad that you enjoyed your moments in the jungle where you could switch off completely and enjoy yourself in the lap of nature listening to bird songs, we are a retreat like setting and maintaining the ecological balance is very important to us and reviews like yours do help others decide whether to come stay with us or not. A true nature lover would really appreciate what we offer.

You are also one of our lucky few visitors who saw a Tiger so that is just great ! It truly is a magnificent sight. The animal spotting season is going to be on till end of May and we hope others too get a chance to enjoy what you did. Weekdays are the best as the hustle and bustle is a little less.

Thank you for writing about the food - Our Chef Ravi specialises in Malnad cuisine and we are glad to note you enjoyed the food we serve.

Thank you once again for your kind words we will surely share the same with our staff & we look forward to have you back with us soon.

Regards
Team Machaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020 via mobile

It's not going to be perfect for everyone, but for me, it came very close...
If you enjoy nightlife and noise, please stay away. If you enjoy being off grid, secluded in a (fairly) clean, friendly paradise, with excellent food, cooked especially for you, then this is the place to be. Throw in the chance of seeing elephant, deer by the bucket load, monkeys, guar (look it up), wild pig, mongoose, and even, (tiny chance!) tiger - well, what's not to like?

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank IanGBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UniqueStays_Getaways, Owner at Machaan Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2020

Dear Guest,

At the outset would like to thank you for taking time out to write your feedback in TripAdvisor about your visit to Machaan Wilderness Lodge – Nagarahole

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in the truest sense of what we offer - being off-grid, secluded and in the environment amongst animals. We strive to maintain the ecological balance and are constantly training our staff to be sensitised to the same.

Your valued comments are much appreciated it is our endeavour to retain its rustic nature as much as we can and due to our close proximity to the jungle we do face many challenges to offer this kind of a getaway to nature lovers.

We are glad to note you enjoyed being in the middle of the jungle and thank you for pointing out that we are a fuss free & no-frills lodge in close proximity to the jungle and are so glad you spotted so many animals. Weekdays are always better in the jungle !

We are glad to note you enjoyed the food our Chef Ravi specialises in Malnad food we will share your comments with him.

We will be extremely pleased to welcome you back once again

We would also like to share here that we have another property - Machaan Plantation Resort at Sakleshpur and we do hope you can experience our hospitality over there as well.

Regards
Team Machaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews