We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience worth a million praises”
Review of BelHome Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madapura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
BelHome Homestay
Ranked #1 of 3 Madapura B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Awesome hosts. They are thorough professionals but at the same time will take every effort to make your stay a very pleasurable one. I visited Bel Home with parents and they compared the look, feel and quality with the B&Bs of England. Even though we had veg food - it was finger licking (literally i did tht on couple of accassions). If you plan to stay here don't think twice ! and if you plan to stay in Coorg - Don't miss staying in Bel Home.. your experience will be incomplete !! If you still have doubts please feel free to write to me !

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank kshah2823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

Bel home stay is an example for how the home stay should be. It scores perfect 10 for everything, rooms, location, hosts .. etc. You do not have to search for another home stay in Coorg.
Hosts, Vijai and Romolla are so caring, I felt like, we knew each other from long time. They were in touch with us from the time we started from Bangalore and guided us how to reach Bel Home and also guided us in visiting places in Coorg. They were with us during breakfast and dinner talking about their tradition, estate and many things. Food was delicious, you just can't miss it.
We were lucky to see an elephant working in their estate. Vijai took us to a view point(Makkalgudi betta) which is better than Raja Seat.

Thanks you Vijai and Romolla, We will come again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Santhoshbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

----------------------------------------------------------------------
In the words of our daughter (age 6 yrs) ...
the place was nice and the room was cool
1. the flowers were nice in the room excellent
2the dog was nice what a nice place the food was tasty.
3. bellhome looked very beautiful and pretty.
4.the nice cool air was nice in coorg.
thank you Ramolla aunty and Vijay uncle.
wow!!
----------------------------------------------------

We found out about this place from a friend. We wanted to get away from it all, and Belhome definitely fulfilled on that promise. The rooms are in a separate cottage, with an attached verandah - overlooking the estate and the approach road. They are spacious, clean and comfortable.

Be prepared to settle fights among the kids (if any are travelling with you) as to who gets to sit on the planters' chairs, or join the fights for them as well :). A great place to put up your feet and relax - either read a book, or stare out at the greenery (there is plenty of it), hear the birds chirping, cicadas calling out, etc. Or if you cannot sit still, there is plenty of space to walk around the estate, or among the well maintained garden at the house - just be prepared to get your hiking boots (or some good outdoor shoes) along.

The meals were sumptious, delicious and at homely at the same time - defeating any desire to watch our waistlines. Being vegetarians, we found that we had choice, with the variety changing daily.

Our hosts, Ramolla and Vijay took every effort to make us feel at home, taking care to see that our stay was comfortable, and that our little one was looked after. We saw this right from the time we arrived at Belarimotte, when Vijay came down to the main road to pick us up, as the approach road was in a bad condition owing to the monsoons. Vijay and Ramolla were very knowledgable about the Coorgi culture and coffee, and sharing some interesting vignettes. Vijay took us around - to some very scenic viewpoints - including a trail that passes by Kottebetta - 3rd highest peak in Coorg. For the hardy hikers, he will also help to arrange transport to trails of interest. You cannot leave Coorg without buying coffee, spices and home-made jams & jellies. Vijay and Ramolla happily shared with us the right places to buy them in Mercara, and gave us tips on what to watch out for. We came as guests, but left as friends. Thank you Ramolla and Vijay!

The drive to Belarimotte is to put it mildly, very interesting. At Suntikoppa, you leave the well-macadammed SH 88 (Mysore-Madikeri road) and get on to the Madapur road. The 10-15 km winding road is very scenic, taking you past coffee estates on both sides. Traffic density is low, there are very less people, and one was reminded of the passages from 'Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance' :) - my kingdom for a Bullet or a Harley, or an open air Jeep ?? The estate is a further 5 km beyond Madapur, through more winding and narrower roads. The place is remote - about 25 km away from Madikeri, but perfectly secure, and definitely fitted into our idea where we wanted to spend our holiday. A warning - those with tendencies for road sickness should have their medication handy.

What you won't get, and definitely won't miss:
- A Resort - swimming pool, et al. -- Global warming must definitely be getting stronger, if you feel the need to jump into one here
- Internet connectivity, Reliable cell phone connections: Seriously, if you want to get away from it all - leave your laptops, tablets and smartphones behind. Keep a cell phone only for emergency purposes, or for their cameras. If you're an avid star gazer, get your telescope.
- Cable TV / Soap operas: Leave them along with your smartphones. There are no TVs in the rooms.

This is the perfect place for those wanting a holiday at a slow-pace, fresh air, and plenty of quiet.

Room Tip: Both the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KarthikSrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I really enjoyed my time at Bel Home, the hosts Vijai & Ramolla were lovely and it was really interesting chatting to them about their culture etc. The location is great, surrounded by coffee plantations and ideal for walking. It was lovely sitting on the terrace listening to the birds. The food was delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TheWombatTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

In order to experience the acclaimed Coorgi hospitality and cuisine, homestays are advisable in perpetuum. Our forage for a serene and commodious homestay concluded as we ran our eyes over the extensive panegyrics about “Belhome”. Thereafter, we never gave it a second thought. The entire experience from booking till departure from the homestay was extremely ingratiating.
The hosts are welcoming and amiable. Our grudges after experiencing the approach road turned into beatific smiles as we met them. We often spent time in conversing about farming and my confabulation with Mr Vijay’s mother about Coorgi culture and marriages was very enlightening. We were quite impressed by wide and extensive erudition of agronomy of Mr Vijay and his father.
Last but not the least, the delectable Coorgi cuisine which they dished up, should not be consigned to oblivion. The taste still lingers in our palates.
Sukanya and Indraneel

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sukanya_saha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to BelHome Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BelHome Homestay

Address: Bellarimotte Estate, Madapura Post, Madapura 571 251, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Coorg > Madapura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Madapura
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belhome is situated in a coffee plantation and is run by the owners of the plantation.The food that is served from the Coorg Cuisine and is prepared from locally procured products.NO electronic entertainment [TV]is provided as the guests are expected to explore the outdoors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
BelHome Homestay Coorg/Madapura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing