We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In search of Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnolia Resort Coorg
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Virajpet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Experience was better than what I expected. The location is serene & awesomely calm & beautiful in the lap of nature. If you the one who expects sheen & polish on everything this is not the place for you but if living close to nature in wilderness, tranquil ambiance with a rustic feel excites you then this is the place. The people here including the house maids are very warm & generous and always with a smile on their face to serve. I guarantee Mr. Praveen, the Manager & Mr. Mani, the housekeeping in-charge will make you feel at home. Added to all this is charm of the the 80 acre plantation, a beautiful man made lake & a natural lake within the estate. Overall a great getaway.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank traveller123503702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laxmi S, Manager at Magnolia Resort Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

We appreciate feedback from all our guests. It helps us make improvements to our facility and most importantly we are listening to your suggestions. So please keep the comments coming, both good, fair and not so good.

We realize that people are all different and are looking for different things in a holiday. Some come to Magnolia for the tranquility as noted in the above feedback, some for the sightseeing, others just to spend quality time with the family. We at Magnolia strive to meets everybody's expectations and sometimes we do fall short, so we do apologize for that.

Since Magnolia is located close to the ghats and borders abundant forests it is natural to have very heavy rainfall during the monsoon months of July August and September. So people booking during this time should be aware of the changing weather patterns and should cross check with our staff. In case of heavy rains we do offer a new holiday schedule to guests who prefer not to visit during the rains.

Please be aware we have a host of wildlife in the form of insects, butterflies, African moths, birds, wild hare, etc so if you are comfortable around nature Magnolia is the place. We take all precautions to make sure the rooms are wildlife safe and request guests to follow precautions we put out in the rooms.

One of our previous guests unfortunately came across a snake which was not inside the room but outside the cottage. I am sure all of us even in place like Bangalore, or Chennai do experience such events. If only snakes could read we would certainly put up signs banning them from our property, but we at Magnolia like to co exist with nature and maintain the balance.

So do come and visit us, we assure you of a wonderful stay and is you have any questions or concerns do call email us before you visit and we can certainly help you out with some answers.

Warm regards,
Staff at Magnolia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Resort Coorg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

It was a family trip to coorg & when I browsed for resorts,I came across Magnolia, very appealing on the web. So we booked & landed up there last month Aug-14th, to be totally disappointed..As the other reviewer PTJ28 mentioned, it was a nightmare, worse, there would have been a fatal incident,that we narrowly escaped. After seeing the room and fungus infected cupboard n beds,we were sitting in the sit out area,trying to get rooms elsewhere, when suddenly my daughter screamed,seeing a 7 feet long poisonous snake,moving very close to us. After coming out out of that shock,when we confronted the irresponsible manager Praveen,he just rudely said, we can vacate & that he would refund the amount on Aug 16th, But he never, showed up his face,but only over phone he spoke to us,from the time we went thr. We were there hardly for an hour, & all the adventure/ nightmare took place. Thank God,I got it in writing that they have to refund the amount, if not we would not have got the money back. But the management, communicated, literally, to escape from refunding. after a fight/wait for 20 days,they refunded the amount..The walk way from room to restaurent is so bad,that if it rains,& if we are not prepared with raincoat or umbrella,we are drenched,and none to take care....HORRIBLE HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE....HOME STAYS ARE THE BEST IN COORG.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kalpana747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laxmi S, Owner at Magnolia Resort Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

We truly apologize that a guest had to checkout in just a few hours of checking in to our homestay. If our staff were not courteous or polite to guests we have pulled them up for that. Weather is beyond our control and it was unfortunately pouring for a week before their stay and the dampness had creeped into the rooms. We do try our best to keep our guests comfortable and make sure furniture and furnishings are clean and dry but in heavy rainfall regions such as Coorg it can be a challenge. We do warn our guests of unusual rainfall forecasts and give them the choice to cancel out with the option for booking for a different schedule when this happens.

As for wildlife, we are in a region abundant in flora and fauna of all kinds. It is impossible to keep out insects, moths, beetles while making sure that wild hare, elephants, birds, deer visit. It is their home as much as it is ours and we try to maintain harmony leaving nature untouched. The snake mentioned here was outside the cottage in the plantation area. We do our best to make sure that guests are not inconvenienced by unwanted creatures with their rooms. All rooms have nets on the windows and guests are requested to keep their rooms doors closed. It is normal for any of us living on the outskirts of Bangalore or any major city in India to come across snakes and yes it is an unnerving experience but we need to understand that it is also beyond our control especially in an area surrounded by forests. Our apologies to the family which had to undergo this experience.

Unfortunately the manager Mr Praveen was in Bangalore on the day of the visit and was unable to communicate immediately with the guests and this was perceived as rude and arrogant. The staff inspite did their best to work out a solution with the guests. We also made sure the money was refunded, we have no interest in cheating anyone or taking any undue advantage of a situation. We have only opened up our estate so that the beauty of Magnolia can be shared by one and all.

Our homestay is very nature centric and we request guests to make sure that they are indeed looking for a place without any frills and fancies but with sheer natural beauty, peace and quiet before they make a booking. Please call us if you have any questions about weather conditions, road maps, places of interest, or any other queries you may have. We are here to help you have a great holiday and not the opposite.

Regards,
Owner of Magnolia Estates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

A bit of tough and husky journey in the divine nature towards Virajpet late night ended up with a beginning of an excellent welcome at Magnolia Resort one among very few places which marked a memorable trip in my crown of journeys.

Late night resort had managed to wait for us with a positive attitude to see to it that we reached safely all the way through a unknown place as concerned persons were in touch until we reached. A delicious dinner was still hot and served to us with immense pleasure.

A very rare thing that surprised us in a plantation resort was a beautiful 1000 Sq.ft Room, spacious, well maintained, royally furnished was a mixture of modern luxury and heritage feel .

Last but not least myself and my wife we were impressed by the paradise feel somewhere in a plantation area and Mr. Praveen as well as his staff added more colours by there great hospitality service for a desperate traveller from far away who travels to seek peace and difference from day to day busy life.

I appreciate Mr. Praveen - Manager's keenness in taking us for a small ride in his own vehicle through the most beautiful ghats towards a historical bridge belonging to neighbour God's own Country.

I would suggest please do visit for a Heavenly experience and try to avoid via Madikeri to this resort as you can save some time and enjoy nature through Hunsur - Virajpet road from Mysore

Room Tip: prefer Corner rooms are much more into plantation area to enjoy nature
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007Raghav007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

For the records..Virajendrapet is 32 Kms from madikere!..so people who are planning to visit Coorg,kindly keep this fact in mind before going ahead with the bookings.
Our 2 and a half days stay in Coorg @ The magnolia resort-Plantation cottage, was an experience we will never ever forget...it was a dream turned into a nightmare for us
Will start with the pros(since they are few)-
1)The room cleaning staff was cordial and co-operative
2)The surroundings were breathtaking(enveloped with fog and mist)

Cons--
1)No room service..even a basic hotel provides room service,but not magnolia Resort!!..disgusting it was..The stretch from the room to the cafetaria was full of insects\lizards and moths and they expected the residents to visit the cafertaria even for tea\coffeee.Even if someone was ill,they refused to budge.Totally non coperative management.
2)No landline in the rooms and contrary to the promise,no MTS mobile provided to the inmates in order to communicate with the staff.
3)The rooms were HUGE!! just like a dormitory.No amenities provided in the room.Not even a cupboard..they were halls with a small tv and a bed with dirty linens .The furniture was bare and fungus resided on it..The so called resort cant offer fungus infected furniture and damp rooms in the name of rustic and village-feel..this was a not a room in the "lap of nature"..it was a jail.
4)Room dirty with spider webs,lizards and n number and species of insects..room had smell of damp walls and floor had insects droppings..
5)Slow staff..I fail to understand whether the cafetaria and house-keeping staff acted dumb or were actually dumb?The disgusting blank expression on their face whenever we tried to order\complaint wouldv surely given me a heart attack if i had stayed there for one more day.
6)The TV in our room was not working..Instead of replacing it with another TV,the manager tried to force upon us a local 70s model of TV..when we refused,after 5-6 hours and n number of followups, the TV was replaced.Mr Praveen(the manager) dint even visit us or call us to apologize.Is this the role of a manager?to force any half-cooked stuff on the inmates and they run away from the situation when his intervention is required???
7)We reached the hotel at 6 am and the gate was closed,with no trace of the guard.after calling the manager 6-7 times and after a wait for 25 minutes approx,a guard came running from nowhere ..with no sign of apology on his face,he shamelessly smiled and chatted as if nothing happened!!
8)Food was bland and except for "dal fry" ,everything else was inedible.we survived on dal and rice for 2 days.Each and every food item tasted similar and was prepared in chicken gravy(kindly note-we ordered vegetarian items..so veg item in chicken gravy is something really unacceptable!)
9)The rooms and the entire resort is over-priced.The tarrif was more than double the actual price it deserves.This is an average hotel with below average service and room.The person who termed it as a resort should refer the dictinoray first and understand what a resort actually means!!
Overall,a disguting and painful experience..the only memorable time we have of coorg is the time we spent out of this pathetic resort

Room Tip: No good rooms available..so no tip
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PTJ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laxmi S, Manager at Magnolia Resort Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Replying to this review I would like to make a few points.

1. Magnolia is a Homestay but we do have certain policies as far as checking in and out go. If you expect to comein early it is advisable to call our staff and let them know the time you are expected to arrive so we can have the gate opened up for you. If you need a courtesy pick up from the local bus stop you have to let us know as most guests arrive in the own vehicles.

2. For the mis informed, Magnolia is located in Virajpet, South Coorg. Virajpet also happens to be the Taluk head of Coorg. Madikeri is a popular destination but is not the only location in Coorg, Ammathi, Gonikoppal, Suntikoppa, Pollibatta, Virajpet are some of the other popular holiday destinations. All parts of Coorg have their share of natural beauty combined with the greenery of the coffee plantations. FYI Virajpet or Virarajendrapet is named after one of the famous Coorgi kings Shri Virarajendra.

3.Yes we do not have any room service unless due to heavy rains, senior citizens or the ailing. The walk to the dining area is long but then it's a beautiful walk through the plantations and it depends on what you are looking for when you visit Coorg. We do offer morning coffee, tea at the cottages so you can sit in the verandah and enjoy the views while sipping coffee.

4. Yes we have a lot of wildlife which includes lizards, insects, spiders etc but at the same time we also have beautiful and rare species of birds. The lizards, insects are food for birds and they come to the property to enchant you with their beauty while looking for food. At Magnolis we do not use chemical means of pest control as we like to maintain and preserve nature without undue interference. All the windows at the cottages have net on them to keep insects away but if guests do not follow precautions and keep the doors closed they do get in. Unfortunately wildlife have no understanding of our language and signs saying Keep Out are of no use.

5. We cater not only to vegetarians but also to guests who prefer Jain food, so any accusations that we are mixing food is not true. I am a vegetarian myself and I live on the property and eat the same food prepared at the kitchen. So we request guests to specify their food diet preferences when they make their booking or when they check in. We mainly offer local Coorgi cuisine so if you have other expectations please do let us know in advance and we will try to meet your requests.

6. If you are visiting during the monsoons please be aware this is a heavy monsoon region and rain can be very heavy. We do let our guests know in advance if the fore cast is unusually heavy. But do give us a call before you get there and we can update you.

Coorgy is a nature lovers delight and it's for people who want to get away from the concrete jungles our cities have become. So please be realistic about your expectations. Our property is comfortable, warm and beautiful without the shine and gloss of luxury facilities but with a natural beauty unlike any.

Warm regards,
Staff at Magnolia

5.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

-> Climate, surroundings, interior of plantation cottage was awesome. Interior will give you Indian traditional cultural touch,  coffee plantation surroundings of your cottage and nature around you, that makes you feel like heaven. bird sound and fresh air makes you freshen up and relaxed.

-> staff was well mannered and helpful.

-> There was a language barrier we face.

-> Even though restaurant was understaffed (may be because of off-season), the guy in restaurant served very well and took great care of your taste. Food choice is less but food taste and quality is great.

-> Facilities like badminton, cycling as they mentioned in their site, were not available due to some work was undergoing.

-> There is a problem with network coverage, but its good that you would be given one MTS mobile till your stay in resort and you can use that and it has full coverage.

-> Overall it was a great stay, we would like to visit it often :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suketu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virajpet
0.0 km away
Purple Palms Resort & Spa,Coorg
0.0 km away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#3 of 25 in Madikeri
468 reviews
0.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 25 in Madikeri
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
505 reviews
0.0 km away
Ambatty Greens Resort - An Amritara Private Hideaway
0.0 km away
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
#2 of 2 in Suntikoppa
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Resort Coorg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Resort Coorg

Address: Arji Hills | Near Perumbadi Check Post, Virajpet 571218, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Coorg > Virajpet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Virajpet
Price Range: ₹ 7,601 - ₹ 10,394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Estates is a lush green 80 acre coffee estate located at the foothills near Perumbadi, Virajpet. Located in South Coorg it is away from densely populated tourist areas and is an ideal location for an individual looking for some peace, quiet and relaxing holiday away from the hustle and bustle of large cities. The property is 6.5 hours from Bangalore and 1.5 hours from Mysore. The property is maintained as an estate stay with many resort like amenities.A total of 7 cottages built in traditional style with high ceilings, tiled roofs and terracotta flooring adds to the ambience and blends with the natural surroundings. Each of the cottages has a large bath attached with a verandah with views of the plantation. The rooms are large, with double beds and additional single beds on request. Tea/coffee maker with small fridge are part of the room amenities.In addition to the cottages we also have a large plantation bungalow, exclusively built on a hill with awesome views of the state, valley and hills around. With its own private garden area, 4 large bedrooms, dining, 2 living rooms, it is truly an exceptional experience. Great for large groups or families.A 10,000 sft club house with 2 conference rooms, library, TT table, Badminton court and a lot of indoor games is a welcome attraction. Other activities include plantation walks, forest treks- weather permitting, some fishing in our own small lake, bird watching, biking to name a few.A multi cuisine restaurant and a large reception area welcome our guests.Magnolia is a destination for nature lovers who delight in watching an Asian Paradise Catcher, or a monitor lizard, scores of parakeets chirping away, hornbills, wild boar, wild hare and sometimes elephants if you get lucky. Guests who look forward to living in harmony with nature and welcome the giant butterflies and also adjust to the presence of other not so beautiful creations of nature ....your search ends here. If you are looking for a five star resort this is not the place for you. Magnolia is more about the unspoiled beauty of our surroundings and we believe in having it no other way. So please make sure this is the kind of location you are looking for before you book. Feel free to call our staff if you have any questions.Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at Magnolia Estate- Coorg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, ClearTrip and Booking.com so you can book your Magnolia Resort Coorg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Resort Coorg Virajpet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing