We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good for a getaway from the Chaos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Resort Coorg

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Virajpet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magnolia Resort Coorg
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Virajpet
Jamnagar
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good for a getaway from the Chaos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We did lot of research and zeroed in on this resort as the size of the rooms offered were of big size and we found the rooms were of really big, spacious and well furnished. The rooms are located midst the plantation and just below the mountain. The resort is located 4 kms away from the main town virajpet. The food was included as part of the package. Excellent food quality and variety offered by the hotel. However hot water was one of the problems we had faced. As this resort is away from main town, there are no local transport available nearby. We had to depend on the hotel to arrange taxis, which is exorbitantly high. The reason sited is the conditions of the road. The roads are horrible. Had really tough time. It would have been better to have taken taxi from Mysore. As we had travelled from Bangalore to coorg directly by KSRTC bus, we missed this and we ended up paying 7500/- for entire sight seeing. Taxiwalas are found cheating and you have to be careful.
The upsides of this resort are, Big and spacious rooms, excellent food, rooms located close to mountain and in midst of the plantation, very good service and ambience.
The downsides are, Hot water problem, isolated place and hence poor availability of vehicles/ public transport, costly taxis, No swimming pools

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle are not having insect issues compared to the first and last ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kranand_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    25
    10
    2
    8
See reviews for
42
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Our family with two small kids drove down from Bangalore and stayed at this place for 3 nights - the drive itself was a leisurely 5-hour one and hassle free ! We were given a grand welcome and it was unusual to see the owner - Ms laxmi srikanth - itself being present there and receiving us. The check-in formalities was easy and smooth and we were within minutes - in one of the largest / cosiest / cleanest cottages that we have been to in the recent past. The cottage had a large double bed, an additional single bed, an attached bathroom with all accessories, and a seating area for 6 people with a large screen LCD TV. The room also had a large elevated verandah with seating arrangements. The room also had a refrigerator and wardrobes. Though the reception area was a little distance away - and access to room service was easy and quick. The service staff were very helpful and responded to all our queries and concerns. The food was excellent and there was a lot of variety to choose from. They specialise in Pork / fish specialities - which are cooked in traditional spices and flavours. This resort is slightly off virajpet - quite close to the Kerala state border - and is situated in a large area (atleast 5 acres) surrounded by thick natural forests and coffee / cardamom / pepper plantations. There is a lot that one can do around here - the resort staff accompanied us on bird-watching trip within the resort and even arranged for a fishing trip in a small pond inside the resort. They were even willing to cook up all the fish that my kids caught there !! There were also many other amenities provided for - such as chess, carrom, badminton. A simming pool was aslo under cnstruction when we were there. The rooms were absolutely clean and room service / house keeping was available even at about 11:30 pm. The bedspreads, bed linen and towels were clean and soft - almost new. The resort also organised a get toghether for all their guests staying over the weekend - and the programme included a well choreographed clutural / local folklore and dance shows. Every aspect of our stay was pleasant here - except for the fact that this area has a lot of leeches around that one shd constantly look around for. Well, this has nothing to do with the hotel - but the terrain is such, that leeches are quite common here. The staff were very helpful and assisted my kids by showing us a few techniques to stay off from these insects. check out formailites were also smooth, easy and hassle free - and where all credit cards are accepted. We were given a a nice little surprise gift just before returning back to bangalore. We sill surely be back there soon and also reccommend this place to all our friends. Access to some mobile networks can be a bit erratic, but that's a good thing in one way !!

Room Tip: All their cottages are surrounded by coffee plants
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnsroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

I experienced amazing leisure stay in delightful breezy lush green property at Magnolia resort virejpet. Our drive from Bangalore- honsur - virajpet was quite adventerous . Drive in Dense wild life forest was great experience. Road crossing of wild elephant was breathtaking view.
Our resort was spread out in 95 acres and covered with coffee plantation . Our stay was relaxed in mesmerising sounds of birds and breez. We covered forest trekking, fishing , plantation walk and bird watching there.
Hospitality of the staff was very homely and food in resturent was delicious and authentic. Aroma of filtered coffee was superb.
We did not find any peppy evening activity there. Infact there was no music in the resto and bar ambience was totally dull and dark. .

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RomiLeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

We visited Coorg for a friend's wedding in Jan 2011 - there were 3 couples and 4 kids and we booked the Vila Royale - this is a large / spacious bungalow with 4 rooms - thus easily accomodate 4 couples. Done up in the traditional plantation bungalow style.

While we were there for a friend's wedding in Pollibetta (around 30 mins drive) we were able to enjoy the resort too.

Great food, personalised service and hospitality from the owners. Overall great experience right in the middle of a coffee estate.

Only problem was the amount of insects / bugs that came in at night attracted by the lights - part and parcel of holidays like this, but wonder if there is a solution possible

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zia_zaneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virajpet
0.0 km away
Ambatty Greens Resort - An Amritara Private Hideaway
0.0 km away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.0 km away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Orange County, Coorg
Orange County, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
0.0 km away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 20 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 20 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Resort Coorg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Resort Coorg

Property: Magnolia Resort Coorg
Address: Arji Hills | Near Perumbadi Check Post, Virajpet 571218, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Coorg > Virajpet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Virajpet
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,037 - ₹ 14,712
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Estates is a lush green 80 acre coffee estate located at the foothills near Perumbadi, Virajpet. Located in South Coorg it is away from densely populated tourist areas and is an ideal location for an individual looking for some peace, quiet and relaxing holiday away from the hustle and bustle of large cities. The property is 6.5 hours from Bangalore and 1.5 hours from Mysore. The property is maintained as an estate stay with many resort like amenities.A total of 7 cottages built in traditional style with high ceilings, tiled roofs and terracotta flooring adds to the ambience and blends with the natural surroundings. Each of the cottages has a large bath attached with a verandah with views of the plantation. The rooms are large, with double beds and additional single beds on request. Tea/coffee maker with small fridge are part of the room amenities.In addition to the cottages we also have a large plantation bungalow, exclusively built on a hill with awesome views of the state, valley and hills around. With its own private garden area, 4 large bedrooms, dining, 2 living rooms, it is truly an exceptional experience. Great for large groups or families.A 10,000 sft club house with 2 conference rooms, library, TT table, Badminton court and a lot of indoor games is a welcome attraction. Other activities include plantation walks, forest treks- weather permitting, some fishing in our own small lake, bird watching, biking to name a few.A multi cuisine restaurant and a large reception area welcome our guests.Magnolia is a destination for nature lovers who delight in watching an Asian Paradise Catcher, or a monitor lizard, scores of parakeets chirping away, hornbills, wild boar, wild hare and sometimes elephants if you get lucky. Guests who look forward to living in harmony with nature and welcome the giant butterflies and also adjust to the presence of other not so beautiful creations of nature ....your search ends here. If you are looking for a five star resort this is not the place for you. Magnolia is more about the unspoiled beauty of our surroundings and we believe in having it no other way. So please make sure this is the kind of location you are looking for before you book. Feel free to call our staff if you have any questions.Relax, refresh and rejuvenate at Magnolia Estate- Coorg. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia Resort Coorg Virajpet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing