We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turned over - for a Pound!”

Toby Carvery Crown Bromley
Ranked #71 of 457 Restaurants in Bromley
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 13
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Crown. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Bromley’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

On our way home from shopping in Bromley. It was getting too late to cook and we fancied a carvery and a nice bottle of red. Ordered a beer in the bar and asked for the wine list, which was duly provided. Saw a nice bottle for £18.95. Went into the restaurant and had our carvery – very nice. When presented with the bill I noticed that the wine was charged at £19.95. Asked to see the wine list to make sure I had not made an error. The conversation went something like this:

“We don’t have one”.

“Well you had one about half an hour ago because I chose my wine from it.”

“No we don’t have any. We’re waiting for the new ones to come in”

“So what did I choose my wine from, then?”

“It must have been an old one. You shouldn’t have picked it up”

“I didn’t pick it up. It was given to me by your member of staff”

“Well she shouldn't have given it to you. She's a trainee [or some such term]. Anyway, what’s the problem?”

I explained the discrepancy in price.

“Yes. That’s because the prices have gone up”

“Then you should have given me that information when I ordered”

This went on for a few minutes after which I could no longer be bothered to engage with the idiot who called himself the manager as I had a bus to catch. I had thought of writing to the chain’s Head Office. However, since it is owned and operated by Mitchells & Butlers, I decided against it as in my experience they don’t respond to letters or e-mails of complaint. Shame, because the meal was very nice but when you get turned over at the end it somehow takes the shine off it..

Be careful with your bill in here in case you visit whilst they are “between menus”. It was only a quid (of which I am not at all in need) and all the idiotic manager had to do was to apologise and revise the bill. Instead he chose to argue the toss and blame both me and his trainee..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jeffthejudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Crown Bromley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

There was an old menu onsite which was kept behind the bar for reference for the girl behind the bar. The only menu we had which she did not know to pass on to guests.
9/10 of guests have been informed that the menus were unavailable for price reference and unfortunately you managed to get your hands on it.
The manager on duty has informed that you were walking around the restaurant accusing the staff of calling you crazy and using the term “turning you over” is taken in a physical content and as you exited the building, informing other guests not to order anything as they’ll be turned over too. Your partner proceeded to point in his face and you both left shouting.
If you had of approached the manager on duty with a calm manner then I am sure that he would have obliged to make the amendment to the bill to honour the price that you saw.
We appreciate that you saw a different menu to the one on your bill and the manager on duty has noticed about what happened and we will endeavour to ensure such mix up would not happen again.
Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Having visited numerous Toby Carveries in recent times we felt that we were on familiar ground and knew what to expect. How wrong we were. Busy, busy ... it was half term holiday and we had neglected to make a reservation. Notwithstanding this the Shift Manager "Martin" found space to accomodate us his only concern being that, as octogenarians, could we manage the two steps! Waitress service by Kelsie was spontaneous ... attention with a generous smile. Beyond all expectations were the mixture of seasonal vegetables accompanying the four roasts on offer, sweet potatoes, mustard mash and a melange of cabbage, leeks and peas in addition to the plain veggies normally on offer. A thoroughly delightful experience enhanced by the application of the AA Members gold card discount from the bill, an experience we hope to repeat.

1  Thank GeeGee1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Crown Bromley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Cheers GeeGee. Looking forward to the next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

From the receptionist waitress to the chef very polite and friendly. Plenty tasty options could be bit hotter but nice experience very busy so glad we booked in advance table was ready on time well organised no waiting will return

Thank brockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Crown Bromley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you so much. We appreciate your views and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

The food here is always good and service is friendly. It gets really busy and sometimes the Q for food can be long but that’s part and parcel of the type of restaurant.

Thank DaleF587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Crown Bromley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018
Google Translation

Cheers Dale. Well said

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Staff are lovely however I feel it's very rushed
The chefs are quite cold
There could be more meat on the plates as you only get a couple of slices and it's a very busy restaurant

Thank Reviewsinbromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Crown Bromley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your review. we appreciate your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery Crown Bromley also viewed

Beckenham, Greater London
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 
Bromley, Greater London
Bromley, Greater London
 

Been to Toby Carvery Crown Bromley? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing