We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous room and a wonderful breakfast!!”
Review of Bedford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bedford Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Chenies B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I stayed at the bedford arms with a large family group over 2 nights, we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and found the staff and facilities to be exceptional! our rooms were immaculate and beautifully decorated.. For breakfast we found ourselves spoilt for choice!! I would definately come back again!
Chenies is a quaint, well preserved, sleepy village which I adored!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank maldongirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 236 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

had an informal spur of the moment dinner with some friends, and decided on bedford arms , have been there a few times before, so we had an idea what to expect.

the menu was varried, yet still including the british stalwarts such has home made pie, roast meat, and fish and chips,

the starters were all made on the premises , and could pass for a light lunch on their own !

we had the roast of the day , steak, and fish and chips for main, not a frozen chip or veg in sight !!

A good wine list with a good selection of everyday priced wine by the glass or bottle, we had the chardonnay which was chilled to perfection, with our starters and a light merlot with the mains.

we had a little left so i ordered the cheese board for one , which shared between four just about right.

for any of you thinking of going to the local beef eater, havester or other chain for british food, a trip to the bedford arms , shows you can have good quality british food, without having to go to the fat duck etc,

this combination with the picturesque english countryside setting is a hard one even for heston and co to beat

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank don m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Cuddesdon
4514
Reviewed 31 October 2011

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We were staying at Latimer Place this weekend. We met friends for Dinner on the Saturday night and they were itching to try the Restaurant at the Bedford.
The food and the service were faultless. We had a lovely evening. One of the nicest meals I have eaten in a long time. We will definitely return.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Three Courses for circa. £30 - a bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank LondonMrsA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

This was my mother's 80th birthday on Oct 2nd and we booked dinner, all 10 rooms in the main hotel, breakfast and lunch on the Sunday, so a fairly substantial booking for 18 people in Feb 2010.
Two hours after arrival we found out by accident that they had double booked two of the rooms and didn't have the extra bed promised for the family room. They made no attempt to inform us of this on arrival and instead tried to 'cover it up'. If we had been informed, we would have reallocated rooms (had previously sent through room allocation list so people could be directed to the appropriate rooms, this had not produced any communication to the effect this would be a problem). They were going to randomly reallocate rooms without any reference to us, splitting the party including putting teenaged brother and sister in a double bed! and my mother, whose party it was in an adjoining building. Naturally no apology offered.
We had been told we couldn't have the resident;s lounge for pre dinner champagne and were squashed into the public bar without enough seats for everyone. The resident's bar was meant to be free after dinner but was still occupied i.e. they don't really offer this facility.
The service was awful with the main guest, my mother not receiving her meal until many of the other guests had been served. Given there were two large parties in the number of waiting staff was wholly inadequate and the consequence was several people had a cold meal.
The service at lunch the following day was similar with inadequate numbers of staff and cold meals as a consequence.
Staff themselves were pleasant enough but clearly need training in the basics of this industry. The manager at the time never introduced himself and had no form of name badge.
The only redeeming feature was the food which was good, despite going cold due to poor coordination of service.
In our experience this hotel may work well for individuals but not for parties or several people.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinson26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bedford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Arms Hotel

Address: Chenies Village, Chenies WD3 6EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chenies
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chenies
Price Range: ₹ 6,946 - ₹ 10,804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bedford Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Arms Hotel is situated in the village of Chenies. The Village was known as Isenhampstead until the middle of the 13th century, when it became known as Chenies from the Cheyne family who occupied the Manor until the 16th century.The hotel building dates for the most part from 1842. It was converted from a house to a hotel in the 1930's and was a small eating house and bar rather than a hotel. In 1957 the restaurant was moved to it's current position. The hotel was frequently used by the Russel family who later acquired Woburn Abbey.There are eighteen bedrooms, ten of which are individually designed and decorated in a traditional style and eight new contemporary designed bedrooms.There are two four-poster suites one with a Jacuzzi, sixteen double bedrooms including one purpose built disabled bedroom. Twin and family rooms and also a cot is available on request. The majority of bedrooms have wonderful views of either the hotel gardens or the Chiltern countryside.Room Service is available during breakfast, lunchtime and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bedford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing