We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy cafe ”

Baytree Tea Room and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Wickham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: All meals made on the premises including traditional lunches , gluten free options,creams teas ,high teas,,soups, baguettes ,sandwiches ,desserts ,cakes and artisan coffees.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Eggs benedict was yummy. Staff really helpful & friendly and the milkshakes are literally to die for!! I would return for those alone. Best I’ve ever had!

Thank DeeLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Baytree Tea Room and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

This cafe once offered wonderful freshly cooked food at great prices but having not visited for some time we were very disappointed with our meal. We ordered the steak pie and sat and sat, waiting for it to be cooked, presumably. With the long wait we expected it to be freshly cooked and piping hot but it was a real disappointment. The sauté potatoes were soggy and not freshly cooked, obviously just reheated, not freshly fried, the pie, though tasty and with a great filling had soggy pastry. There were just two vegetables, rubbery reheated carrots and soft broccoli. The quality of this meal was inferior to how it used to be at a considerably higher cost. For 5p less than £10 each we expected a meal that was freshly cooked, not reheated, despite the long wait.

We used to eat here regularly but since it changed hands the menu has contracted and the prices have increased significantly. The owner never asked us if our meal was ok, and after the long wait we just wanted to eat and go. Someone complained, when paying, that the muffin on their eggs benefit was dry and hard but the owner simply laughed and told him he’d have to try them himself to see if it was true. An apology and an offer of a refund would have been more appropriate.

The cafe itself is an odd collection of tables and chairs, including very hard and uncomfortable benches with loose cushions which make little difference to the overall comfort. It is in desperate need of a freshen up.

Sadly we won’t be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Ellie1145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Baytree Tea Room and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear sirs
Sorry you did not enjoy your visit to us.
However we would have replaced or refunded all or part of your meal at the time.
I except that we don't always get everything right .
However i feel compelled to correct statements you have made which do not reflect how we prepare and serve our meals.
We cook everything to order.
The veg is fresh from from the same supplier as the previous and we cook it al dente style.
The saute is cooked to order not reheated.
The steak and mushroom pie with which is mainly steak is still made in the same way with the same cooks
Also the original staff are would have prepared and served your meal same as the previous owners.
We have added special bench cushions for the benches ( which are our most popular seats)?.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

In all honesty we were going to Lilly’s but there was a long wait.
So glad we came here instead!!
Great service friendly staff tasty food.
Husband had the brunch and I had a Brie and Bacon toastie.
Good portions. I was stuffed afterwards. Saw the Lemon Meringue in the window. Was very tempted but declined. Wish I had now after reading its reviews.
Will be returning with the girls and hubby again.,
Thank you x

Thank Georgiades1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

We were in a rush so only stopped for a coffee. However, the food and cakes are all made in house, and looked delicious. If ever in the area we will certainly call again. Note the Loos are at the back of the building

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Visited with a child in my care. Staff, very helpful, nice atmosphere but I was quite surprised when it came to paying the bill. Peppermint tea, one scoop of chocolate ice cream and a very small cup of apple juice = £7.05 Perhaps I’m a bit out of touch with prices ......?

2  Thank SushiMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baytree Tea Room and Restaurant also viewed

Wickham, Hampshire
Wickham, Hampshire
 
Wickham, Hampshire
 

Been to Baytree Tea Room and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing