We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
149
58
15
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
58
15
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspub with roomsmixed grillbottled waterbeautiful villageserved quicklylovely friendly staffshort breakrooms were spotlesstea and coffee making facilitiesfull englishgreat place to staystayed for two nightsyogurtthe ground floorenjoyable staynext morningan overnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We recently celebrated double family birthday's with a fantastic meal at the Red Lion in Newburgh. This is a pleasant country pub managed by a family that made us feel really welcome. Our meal was excellent, and the friendly, relaxed service was first class. If you fancy a good meal in a really friendly atmosphere, try the Red Lion. looking forward to going back there soon.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris s, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments we look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Chris & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

It's always a pleasure to eat here. Good quality food & drink at very reasonable prices and staff are great as ever. My wife and I had both had the Sunday Lunch which was cooked to perfection and well presented

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank geoff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris s, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Many thanks for your comments look forward to seeing you soon!
Chris & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We stayed for two nights whilst visiting family and friends in Lancashire. Located in a very pretty village yet very convenient for the motorway for our long journey home. The room was lovely, especially the bathroom, lots of hot water and clean fluffy towels. The food in the evening was excellent - the best moussaka this side of Crete - and the breakfast was also very good. We had to make an early start the second morning so ordered what we wanted the evening before and everything was ready and waiting for us when we came down at 7.30. A family run place with staff who go the extra mile. Would definitely stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 242valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris s, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Many thanks for your lovely review, hope to see you again if your in the area.
Many thanks again
Chris & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Returning visitor, after nearly a year I was pleased to see the food was just as excellent as i remember. Just perfect home made pub grub, an increasingly difficult thing to find! The cheese souffle was a particular hit. We turned up with a birthday cake which was no issue at all (they even popped a few candles on which I had forgot!) The young staff are a credit to you. We will be back, hopefully in less than a year this time!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Have always liked this pub and its relaxed atmosphere. We had an evening meal which was reasonably priced and good quality. The service is pleasant and efficient without being too rushed. Only slight grumble is it tends to be stuffy in the summer months as they never seem to open any windows so I prefer it as a cosy pub in the winter.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CStev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews