We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cerritos Surf Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cerritos Surf Town
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Cerritos surf colony is very nice. We got a great deal on 6 nights from a discount web site. For what we paid we were lucky it even existed! We had a studio villa beachfront, very nice furnishings and bathroom. Great view! The thatched roof is probably nice in warmer weather but we found it very cool at night. There is no where to put your clothes which can get annoying, no closet or dresser. But the fridge was a nice size, not as "mini" as I expected.perfect for some beer and sandwich fixings.
Restaurant is okay, seemed a little pricey but food very tasty, we had 2 dinners and breakfast that was very good. Had a couple drinks at the bar that were weak and expensive. The great thing is you don't have to buy your drinks or your food there. You can bring it from the grocery in Cabo.
The staff is nice, Ike set up surf lessons for husband and I that were great. Housekeeping was fantastic! They swept the patio and even saw the cleaning someone's flip flops, did the dishes, great job.
We were in #5 right next to the construction and I was very concerned about it. I was assured it would not start until 8am and would be done by 5 and it was. Even when it was going on it was not that loud, no power tools and only a few guys.
Pool was cold but the hot tubs were great. Go up to the hacienda for drinks and sit in their hot tub to watch the whales, perfect.
All in all a very nice experience and we will return. We purchases 2 vouchers!

Room Tip: Bring warm clothes if you go in february it was very cool. No loft in our unit so it wouldn't sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lupyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    151
    67
    29
    34
See reviews for
101
162
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I had some trepidations about coming here after reading some of the reviews on this site, but my family all had a terrific time and we recommend the resort wholeheartedly. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit, and it was clean and beautiful. I loved the extensive Mexican tile work and the thatched roof. The nights were cool and perfect for sleeping with an extra blanket. The days were uniformly sunny and dry, with temperatures reaching perhaps 80 at the shore and a little higher inland. And since we were right on the beach, the sound of crashing waves was beautiful and relaxing.

The resort was simple but very nice. The pool is much bigger than I expected, and the depth was perfect for our 9 year old--he could stand on his tiptoes, but it challenged him to swim. The hot tubs were nice, and the ocean swimming was fantastic. We spent several days blissfully going from one to the other to the other. I did get caught in a bit of a rip tide early on, so you need to respect the ocean's power and watch the kids carefully, but the beach is sloped gently and we never really had a problem. Great body surfing and boogie boarding. I'm not into big boy surfing, but I watched a lot of it here and this would be a good place to learn.

The ocean life is truly remarkable. The whales are so plentiful and close to shore at this time of the year that the dogs were barking at them. OK, a bit of an overstatement, but there are lots of them and they are close. I brought binoculars and there was almost always some whale activity in sight. The views from the balcony of our unit were good, but from the Hacienda on the point they were spectacular. We went to a turtle release on a beach on the other side of Todos Santos one dusk, and the kids really got a kick out of watching the baby leatherbacks struggle into the surf for the first time. I went fishing one morning in a boat close to shore and we caught lots of bonitos which the restaurant made into delicious sashimi.

We didn't eat too much at the resort restaurant, but when we did it was very good. We bought a bunch of food and bottled water at Costco in Cabo before driving up and tried to limit eating out to one meal a day. With supplemental shopping at the fruit and veggie store in Todos Santos, it was easy. The kitchen was adequately stocked with utensils, pots and pans. So we wanted some adventure for our one meal a day, and we hit many of the open air restaurants in Todos Santos--we tended to avoid the more upscale places. The food was generally very good and we never got sick. Here's some mini-reviews while it's still fresh in my mind:

Miguel's - very good chili rellenos as advertised, and the best flan in town (no small feat)
Barajas Tacos - popular with locals, it had excellent carne asada, carnitas, and fixings
Ataxacon - not fancy, but excellent home-cooked food--try the enchiladas verde
Restaurant La Fuentes - charming host, but food was just OK except great chocolate cake
Fonda El Zaquan - slightly more upscale, good but not great seafood
Los Cerritos Beach Club (right up the beach) - OK food, but expensive and the resort's restaurant is much better
Marina's (Pescadora) - only three items on the menu the night we were there, all were good
El Zarape (La Paz) - excellent Mexican food in a quiet neighborhood

I had never been to Baja before, so i was floored by the landscape. The cacti and mountains are incredible, and I regret not doing an inland hike in the temperate weather. We were expecting scorpions the size of terriers based on the info in some guide books, but saw none. The roads were generally fine, although there is some construction on the Cabo road. When they finish it in the near future, expect very smooth travels, but it's OK as it is. The road to La Paz is excellent, and we took Highway 1 back down to the Cabo airport and the scenery was worth it, though the trip was longer than taking 19.

The staff was friendly and never snooty or fawning. They are doing a lot of construction, but we never heard anything and it didn't bother us one bit. There were some people at the resort and on the beach, but it was never crowded and we didn't get hustled by vendors. We never felt threatened or unsafe anywhere we went in Baja, and we got by fine despite poor Spanish skills.

If you are looking for extreme luxury or party central, then this place may not be for you. But if you are looking for a really nice place that can be a base for both fun adventures and good family veg-out time, then you can't do too much better than this. We all loved it, and thank you Cerritos Surf Colony for a great family vacation.

Room Tip: Beachfront 2 bedroom units are outstanding. I had #17 and it was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We arrived at SJD airport and rented a car for the trip to Cerritos. For a large, name brand selection of food/goods, shop in Cabo before making your way out to Cerritos. The trip took us approx. 45 minutes.
Yes the roads are a little rough in areas but it is because the major highway that runs from Cabo San Lucas to La Paz is being rebuilt. This will get better as the highway project finishes. Take care when driving and probably a good idea to plan on arriving to Cerritos during daylight. The turnoff from the highway can be easily missed so watch for the Cerritos Surf Colony signs/flags.

We arrived to find a picturesque beach community atmosphere. Where you are out of the touristy zone and in the heart of authentic Mexico. People were friendly and I always felt safe at Cerritos. It is a favorite spot for locals to visit and surf, but the beach is so expansive that it never feels busy and you can walk the beach for miles, uninterrupted. I found the water a bit cold during our February stay. We have visited this beach in October when the water is like a bath and the beach/sand is smoking hot. The evenings were cool in mid February and I did need a hoodie at night.

There are several units under construction still, however it didn't impact our stay. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 3 bath, ocean front unit. VILLA 18. It was tastefully decorated with cool chunky wood furnishings, granite counters in the kitchen, upgraded lighting and beautiful travertine tiling in the bathrooms. Each bedroom had a full bathroom with WALK IN Showers! We only used the Master bedroom room and the view was breathtaking. We laid in bed and with the curtains open, watched surfers to our right and blow holes from whales to our left. UNBELIEVABLE Off the Master bedroom was a balcony with a couple of chairs to sit during the day and chill. From the entrance downstairs, you could be on the beach in 2 minutes. The lawn was well maintained in front and there were sets of 4 stairs that took you to the beach. There was also hammocks and lounge chairs out front but I never had a chance to enjoy them... Next time.

We had the opportunity to look into a couple of the other units and there was no comparison to the decorating and finishing to VILLA 18.

Daily maid service was provided.

There is free WI FI around the pool/pool bar area. The pool is big with 2 large hot tubs, all beautifully finished with colorful Mexican tiles.There are several large pool area beds to lounge on and even a couple of the beds strategically situated at the edge of the lawn overlooking the beach.

At night the hot tub cooled off with recirculating pool water, so it was a little chilly if you stayed in it past 9:00pm.

We ate Nachos and Tacos at the pool restaurant/bar, even though we bought groceries and could have prepared all meals using our villa kitchen. The food was reasonably priced and very good. I would have liked to try the breakfast, however we chose to stay in bed and watch the waves.

The beach club restaurant is also less than 5 minute walk down the beach if you want other options. And with a vehicle there are many local favorite restaurants within 15 minutes.

Check out the free tour of the Hacienda on top of the hill. It is a hotel and truly amazing.

Also available is surfing rentals/lessons at the Surf shop down the beach.

Room Tip: Really you have to try to rent ocean front if you come here... The view is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wks880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We just spent a week at Cerritos Beach Surf Colony, and it was one of the best experiences of my life.
The accommodations were fantastic, the facilities were top notch. ayaou can sit in the hot tub, drink your margarita, eat some of the best nachos and watch the whales.
We would lay is bed in the morning watching the surfers to our right, and the whales jumping to our left.
It's a beutiful beach, and a 3 minute walk to the surf shop, where you can rent boards, or take surfing leasons.
I highly recomend villa 18, we were in several, and 18 is by far the nicest.
The friendly staff is always willing to take care of your needs, or tell you where the best resteraunts are or what sights to see in the area.
We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: 18 has many upgrades, and is by far the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I just came back from Cerritos Surf Colony. It was exactly what I had hoped it would be, though even more beautiful. I had read the other reviews and went prepared for some inconsistencies -- the uneven lawn, the cold weather, the erratic electricity and hot water. The lawn is now pristine and tended to daily. I wore an extra t-shirt at night and was fine. I didn't notice if the electricity went out. And showers were lovely and hot in the morning.

I arrived in SJD and drove up -- rented a car which was very cheap (not sure if it's priceline or Mexico). Glad I did, Todos Santos is up the road and magical beaches are everywhere, including one where local fishermen bring their haul, fresh out of the ocean filleted grouper for 40 pesos. Perfect. The villas are on a little bluff a bit above the sea, the views are terrific, the sea was warm, totally swimable. On the drive up from Cabo, I stopped at Mega -- a terrific supermarket and stocked up on food. I thought I would need to having read the reviews. I wished I had bought less because guests raved about the food.

I had a two bedroom two storey villa. The views were unbelievable. Ike extended an open invitation to the incredible hotel on the hill for drinks and whale watching. I took him up on it and ended up talking the evening away with some others staying at the hotel and at the villas. It's a super quiet place -- I only twice heard any noise related to construction: a saw that went for literally three minutes tops, and some hammering that sounded more like a sliversmith's hammer than a builder. It also didn't last long. The sound of the ocean pretty much drowns everything out.

All the guests are friendly, probably because they are so happy to be there. You will be denying yourself if you don't check this place out. I'm looking for the next time I can go. It's great if you're on your own, with friends, with your honey, and with your family and kids. The beach is ENDLESS. It's incredible. I'll post pictures in the morning. :)

Room Tip: villa 18. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dreamofthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Pescadero
3.8 km away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
14.0 km away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
14.6 km away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Cerritos Beach Inn
Cerritos Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in El Pescadero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.5 km away
Cerritos Beach Hotel Desert Moon
0.5 km away
Sol Pacifico Cerritos
Sol Pacifico Cerritos
#1 of 9 in El Pescadero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerritos Surf Town? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerritos Surf Town

Property: Cerritos Surf Town
Address: Km 67, highway 19 | Cerritos Beach, El Pescadero 23300, Mexico (Formerly Cerritos Surf Colony)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > El Pescadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,876 - ₹ 15,490
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cerritos Surf Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerritos Surf Colony is located on world famous Cerritos Beach with a reputation frequently noted in Surfer Magazine for champion surfing. Cerritos Beach is the best beach in Cabo, and voted first runner up in Los Cabos Magazine! Cerritos Surf Colony is a neighbor to both the Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel (a majestic mansion hotel located on a private cliff at the shore of the ocean), and the celebrity frequented hot spot Cerritos Beach Club & Surf where you can get surfing lessons, board rental, and great food.Cerritos Surf Colony is a beach front resort of Mayan inspiration and thatched palm roofs. The free standing studio, one, two, and four bedroom villas are solar energy assisted. Enjoy our amazing swimming pool and bar, surf the waves out your back door , climb the Sierra de la Lagunas, explore the artist colony of Todos Santos, or just lay back in your own palm shaded hammock.ATV rental, horseback riding, kayaking, fishing, art gallery walks, hiking Triple Waterfall, Voluntourism, massage, are just some of the things to enjoy here in Baja California. Los Cerritos provides simplicity, tranquility and a break from city life that you have been longing for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Cerritos Surf Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerritos Surf Colony Hotel El Pescadero
Cerritos Surf Town Mexico/Todos Santos - El Pescadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing