We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly traditional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lindors Country House Hotel
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We arrived here dripping wet and late after walking in torrential rain for six hours and getting lost on the way. Tehe hotel didn't bat an eyelid and were very welcoming and accomodating. they would have rustled us up a dinner if we'd wanted one for instance.
The room was certainly not decorated tpo my taste, but it was comfortable and the shower was lovely. The lounge was very comfortable and after a glass of wine and a chat to some of the guests I felt a lot better.
The breakfast the next morning was in the top five of hotel breakfasts I have eaten. Very good choice including porridge and fruit compote.
The grounds looked lovely and it would be a great palce to stay on a warm sunny day, it was a shame we didn't have one. I'd certainly return next time I'm in the area

Room Tip: I imagien rooms overlookign the garden would be rather ncie.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Lindors Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at this hotel. It's in a beautiful spot, only 15 minutes drive from the Forest of Dean and located on the beautiful Wye valley. Our room was modern and clean with comfy bed. I think it had been recently renovated. The breakfast was fab as well, large buffet with cooked options, croissants, fruit and cereal. It's great to have a decent sized swimming pool in a hotel, think it's about 20metres with a smaller kids pool as well. The grounds are beautiful - this place would be fab for families. Yes the public areas are a little dated but it doesn't detract from a lovely stay. Thank you to all the staff.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Vickybirm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

stayed here for one night to break up a long journey. arrived and check in was quick and easy. we were staying in a pet friendly lodge which was really nice all facilities were really good except the bath was extremely shallow didnt even cover my legs. the grounds are absolutely stunning and maintained to a very high standard walking around these grounds was the highlight of our stay and the difference between a 3 and 4 star rating from me. the wifi is very slow and does not always work at all. tv stations were very limited pretty much only bbc channels worked others scrambled a lot. breakfast was ok nothing special but done the job. there is no bar here but we did order drinks at reception and they were brought to us by the receptionist and were reasonably priced. be careful on check out though as they claimed we had made £71.33 worth of telephone calls in the room which we knew we hadnt even touched the phone and the calls were timed in the early hours of the morning when we were both asleep by 11pm. this was resolved though by the receptionist beleiving us and apologised stating she would look into why this error had occured.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

My wife and I booked this hotel in haste, not realizing it is a Christian Hotel run by The Methodist Guild. The Hotel itself is situated in a beautiful isolated part of the Wye Valley. After we got to St Briavels we had to ask for directions for the last 2 miles or so. The Hotel is of a grand Victorian design, and you feel as though you have stepped back in time, and the whole ambiance is one of a relaxed and restful nature. My wife and I appreciated walking the lovely grounds and also a swim in the modern swimming pool. The staff are helpful and gracious and the breakfast involved a good variety of fruit and cereals and ample Full English if required. Our bedroom was quite small situated at the rear of the hotel, but it was we expected at a budget offer. However it had a good ensuite and all tea making facilities supplied.
The surprise? Well just how welcome all residents are made to feel, whatever their 'leanings might be!
We will be back.

Room Tip: Although we had a budget room, we will book one of the classic Victorian rooms next time!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lewiskal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Hi went here for a coffee beautiful setting friendly staff a lady called lucy went out of her way they have log cabins to hire as well cant wait to go again like to stay there next worth a visit beautiful

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Briavels
9.8 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
750 reviews
5.5 km away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
3.6 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
493 reviews
19.2 km away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,591 reviews
4.9 km away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindors Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindors Country House Hotel

Address: The Fence, Saint Briavels GL15 6RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Saint Briavels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Briavels
Price Range: ₹ 5,396 - ₹ 7,388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Lindors Country House Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Lindors Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing