We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lindors Country House Hotel
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Firstly this review is based on an overnight stay in one of the lodges, so I can't comment on the hotel experience. The lodges I would highly recommend! We were only staying one night as a family of three so to avoid the usual 'mummy and daddy sitting in the dark when little one has gone to sleep', I booked a lodge so we had a second room. It was one of the best ideas I've had. The lodge itself was well maintained, fairly spacious and had great little touches like fresh milk in the fridge for tea and coffee. The location is beautiful but be warned there is no phone signal or 3G so you are really cut off from outside world. Shower was superb, beds comfortable, only niggle was it was quite cold when we woke in morning and we couldn't switch heating on. I will definitely be returning to this lovely hotel in a beautiful part of the country.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank TravellerHB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2016

had a great room with amazing views extremely quiet location a little to posh' some staff were a little rude at times' no phone reception at all big down side although there was a phone in the room and free wifi' breakfast was a self service which was fine but food was only just warm the evening meal was very expensive and not to our liking not much choice im afraid
had to travel out for meals and location although was amazing there was nothing close by so lots of driving involved went to some amazing places whilst there overall very happy will certainly be returning to the area for sure

Room Tip: best views top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Myself and my family stayed here for a few nights. My elderly grandmother had a room in the main hotel whilst myself, aunty, cousin and son stayed in one of the lodges.
The hotel is easy to find with a satnav and the car park is ample. The reception area is quite dark but the receptionist was very friendly.
The lodge (3) is a lovely size, perfect for the 4 of us. The layout and decor is good however the TV is small in the lodge, albeit we didn't use it much as we were out enjoying the area. Beds were extremely comfy too.
The main hotel and grounds are beautiful and surrounded by trees. The hotel itself could do with a bit of an upgrade but it is in style of the hotel.
Breakfast was hectic at times sometimes the buffet would be fully stocks other days it wasn't. Waitresses friendly but seemed quite stressed due to the nature of the 'sharing tables' thing going on. No way to define new guests coming in who may want tea and toast. I'd probably have changed the way breakfast is served, smaller tables with some better organisation there.
Food in the evenings were lovely. Small portions but delicious too. Staff were very accommodating especially with my 2 year old son.
The hotel has good facilities on offer. Fabulous swimming pool, which was warm and clean. Games room with table tennis. Family room with TV and games!
The only reason I didn't review this hotel 5/5 was due to absolutely no phone signal whatsoever, un-useable Wi-fi and the strange no smoking policy within the grounds. Surely have a little smoking area somewhere?

Surrounding areas are beautiful and well worth the visit.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Although it is a beautiful character building in lovely grounds, it could do with a bit of TLC. The lounge areas felt like sitting in an old peoples home, dated and uncomfortable. The hotel is one of the Christian Guild group, which was not advised at the time of booking, this explains the religious items dotted around the hotel and the groups of guests attending the regular prayer services. There was no bar, as drinks are requested through reception or the dining area and both close around 10.00 pm, The food was a little like school dinners and the dining area had no ambience at all. Breakfast was avoided as there were no free tables and hotel policy is for guests to sit where they want, encouraging the sharing of conversation! Safe to say we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MandyD150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The outside of the house and grounds are lovely and well maintained. The room was badly in need of a renovation, although clean. Shower was a trickle. No hot water in the sink on the first night. Small bed. My feet hung over the end.
The food was inedible. The beef pie was grey and there was a rat standing by the back door to the kitchen. The white wine was served warm as though it had been stored near an oven. NOT as advertised.

Room Tip: Room 15 is tiny and all the way at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Briavels
9.8 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
800 reviews
3.6 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
700 reviews
5 km away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
No photo provided
Green Gables B&B
#3 of 3 in Saint Briavels
12 reviews
1.2 km away
No photo provided
The George Inn
#4 of 5 in Saint Briavels
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindors Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindors Country House Hotel

Address: The Fence, Lydney GL15 6RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Lydney > Saint Briavels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Briavels
Price Range: ₹ 4,513 - ₹ 7,221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Lindors Country House Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing