We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Chapel

Cottage exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage exterior
View from rear of chapel
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Cottage exterior
View from rear of chapel
Lounge taken from dining area
Looking at lounge from kitchen area
Looking down at lounge from galleried bedroom
Dining area and stairs to galleried bedroom
Galleried bedroom from loft
Downstairs bedroom next to lounge
Bathroom
Kitchen
View 100 yards from left of cottage (in June)
Local bluebell woods near Blackpool Bridge
View over the Wye Valley (25 min drive)
Mallards pike
Puzzlewood
Tintern Abbey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Yorkley, Lydney, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mclizziee...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We've just come back from a 3 night stay at the Old Chapel. A group of four in our twenties and loved the place the minute we walked in. The Chapel was so well equipped and stocked with teas and coffees, so much crockery, cutlery, utensils, dishwasher (with tablets) and everything to make it your home. Two cosy bedrooms, a great sized bathroom. The fact towels and linen were provided was a massive bonus.
Bookshelves in the bedroom and main room suited
to both old and young, several board games and TV with several DVDs so you're never stuck for something if you choose to stay inside.
Great wide space with the amazing log fire (and great smell from all the wood panelling) created a lovely atmosphere. Lots of leaflets for the area and food nearby.
We went to Cannop Cycle Centre to do the family trail which was a lovely trip and less than 10 minutes away and also a day trip to Bristol (50 mins).
The two of us from Brighton were thrilled to see sheep walking outside the Chapel!

Only downside to the area was a lot of places serving food closed earlier than we would be used to, but as mentioned there were plenty of options for takeaways in the Chapel.

All in all a wonderful stay. We would definitely return and really can't fault it. Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Thank you James. What a lovely review! Yes the eateries finish serving food at 9pm. Maybe I should put that in with the arrival details. Four months ago you might have seen the wild boar chewing up the grass in front of the chapel. It's near perfect again after such a short time. Thanks once again. Doreen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxxxx1983
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage at the edge of a forest!”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My friends and I spent the bank holiday weekend at this beautiful cottage. It has almost everything you would need together with a fully equipped kitchen perfect for those that like to cook. Lots of beautiful scenery a short drive from the cottage. It was the perfect stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TucsonNat...
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming Cottage In A Lovely Location”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed in the Old Chapel for 5 nights in mid-June. It is in a quiet location on the edge of the forest. It is very well-maintained and has everything we required to make our holiday relaxing and comfortable. Every amenity we could think of was available. Besides walking the many forest paths right outside the front door, we enjoyed a bike ride and a visit to Mallards Pike, as well as a visit to nearby Puzzlewood and Chepstow Castle. The chapel was conveniently located for us to make separate day excursions to both Stratford-Upon-Avon and Bath, as well. The owner, Doreen, is very pleasant to deal with and really went out of her way, above and beyond, to make our visit as smooth as possible - even so far as to make a trip to Heathrow to find the best route for us to the chapel! We would highly recommend the Old Chapel to others seeking a relaxing get away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mico32
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A wonderful, peaceful, home from home”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is such a peaceful, welcoming place - absolutely the best-equipped cottage we have ever stayed in. Doreen, the owner could not have been more helpful in our initial exchanges and The Old Chapel more than lived up to our hopes and expectations. Situated on the edge of the forest, with walks on the door step and lots of attractions within easy travelling distance, it was perfectly situated - though we enjoyed just being in the cottage relaxing by the lovely wood-burning stove. Comfortable, clean, characterful - we will certainly hope to return before too long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere and peace of the cottage
Liked least: Leaving to go home!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bickers15
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Just got back from a week in this beautiful cottage. Myself and my husband have stated in lots of places around the country but I have to say the old chapel so far tops them all. Situated in a very central location for exploring the forest of Dean and has every thing and more you could need. Very good living space with a lovely log fire which I really need practice at as only had it going once and that's because it was set ready to go!!! Overall a lovely cottage which I would recommend and stay at again. If you need a good restaurant then the ostrich is perfect proper old pub with out of this world food.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing