We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
252
273
85
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
273
85
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews army barracks junior suite high ceilings lovely old hotel restaurants within walking distance colonial hotel small pool interior patio central courtyard old world charm excellent location historic building lovely courtyard air conditioning colonial style free parking only stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 641 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

This hotel is the essential colonial experience you would expect in an old city like Campeche. The rooms were clean and well kept. Each room is unique and most face the beautiful courtyard. The location is great as well. If you are in Campeche, you should stay here!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Crouch141618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

The hotel is nicely located and set out in one of the old houses in old Campeche. Nevertheless, the mix in fitout, the rooms (dark, not nice), the breakfast have quite some room for improvements. We got good service.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank haktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

It started well. We arrived at car park across the road in the pouring rain and two men ran over with brollies and took us and our luggage down to the hotel. Downhill after that...the hotel is in a decent location, it has character , centred on a lovely courtyard. Maybe it's the language barrier but we found the receptionists the least welcoming of any on our Yucatan tour, if not borderline frosty. Sorry, but there it is. The rooms were spacious, but bathroom was tiny with no bath, just shower. The biggest issue was we had wooden doors opening on to the street but they were not sealed when closed so the daytime / evening noise from outside was insufferable at times (didn't bother reporting it , put off from doing so by not so friendly staff). Breakfast was just ok. I really wanted to like this hotel as it is nice on the face of it, but under the surface it can improve. Campeche is a nice town, glad we went.

Room tip: Get a room away from the roads
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AdrianH_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This was our first visit to Castelmar but not our last. It is centrally located in the Historic part of Campeche. We were within walking distance of some very good restaurants. Our room was clean and very spacious ! Our room faced the street but what little noise we had, wasn’t bothersome ! Touring the city was amazing, with shops and museums nearby ! We thought the staff were very helpful. We got their opinion on restaurants and they got a taxi driver for us ! Enjoy ! SkippyFrizz

Room tip: We loved what we had. Maybe a room not on the street side would be preferable to some !
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Skippyfrizz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We had 3 rooms for our party of nine, for 2 nights , last January.

Our summary:

- rooms are of different qualities: some more airy - with windows facing the street and the interior ones - with doors from the interior patio balcony, rather shady, with small or no windows at all
- the furniture is pretty outdated and worn, sturdy and dark; on the positive side, it is in line with the architecture of the building - a traditional colonial Mexican house
- overall -the interior of the room is quite stern and gloomy (there was also a strange, stale odor in the wardrobe that added some uneasiness)
- the bathrooms are spacious, renovated in a contemporary style
- the common spaces - halls, balcony, patio, small pool - are nicely decorated in the traditional style and picturesque
- the breakfast - very basic (close to the hotel are other options - a French bakery with wonderful viennoiseries around the corner, a chocolate shop with all sort of pancakes and a lovely small interior garden on the main pedestrian street a block away)
- staff at the reception - nice and helpful at all times. Special thanks to all of them!
- the location is perfect for walking in the central Campeche, who proved for us to be a magic place, a mixture of most touristic booths, authentic experiences and hidden gems.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alinnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews