We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gorgeous, welcoming cottage - such a great...”

Review of Marlowe Cottage

Marlowe Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Marlowe Cottage
Marlowe Cottage Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Marlowe Cottage
Marlowe Cottage
Living Room
Bedroom 1
Kitchen
Bedroom 2
Small Bedroom
Bathroom 1
Living Room
Rear Garden
View from rear Garden
Front of House
Bathroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Caldbeck, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Gillian Y
1 review
“A gorgeous, welcoming cottage - such a great place to stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

It was wonderful to arrive at the cottage, to discover delicious scones and cakes for afternoon tea, with the log burner all set, so that we could enjoy the fire straightaway. The lounge is a great area, with original features. cushy sofas, a wide choice of DVDs, books and games, and a lovely dining table for leisurely meals.
The kitchen is very well stocked with drinks and equipment, and we enjoyed the complimentary bottle of wine.
The bedrooms are beautifully decorated, and the beds are comfy. Our sons were suitably impressed with the whirlpool bath and the showers. Even in April it was possible to try the barbecue and have lunch outdoors on the patio.
Caldbeck is a good place from which to explore the Lakes, and it's very convenient to have a local village shop.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind comments we hope we can welcome you and your family back to Marlowe Cottage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D
2 reviews
“Wonderful place to relax and explore the area”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This cottage is an excellent place to spend a nice relaxing vacation and/or hike through the surrounding area.

The property has all the amenities of home, in a nice old building with a lot of character. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to visit the Lake District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Dear Dominic

Thank you for your kind review we hope to welcome you back in the future.

All the best for 2016.

Kind Regards

Peter & Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camper554...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage ”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I don't write many reviews but Marlow Cottage is excellent and we really enjoyed our stay. We visited with our baby and parents, there was plenty of room for us all
and great that we had our own bathrooms and lovely bedrooms with a very comfy
bed! The cot for our baby was made up when we arrived with sheets and blankets and even his own towels! Plenty of towels for us too.
Fresh scones with jam and cream and a cake too for our arrival! Milk, eggs and wine were also left for us. It really is a lovely place to stay, very homely and very well equipped. We all said how nice our stay had been here and would certainly recommend it to family and friends.
Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Dear Sarah, Tom and baby Albert Thank you for your kind review we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with your family. We hope we can welcome you back to Marlowe Cottage in the future. Kind Regards Peter & Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dereka_jo...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Superb accommodation with great extras”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My wife Ruth and I have stayed in cottages for may years but this is one of the best ever. It is extremely well equipped, clean and comfortable with an easy to use log burner, superbly comfortable beds, efficient central heating and many extras that are welcome and not commonly found. These include plentiful logs for a weeks stay, staples such as eggs, tea, coffee, milk and a brilliant cream tea awaiting our arrival with scones and a cake that took us a week to get through! The bottle of wine was a lovely touch as was the ready laid fire. Lots of helpful information on the surrounding area and laminated maps that you can borrow for some great walks either from the cottage or a bit further afield. Peter was a source of advice about local pubs/places to eat and went out of his way to make our stay a special one. Our deposit was refunded very promptly. Would absolutely recommend this cottage as a base for this lovely area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Nothing not to like!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Dear Derek & Ruth

Thank you for your kind review we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Marlowe Cottage in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter & Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B
Prestwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem in Caldbeck”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We chose Marlowe cottage because of the facilities advertised which were excellent. Althogh it was "high summer" it turned chilly at night and in the morning. The oil fired central heating was easy to use and very effective. A washer dryer allowed us to do a wash as we had arrived from another cottage in the Cotswalds. Two double bedrooms were upstairs and a smaller childrens room downstairs was facinating. The room we chose had a super large comfy bed while we used the other room to park our luggage. However luggage can be easily stowed downstairs. On our arrival the kind owners had left four fresh scones with jam and cream, a large ginger bread, yogurts, milk and eggs, while a bottle of red wine was in the kitchen. We had a great week in Cumbria using Caldbeck as a base for visiting all areas of the Lake District.
The owners dropped in to see how we were and were contactable free via a pay phone in the cottage. We would certainly return to Marlowe cottage in a future holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A very welcoming cottage
Liked least: Cant think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing