We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveller rating
432
257
81
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
257
81
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wings golf course nespresso machine the hotel staff nice hotel beautiful grounds main building cakes courses terrace schloss spa german castle shape parts lake
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 798 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Let’s start with the good.

The Schloss (castle) has a grand main entrance and lobby area, and the property sits on beautiful grounds, which they do a good job of landscaping. We also greatly enjoyed sipping our evening cocktail - though we sorely missed “sour” cocktail options on the menu - on the back veranda facing a splendid park, what a view, and also felt they provided a lavish breakfast buffet.

Now on to the parts that were not so good and even downright disgusting in part.

Upon arrival, we drove our car directly into the underground garage. Alas, the garage is, apparently, not directly connected to any parts of the hotel, so we had to climb up several flights of stairs with luggage in hand to get back out. No elevator in sight here. Only upon check-in did we learn that we would have been better off first parking directly in front of the large staircase leading up to the reception and to have a porter help us with our luggage. Anyhow, that was our first impressions.

Another first impression is that the underground garage is the habitat of a colony of what seems to be swallows (Schwalben), and they actively whir and zip around the garage space, their nests clearly nestled on top of the pipes there. This also meant that it did not take long for our cabriolet to get poo'ed on, and for plenty of bird-poo to be in plain sight. I think there is also a very real risk of innocent passers-by getting bird “love” on their clothes. While we would not want those birds to be harmed, it is after all not their fault that they chose such a safe and warm location, this is also and definitely not a good solution for the hotel’s guests.

Upon check-in, we were initially given room 1246, which is at the far end of the two wings extending to the left and right of the hotel’s front-side and running in parallel to the aforementioned underground garage. Those wings have a very mass-market hotel look & feel to them in terms of hallway and room interior design and decoration. Really nothing special here. As it was quite hot outside, we did, however, greatly appreciate those hallways being substantially cooler and were looking forward to even more coolness in our room. That was not to be. Room 1246 is located at the corner of the building and during a sunny day is “blessed” with full-on sunshine from several sides. As a result, we were greeted by a wall of hot air upon entering, and even after letting the puny airco run at maximum capacity for more than 1 hour this made no noticeable difference. It also meant that the in-room water left on the table for us as part of our package was at the same “refreshing” room temperature.

A room “upgrade upon availability” was part of our package, so we called reception to ask for another room. Their first reaction was that they were booked solid, and the answer to our second question was that they were all out of additional fans (ventilators). We felt increasingly uncomfortable in our sauna room, but decided to draw all curtains, go to the gym and let the airco work for another good hour in the hope of the room cooling down. So, off we went to the little room they call their “gym” located in an otherwise spacious Spa and pool area. Just getting to the gym meant traipsing via the whole length of the hotel, down and up several stairways…a good though unintended way of starting the cardio part of our workout.

Since the gym is so tiny, choosing great equipment is key. But, the strength equipment on offer is a total let-down. The hotel has invested in a few LifeFitness (LF) Circuit Series machines covering all major muscle groups, though for some reason they chose 2 back machines (lat pull and row) instead of getting the ab machine or squat machine from that series. It is not clear at all to us what the “wisdom” behind that choice is. The Circuit Series machines themselves are an ergonomic night-mare and, in our opinion, are among some of the worst-designed equipment LF has ever built. Seats and movement arms are fixed and offer no set-up adjustment possibilities. LF markets this as “no set-up necessary”, which in our experience translates directly into sub-optimal exercise positioning and range of motion. Also, the strength curve on these machines feels very spongy, like rubber bands, and there is so little resistance on offer that even on the maximum setting my wife was able to do multiple repetitions on each machine with ease. The in-wall adjustable cable station is also a joke with its rubberized plates and fraying steel wires. Perhaps this gym suits the entirely untrained elderly, but anyone with even a modicum of sporting ability will likely be very disappointed. They also have a LF Flexstrider cardio machine, which eats a lot of precious space while also providing very poor ergonomics. It really is a shame to see all this, as there is so much better equipment available from other brands, such as Cybex or Octane Fitness…and even from other LF series. In short, their gym is quite pathetic by international top hotel standards, even more so for a hotel that calls itself a “resort”, and knowing very well what great looks like here we left with a strong impression that whoever was in charge of designing this area and selecting the equipment…lacks competence.

Following our workout, we returned to our room only to find it to still be at near-boiling temperature…or so it felt. We again called reception to complain and asked for another room. Now we were told that someone had cancelled, and that we could get room 1236, which was just a few doors down. Needless to say, we immediately jumped at this opportunity, and within minutes a porter arrived to help us move. His reaction upon entering our first room (1246) was also one of “wow, it is very hot in here”. According to the hotel, their airco system was working at its limit, and that seems as though it is not suited to handling the workload particularly when the property is fully booked on a hot summer day. The new room (1236) was immediately a lot cooler. However, here, too, even when letting the airco run at max. capacity for hours it had little impact on further cooling it down.

But the crowning jewel here were the truly disgusting discoveries we made. While moving from the one room to the other, we pulled out the bedside tables to see if any of our items may have fallen in between the cracks. Doing so revealed a large accumulation of dust and debris, partially caked into the walls and floor. Clearly, this was not just from a few weeks’ worth of occupation, but had been “growing” there for much longer. We were quite stunned by that dirtiness and checked the same spot in the next room, too. The result was the same, see attached pictures That is just utterly gross, and also surely not good for people with related allergies. It is also not at all in line with proper housekeeping, least of all for a property such as this one, which tries to position itself on the upscale side. Alas, the same goes for cleanliness of several outside areas and sorely lacking building paint maintenance, which we witnessed, see attached pics. All-in-all a very poor quality on display.

A few other room-related niggles are that none of the rooms we had featured any Diet / Zero soft-drinks in the in-room mini-bar. Also, aside from 1 English TV channel (CNN) all others seem to be in German and when wanting to expand that choice the hotel asks you to purchase the Sky TV Package for an added 9.50€. Are you kidding me?!!! It is 2018, and we simply expect that such international choices are available for free. Case-in-point, we spent our subsequent night in a Best Western hotel close to Berlin Tegel as were flying out early the next morning. That hotel was a LOT cleaner and better maintained, offered free access to a much better gym, had Sky TV included for free and cost about half.

On that note, we paid 185€ for our 1-night “summer package”, and that is also the absolute maximum that we find the Schloss Hotel Fleesensee to be worth. Benchmarking this property with other Schloss hotels we have been to in Germany alone, such as Schloss Bensberg or Schloss Kronberg, the Schloss Hotel Fleesensee ranks dead last in every comparable category, and that does not yet even take into account similar properties we have visited in other countries.

Room tip: Avoid rooms at the butt-end of the wings
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank scooby1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja L, Guest Relations Manager at Schlosshotel Fleesensee, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry to note that your stay at SCHLOSS Fleesensee was not as expected as we wished it to be. It would have been our pleasure to talk to you directly and explain options to you during your stay. Especially your experiences at check-in and in our gym had been solved after a conversation with the Guest Relation Manager. However, please accept our most sincere apologies for the not always perfect service we had given to you. Your feedback has been shared with our operational team to ensure these concerns will be avoided in the future.

But we do not agree with your opinion about the design and concept of the gym. You are a guest, who is looking after the best options for fitness and knows different gyms and high quality technique. The design and selection of our equipment was made with specialist Lifefitness and it meets the expectations of the most guests. It would have been great to show you the excellent option of the SPAworld, with a fitness area of more than 6000 m². Also the entrance to the fitness courses like Yoga or Aqua Fitness is free of charge for our guests.

You are right and not all air condition mashines in our house have worked perfectly. We are currently experiencing an extreme summer and our technology has not yet been adjusted. But we are working on the improvement and will be better prepared in the future.

Thanks again for your time to send us such detailed feedback.

Best regards
Anja Langensiepen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Having travelled with the family we enjoyed the bike renting and the environment for touring very much. However the limit for kids in the spa was a down. The castle itself is very nice and the park as well!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pigalle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja L, Guest Relations Manager at Schlosshotel Fleesensee, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for giving your Feedback here on Tripadvisor.

It is so great to hear that you have enjoyed your time - you have discovered the magnificent environment and relaxed in our well-spaced SCHLOSS parc.

For the access regulation in our SCHLOSS Spa we beg for your understanding. The claim of our Spa is to be a place for repose and calm. And children has - from our view - to romp and be loud and have fun and that's what the nearby SPA World is all about. The access for you and your kids is free.

We are looking forward to welcome you again,
have a fantastic Summer.

Best regards
Anja Langensiepen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

What a place! Not only a spectacular atmosphere within the building and perfect personell, but also the surrounding you first see when having an Aperitif on the terrace is wonderful. The shape of the golf course is perfect and also the lake nearby gives a lot of options for being active! A place you should know!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mabeyer2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja L, Guest Relations Manager at Schlosshotel Fleesensee, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for that outstanding review! And you are right ... sitting on one of the comfortable chairs and looking into the historic park, having an delicious aperitiv ... all that after a successful day on one of our 5 golf courses .... what for a fantastic and greatful time.

Please com back and stay with us, we are waiting for you. .

With the best wishes from your SCHLOSS family,
Anja Langensiepen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Great Christmas venue with Spa time both inside facilities and access to heated outside pool. Had excellent Christmas family dinner party. Facility and history is fantastic and enjoyable. Great area around for sport and golf play.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja L, Guest Relations Manager at Schlosshotel Fleesensee, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Hanne,

What a fantastic review and what for heartly words from you. Thank you so much!

Please come back and stay with us, maybely in the next summer. Then, the possibilities for a agreeable relaxation, for playing golf and for sports are infinitely greater.

All the best wishes for an healthy and great Year 2018.

Anja Langensiepen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

We had a lovely weekend at Schloss Fleesensee, - nice rooms, super breakfast and a great SPA.
We would like to go the another time. Rent a bike at the hotel and go see the neighberhood - lots of beautiful nature.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank Michael260269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja L, Guest Relations Manager at Schlosshotel Fleesensee, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Michael,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and the heartfelt words!

And yes, it is a great idea: Please come back if the nature will be more green and alive. We will give you one out of our bysicles and also some maps with awesome tours around our hotel. You will have a great time, promised.

With the best wishes for an healthy and fantastic Year 2018,
Anja Langensiepen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews