We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
60
12
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
12
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews omelette full english communal fridge overlooking the harbour fresh milk stayed for one night dressing table breakfast was amazing set menu old building a couple of minutes walk our short stay rooms are lovely restaurant with rooms lovely place night stay wonderful hosts
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Lovely place, lovely owners, lovely clean spacey upgraded room, with amazing harbour views breakfast was amazing, going back again soon, would well recommended this place, is lovely for a long week stay :)

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

The room was lovely, the location was great, ideal spot if travelling by foot, car or bus, walking distance to Penzance town centre and Mousehole. Barbara was very friendly and Stephen was very helpful and full of useful information, gave lots of suggestions on where to go etc. The food in The smugglers is great, we ate there one evening...fabulous!, There was a great variety of breakfasts, the smoked fish omelette is the best breakfast dish I have ever had. If we ever to stay in the area again, we would definitely stay here.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank liamcorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Great accommodation , clean big rooms and excellent breakfast
Sarah and Steven were very helpful with hints. Definitely coming back
Our bedroom which was Forbes did not have Internet or Wi-Fi due too heavy and thick stonewalls
great time to detox if you want to be internet free
Internet with wifi was available in the main lounge and dining rooms

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank shabali14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We stayed for one night at the beginning of July-

Smugglers is located in Newlyn just a short ride or walk from Penzance centre. There is no parking available at the property but a public car park a couple of minutes walk up the road which was not very expensive.

The rooms are lovely and large, well decorated with nice personal decoration touches and are immaculately clean. The bed was a good size with good quality sheets and mattress, the carpet looked and felt clean. There were a couple of chairs, table and a dressing table, so plenty of places to relax in the room. There was a good size TV on the wall opposite the bed.
Tea and Coffee making facilities were available in the room with a good selection of both, including fresh coffee a cafetiere and fresh milk available from a communal fridge downstairs. There was also a pot of fresh shortbread which was a delicious treat!

The bathroom was also a good size with shower, bath and toilet and white fluffy towels. The luxury toiletries are a nice touch. Everything is spotlessly clean.

We had one of the upper rooms which had a small seating area outside, no view of the sea unfortunately but still a nice touch to enjoy a drink on a hot day.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant area at the front overlooking the Harbour. There is a good choice for breakfast- a selection of continental options, yoghurt, fruit pastries etc and excellent hot choices- I had a full English which was all locally sourced produce, fresh and delicious and very generous (Best scrambled egg I have ever had!) and my husband had the smoked seafood omelette which he raved about all day! Nice fresh coffee.

There is clearly a lot of thought and much time and effort that goes into every detail at this B&B from the hosts, they were fantastic throughout our short stay, and we could not find any fault! We cant wait to go back again...

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheGourmetClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

What a great location within walking distance to Penzance and Mousehole. The hostest (with the mostest), Barbara and her behind the scenes partner Steve, are excellent, friendly, and extremely helpful hosts. The accommodations (we had the Harbour View Room) with wonderful views were first rate. Beautiful views on the main road came with sounds of early morning seagulls as the fishermen depart for their daily catches - that is my only negative (not a complaint). Breakfast was a treat from a set menu with several options. We loved this place, noisy see gulls not withstanding.

Room tip: Climb stairs to rooms; Car park about 300 away, but luggage can be dropped off at front door.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cupido D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews