We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
New Inn Cerne Abbas(Cerne Abbas)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Greyhound Inn(Dorchester)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Albert Hotel and Spa(Evershot)(Great Value!)
US$ 141
US$ 103
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summer Lodge(Evershot)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 346
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 134
US$ 127
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Casterbridge(Dorchester)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 190
US$ 146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Junction Hotel(Dorchester)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 111
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Half Moon Inn(Sherborne)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
42
8
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
8
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull english breakfastrooms are clean and comfortableplace to stayfamily roomlovely breakfastnext morningtearoomdorset
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We were visiting family in Cerne Abbas and were put up in Abbots. Everyone was extremely accommodating and helpful. Our room was upstairs, but the staff took our luggage up without asking. The room was charming and spacious, looking out over Long Street and the beautiful village. We had a blissful sleep due to a most comfortable bed and peace and quiet throughout the night. The shower was invigorating and very welcome. We had a bracing full English breakfast with the most delicious coffee. What a treat to enjoy while watching the village morning through the windows. Thank you, Nicola, for a superb stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicWilkes, Owner at Abbots, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Hi Celia, thank you so much for your review. Its always lovely to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay. We hope to welcome to back again soon. Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

The outward appearance is a cafe but the room on the floor above was spacious and airy. The staff were most helpful and the breakfasts superb. We stayed for two nights and found the location great for pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank muntrof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicWilkes, Owner at Abbots, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We were just passing through, but our arrival in Cerne Abbas coincided with lunch time. As an alternative to a pub Abbots would probably be an obvious choice with it's prominent position on he High Street and appealing looks from the exterior. The menu had plenty of variety, but they are deserving of an excellent review due to the quality of the food and the efficiency and friendliness of the staff. Whilst my choice was simply a humble omelette, it was never the less a very good one complete with local black mushrooms - very tasty! My wife and daughters choices were also to the same high standard and all at a reasonable price.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Conger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicWilkes, Owner at Abbots, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you so much for your review. Im delighted you enjoyed your lunch and we hope you stop by again soon. Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

On a rainy, chilly morning we just popped in for a coffee, having wandered around the charming village. The lady who served us couldn't have been more accommodating or friendly and the coffee was delicious! She shared information about the village, it's church and old abbey. The baked goods looked tasty.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicWilkes, Owner at Abbots, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thanks for your review. Cerne Abbas, whether rainy or sunny is a beautiful village to walk around and what better way to warm up than to pop into Abbots after. Im delighted to hear that my team were accommodating. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed for two lovely nights at Abbots during the first weekend of September. We wanted to use the B&B as a base to visit the local area and weren’t disappointed as Cerne Abbas feels like a 10-20 minute drive from loads of great places inc. Dorchester, Wareham (Lulworth Cove and Castle, Durdle Door), Weymouth, Portland, Abbotsbury etc. Make sure that you take in the local history by visiting the Giant Chalk Man just up the road from the village and also Cerne Abbey which is 5 mins walk from the B&B.

The B&B is really lovely and you can tell that a lot of thought has gone into the accommodation and offering. We arrived late one night when Adam & Nicola the owners had gone out, but that was no problem as they've installed a key box to access the main front door, so there is ultimate flexibility to come and go as you please.

The small things obviously mean a lot to them and we really appreciated them too – lovely fluffy towels, loads of hangers in the wardrobe, chilled milk in a fridge for tea & coffee, proper Heinz condiments etc. A hearty full English breakfast sets you up for the day and we were just disappointed that we didn’t make it back either day to sample the tea room offering as the homemade cakes looked fantastic.

We stayed in Room 3 – Family room which was nice and big, with huge sash windows over the tea shop front so light and airy. The king sized bed was super comfortable.

You can’t go wrong in a village this small which has 3 pubs - we ate in the Giant Inn on Adam & Nicola’s recommendation and weren’t disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 3's bathroom is 5 steps down the hall so might be good to bring a light bathrobe if you're not okay being seen in a towel.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LE76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicWilkes, Owner at Abbots, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Hello, thank you so much for your lovely review. Its lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews