We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“best casita we have ever stayed in!”
other travellers have booked this property
The sunny terrace with views over the valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The sunny terrace with views over the valley
The cottage with its giant cactus and frangipane The Cutar valley with the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
The sunny terrace with views over the valley
The cottage with its giant cactus and frangipane
The Cutar valley with the cottage
Lounge diner to front door
bedroom (detail)
living room - kitchen area
The bathroom
living room - table
terrace view at night
village view from the terrace
Approach to village with donkey and palm best
the ancient Arab spring, source of water for the village until 20 years ago
The Village Square
Miguel dancing at the Easter fiesta, Spring
The cottage front door with flowers in the sun.
Foam dancing in the village square at the Fiera, Summer
Selling bread at the Arab fiesta, Autumn
The village bar
The village church
Cutar from the road with poppies
Approach overlooking the village and the mountains
Sunrise over Mount Maroma
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cutar, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Quaykatel...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best casita we have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Well this place was an absolute delight! Comfortable with stunning mountain views and a warm welcome from the owners. We booked the meal on the first evening and have to say we were treated to the best dessert ever! Delicious!
The village is quiet and the countryside spectacular - teaming with interesting wild life. A very relaxing break - thank you John and Judy!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chooseafl...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect base from which to explore the Axaquia or just relax and watch the world go by”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our comfortable one-bedroom cottage in Cutar was the perfect base from which to explore the Axarquia region. Most days we visited interesting towns, swam at beautiful beaches or took scenic walks, all within an easy drive from Cutar. In the evening it was always a pleasure to return to the balcony of our cottage to admire the views and feast on the wonderful produce we bought from a market in a nearby town. The local shop in Cutar was handy for the basics on those days that we chose to just relax in Cutar and experience traditional village life. John and Judy are very helpful hosts and on hand should you need anything or have any questions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from balcony
Liked least: Occasional howling of dog locked up in shed of next door property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeeDubya
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hard to leave that wonderful view”
Reviewed 20 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a month in Casita de la Luna 8, a one-bedroom cottage in the mountain "white village" of Cutar. If you enjoy a rustic holiday, I can't imagine a more genuine place to spend some time. The roosters announce the dawn, the birds sing all day long. The views from the cottage terrace are enchanting. We could watch the fields, olive groves, vineyards, and the comings and goings of the residents as they went about their daily lives. John & Judy were excellent hosts, attentive to our needs. The cottage was very comfortable and had all the amenities we needed. Heaven does come with a few caveats: be prepared to walk some steep streets and stairs as you come & go from casita to car, and also drive some winding mountain roads; plan to prepare your own meals, or eat out in adjacent towns and villages, there's very little in the way of bars or restaurants in Cutar. That of course was part of the charm to us: we could buy fresh fish three times a week from the van that stopped in town, groceries from the little market in the village or in nearby town markets. Comares, Benamargosa, Almachar, and Velez-Malaga are all 15-20 min drives nearby and have a wide range of dining possibilities. Some grasp of basic Spanish will be useful. Except for John & Judy and a handful of British ex-pats all we heard spoken was Spanish. Folks are patient and helpful and lots of pantomime also works too. We'd love to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the terrace was enchanting. We read, ate, dozed there.
Liked least: The occasional racket of noisy town dogs; a minor inconvenience and mostly ignored.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigFF
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Slice of Rural Life”
Reviewed 3 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

The accommodation was excellent value and as such was of a high standard. My wife and I did not have a car (we used the public bus service from Torre Del Mar to Cutar) and found that there was plenty to do during our week long stay. Our focus was exploring the local countryside on foot (landscape fairly steep in all directions, so reasonable fitness is a must), and generally relaxing in the cottage (perfect for this - although a suggestion for improvement would be to include more comfortable chairs on the balcony).

The village had all the basic essentials. A store, a bar, fresh food deliveries, etc

Nearby villages such as El Borge have more to offer if you are looking for a restaurant or swimming pool (although it is only open during the Spanish summer months - which means it is closed in September even though the temperatures are still in the high 20s!).

A very good option for people who are looking for a holiday with a difference, or who are interested in getting 'back to basics' (in a good way).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sunrise
Liked least: Chairs on the balcony
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing