We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we stayed longer...”
Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Kerobokan, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish we stayed longer...”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed just one night at Damai on 19 Jan and was a true pleasure. The staff were excellent, the room was beautiful and the location was stunning. We originally were booked into a Deluxe (which looked amazing) but due to the fact that it was a little further away from the pool/bar area and my husband had a broken leg they moved us to a Superior which was just as nice (less the hot tub which I had my eye on!).
The rooms were extremely well maintained and there were so many little touches which made our short stay special. From the welcome we received, to the fruit in the room, the Balinese treats which were left when the room was turned down and the leaving gift.
Loved the outdoor shower and the beautiful canopy bed too.
I had a massage and the manager of the Spa was very knowledgeable and explained many of the treatments in great detail.
The best part of our stay though was the food. I've lived in Bali (in the south) for 2 years and I can honestly say it was the best steak I've had here. Breakfast was delicious too!
Well worth a visit - we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    78
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
132
518
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The last trip here was my third time at the Damai. It's always beautiful and always a pleasure to be back. It's always a nice touch to be recognised by the staff as well.

This time I picked one of the new Studio pool villas. These are placed next to the Master Pool Villas and they can be combined to create a three bed villa with two pools. The style of the villa was modern asian and was pleasing to the eye and very well laid out. The room was spotlessly clean as well.

The Damai is a boutique vila hotel,and is small but perfectly formed. The staff are great too however the General Manager was conspicuous by his lack of interaction with the guests, he should take some tips from his predecessor...

I do have one moan and it's at odds with some recent reviews...the food.

The food is of a very very good standard and I didn't eat anything that I was unhappy with. Two things strike me however (1) the standard has dropped below the excellent level it used to be. I understand the long serving chef has left and, of course, it takes time for someone new to find their level; (2) the core menu does not seem to have changed in the last 5 or 6 years.

Overall a very very good hotel. One star knocked off for the dip in food excellence but otherwise excellent. And yes, I would definitely go to Damai again.

Room Tip: The best value rooms are next to the infinity pool. No pools for those villas however but the main p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josefk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsNBali, Owner at The Damai, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
It is a pleasure for the hotel and staff to welcome return guests - especially with our guests traveling so far to stay with us - so we thank you very much for your nice words and input, they are truly appreciated, as is your visit.

We hope that you will like the new menus just as much as in the past when you next return - we are adjusting them at the moment - although we will probably retain a few of the hotel classics in there for your joy of recognition.

But although it is indeed possible to hit the main pool with an olive stone from your veranda, we have to advise you that throwing stones are against hotel regulations.

All the best from all at Damai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed here as a family for 5 nights in July. I couldn't fault this hotel AT ALL. The food is fabulous and staff cannot do enough for you. We booked the last night in a pool villa which I wish we had booked for our entire stay. We went snorkelling in Lovinia which the hotel organised and it was great, worth doing if you've got a 13 yr old with you. I would go back to this hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sujo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at Damai for New Years Eve 2011.
Not only did we thoroughly enjoy the most incredible accommodation and NYE festivities (we will remember the sumptuous 7-course meal and local Balinese music & dancing forever!) but we experienced service from the staff that truly was world class.

We were cycling around Bali by ourselves, so the friendly staff Oka and Prima assisted us in booking onward transport for our luggage and giving advice on directions.

However due to bike mechanical problems and deteriorating weather conditions, we became stranded in a remote location high up the mountain above the hotel and knew that we couldn’t make it to the next destination.

We called the Damai and asked if they could assist with organising a taxi to pick us up (along with our bikes) – which Oka and Prima did – but then Oka also drove to meet us after he had finished work, while we waited for the taxi. He didn’t have to do this, but it made us feel quite safe. Oka assisted in translating, ensuring the driver knew about our predicament and exactly where we needed to go.

We made it to our next location in one piece thanks to the assistance of the staff (both on duty and off duty!).

This made our Damai experience not only wonderful, but perfect.

Standouts: welcome drink was delicious (even more so after arriving by bike) and we stayed in the Umah Master villa (sublime). NYE degustation menu is a MUST for foodies, but the standard brekky was delicious (freshly baked breads with international cheeses.....).

We'll return again.

Room Tip: Umah Maga Villa - with private pool, huge outdoor bale-lounge, vaulted ceilings, comfortable king si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Double Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

superb hotel in superb location perched on a hill overlooking north bali and the sea. cooler than being at sea level. really a boutique hotel with small number of bungalows.Very peaceful and in first class condition.INSIDER TIP: you will need transport to go anywhere as the hotel is isolated and by itself.

Room Tip: closer to the hotel facilities the shorter the walk up a hill to them will be
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lux2lessworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
39.1 km away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
180 reviews
36.5 km away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 10 in Payangan
829 reviews
3.0 km away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 23 in Lovina Beach
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lovina Beach
298 reviews
34.0 km away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 10 in Payangan
622 reviews
3.4 km away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 23 in Lovina Beach
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Property: The Damai
Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,219 - ₹ 28,426
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing