We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
155
79
26
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
155
79
26
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heated swimming pool round table norfolk broads super king bed family run hotel north walsham full english function room wedding venue sunday lunch lovely hotel good size pleasant stay rooms were very clean evening meal small hotel ample parking
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

We have been to many functions here for several years. But this weekend was our turn to have a party.
Well everything was absolutely perfect the staff who helped organise it Becky & Ian were outstanding. But all the staff are excellent. Nothing is to much trouble. The buffet was really good.
The rooms are good, several friends stayed over.
Thankyou to the team at the old rectory. We will see you soon.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank spudgeraldgaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Room nice and clean. Everything well explained about our room and we were asked if we wanted a wake up call. As breakfast only until 9am we said yes. Unfortunately we never got the promised wake up call.

Lovely grounds and swimming pool must be lovely in summer. Light, airy, pretty dining/function room. Unfortunately everything whipped away just a little too soon during the evening 30th party we went to and we never did get to eat the slice of birthday cake as it was gone before we had a chance.

The other strange thing was the at the tv suddenly went on by itself in the middle of the night giving us both a start.

We made it in time for breakfast but it was a bit disappointing in that I ordered poached eggs on toast but the toast was all soggy because they didn't butter it so there was no grease barrier to protect the toast from the moisture in the eggs. Friends staying there at the same time also said the same thing about their scrambled eggs.

All in all a pleasant stay

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mum-of-the-Groom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

We went to this Hungry Horse restaurant for afternoon lunch
It was fabulous we hadn’t been here for some time and what a change the food was excellent.
Each day there are offers on.
The staff were first class and could not do enough for us.
A definitely returning here soon great value for money.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Amazing value at this hotel - great breakfast, wonderful evening meal. If you watch Four in a Bed this really is value for money. Friendly, excellent service (thank you, Lesley, who does everything with a smile) and obviously the hotel also has a very good chef.
It doesn't quite manage the 'country house' feel - the breakfast room, where we dined as there was a wedding on the following day, lacks character but this could be rectified so easily as there are wonderful old photographs poorly displayed in reception.
The gardens are superb; it's very quiet - beware the misleading postcode and look out for the hotel on the main road.
Our deluxe en suite was £100 including breakfast - a fantastic find. Highly recommended and a lovely intimate wedding venue. Lovely.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tartantitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Old Rectory acouple of weeks ago, my wife,myself and Cassie our dog, our room was very clean, the bed, a double was very comfortable and the breakfast and evening meal great, the staff was also very friendly, no faults at all, our dog enjoyed her walks around the large grounds and met the owners dogs as well
Thanks for everything

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Eddie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner88, General Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Thanks for your review Eddie, we greatly value your feedback. Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you all back for another visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews