We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grounds beautiful.... Spa.... Big big BIG let down....” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sprowston
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grounds beautiful.... Spa.... Big big BIG let down....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We went for a spa day at sprowston which we booked through spa days... Where shall I begin... Entering the hotel... The grounds were gorgeous and looked wonderful as you go in but wen you walk into the spa... What a let down.. First of all the jacuzzi wasn't working which hadn't been for the Past couple days and wasnt being fixed until after the weekend.. This was a let down as one of our party couldn't swim so would of spent majority of time in there!! We were slightly disappointed but were told for compensation we could have day pass to come back again... Fair play!! Soooo... Whilst we were waiting we notice that someone else in the little room we were waiting in was given a nice white robe so we go and ask at the desk if we cld have one... But no... Because we didn't book the full price of £60 thru sprowston we weren't entitled to a robe so anyway we decide to get changed and go for a nice coffee... On this there were no beds for us all to relax on so go and sit on hard plastic chairs.. So we ask for a coffee to be told all there was was kenco out of a machine for £1.50!! Not good... We also wanted to know about lunch which with that we were told we wld have to get dressed, and go over to the other side of the car park.. By this point we kind of had enough so cut long story short we asked to speak to the manager this would of been 2nd time and she 'wasn't available' so we speak to a manager in the front foyer who says she will see what she can do and that the spa manager who in turn would speak to us 30mins later.. Still no manager so we cut our losses call spa breaks and get full refund.. On top of all this the beds were filthy the showers in the changing room stunk of wee and had all hair over the fllors..The paint was peeling off the walls, the plugs were rusty.. The list is endless.. Point is don't even bother going if you want a clean/relaxing/fulfilled/nice spa day.. If you do go, take anti bac/sandwiches/bath robe (if you book elsewhere not thru sprowston) ooh and a flask of tea or coffee!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jods1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    310
    161
    65
    43
See reviews for
221
354
25
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Excellent service. Really helpful staff. Superb bedrooms. Great pool and gym. A real haven for peace and quiet. And they are very tolerant of children too. Plus it's next to the most beautiful city where there are some superb eateries.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. We prefer a room nearest the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RowCCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel for business purposes over a weekend. The hotel is stunning with it's grand lead up and has gorgeous grounds. It is situated about 3.5 miles outside Norwich and takes 10/15 minutes to drive in. Arrived late so ordered room service, which was below average actually but the hotel carvery in the 1559 restaurant really is well worth visiting. Also - great breakfast options.
The room was a nice size, clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. Only slight irritation was the bathroom fan that stayed on for over 45 minutes - reported it to management but it was not rectified - they were extremely busy as it was over a weekend and fully booked with a wedding and a football team (Swansea FC) so couldn't offer a room move which was disappointing. This was only a small grumble though as we got used to it and everything else was great and all in all a very nice luxury hotel. Would book there again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Check out early as the queues in reception get quite long at the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Em N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at Sprowston manor. We had a very relaxing weekend with excellent food and service. Saturday we dined in the main resturant and the food was fantastic Our room was excellent, clean and comfortable, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Excellent friendly staff also in the spa where I had a massage. We have stayed at this hotel before and will be returning again.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the golf course. But to be honest we dont go to look out the window all day we jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CyprusSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed for one Friday night with my husband. Chose the hotel because it had a nice looking pool and a spa, my husband likes to have a massage. I booked it in beforhand, with the mealtime arranged after, on the bed breakfast and dinner package. Cost £174 PLUS £45 for the hour massage. Which I wouuld say was a little dearer than other equivalent deals. Hotel car park was busy, reception very busy, had to wait for 8 people in front of us to check in only one staff member on desk. However, she was very professional and did apologise for the delay. We only booked the standard room, but were actually allocated a suite, so a free upgrade, but the receptionist didn't mention it!! Room and bathroom very nice. Took the advice of other reviewers and turned the radiator well down as soon as we arrived. Small details though - £6 for an hours wifi use; 3.50 for a bottle of water in the room, no free bottles. Only one pack of biscuits on the tea tray, and very bog standard tea and coffee. No robes in the room so I had to change into my swim suit in the room and walk through busy reception with a towel wrapped round me. Therefore, poor value for money, at that price level I expect more. Pool lovely, although shallow. Kiddies area roped off so could actually get a decent swim even in a busy pool, which was good. Husband went for massage and solved the mystery of why the foyer was full of small boys in soccer shirts - the Chelsea FC were staying for the night before their match. Went for our dinner, nice restaurant, super attentive and very fun lady serving us, couldn't have been more helpful. That said when we asked about the aging of the beef (beign farmers and foodies) she came back with the answer of only 15 days hung, not acceptable for a hotel, so didn't order that. Placed our order, really didn;t notice that our starters hadn't arrived an hour later because we were having so much fun playing spot the wag! But our table server did notice, chased it up for us, found out they had run out of one of the starters abd forgotten to ask what we wanted instead, so she fixed that and gave us our chosen bottle of wine for free. Food was fine but not special. Mackeral pate nice starter, I had pork chops, very good flavour, husband had calves liver was good too. He had a lovely cheese board and I had a revolting bread and butter pudding. White and slimy. Custard was good though. Slept very well, breakfast decent, plenty of choice. Reception completely mad upon checking out as the chelsea players were busy signing autographs for their fans prior to leaving for the match. Torres really is a very small chap for £50m! Apparantly most of the visiting teams stay here, so every fortnight through the football season you can expect the hotel to be similarly mad! Lovely hotel, but small details and the pricing for every tiny thing had to cost it a star. Food decent, but not memorable. But would go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaSussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sprowston
11.1 km away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
14.3 km away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
7.0 km away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
4.6 km away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
29.0 km away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Wroxham Road | Sprowston Park, Sprowston, Norwich NR7 8RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Sprowston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sprowston
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,036 - ₹ 12,927
Hotel Class:4 star — Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxury countryside escape at the Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club. Located in Norwich, England, our guest rooms offer a seamless blend of historic elegance and modern comfort. We offer a world-class golf course, on-site spa and a variety of event venues, perfect for any travel needs. Book a memorable vacation at our hotel now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Norwich
Norfolk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing