We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Best place to visit

Chopta is also referred to as Mini Switzerland for its meadows and lush green pastures is located... read more

Reviewed 21 April 2023
Yourguide89
,
Ukhimath, India
Excellent location for Himalayan and sub Himalayan bird photography.

Excellent location for Himalayan and sub Himalayan bird photography. Stay is better a little away... read more

Reviewed 27 March 2023
Rajan_patna
,
Patna, India
Read all 266 reviews
  
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
199
59
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
199
59
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful place mini switzerland highest shiva temple no electricity flora and fauna km trek snow covered snow capped peaks meadows winter nature camping uttarakhand summers meters destination mist
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2015

On our way to Badrinath from Gupt Kashi via Gopeshwar road, we had a small stopover at this place called Chopta. It has lush green slopes and great view of the himayalan ranges. Once can also see the Rhododendron forest cover.
From here one can trek to the highest Shiva Temple in India, Tunganath.

With very few inhabitants / tourists this place looks like any European scenic beauty. Easliy one of the loveliest place in India.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank ShaileshSoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 June 2015

It is snow covered during winter months,
It is known for Creamy Hill Slopes,
beautiful views from the main Road of chopta village
also one can enjoy Pakoras, omlettes and maggi along with tea or coffee at the various shacks operating in the area.

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank SoloIndianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2015

Think total tranquility, think 360 degree panoramic view of the himalayan range, think awesome sunset - and that is Chopta. Totally unspoilt by the urban crowd this a place for reflection and absorption of nature at its best. Visit Tunganath for 1 day and spend at least couple of more here. The infrastructure is bare bone with no luxury but this is an out of the world experience.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank Travel81guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 June 2015

We happened to reach this place accidently, our plan was to go for roopkund trek, for some reason we have to cancel this plan hence we made Chopta Tungnath a contingency plan.
We never regret now!!
We traveled from Delhi to Chopta by Bullet, it took use 450 KM & 13 hours ride.
I mean this place is breath taking and valleys pristine & clean & very beautiful, all along you will see snow capped kedar peak everywhere. the highlands & meadows are beautiful, you ca visit to Deariyya tal, do a Jungle trek (almost 12 KM) to Tungnath (worlds higest Shiva Temple) or also go to Krtik swami temple (around 50KM) but where ever you go, its simply beautiful.
if you pllan to visit this place its open all the year except rainy season. during summers its easily approachable. the roads are very good, the ride from ukhimath to chopta is one to watch. if possible go for a bike ride.
plan early as after Ukhimath the mobile network is scarcly avilable & in night there is hardly anyone to help you out for directions as its dense forest (Kedar Valley Wildlife sanctuary). you ahve lots of camp in dugalbitta to stay.

Date of experience: May 2015
2  Thank Vikrant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2015

Chopta is a lovely place surrounded by forest and is at a small Village near Ukhimat. From Chopta one can hike to the highest Shiva Temple in India, Tunganath. The hike is just amazing with lush green meadows and Rhododendron forest cover.
From Tunganath you can trek up to Chandrashila Summit for a panaromic view of the Himalayas. In chopta you can get rooms to stay at a nominal price of Rs.100 a day.
The rooms are in a bad shape and this place has no electricity. SO i would advice you to set up a tent and enjoy the wilderness! The place is incredible!

Date of experience: May 2015
4  Thank RajatBartwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews